Why choose a reference source?
Reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, atlases) give concise introductions to topics. Use them to:
- explore topics for research;
- get background information;
- explain unfamiliar ideas.
Reference sources are available at the MCC Library in both print (below) and electronic formats (right).
CREDOreference Online
CREDOreference is a database of over 500 reference e-books. Find a collection of articles in electronic reference sources dealing with this subject. CREDOreference can be accessed on campus and off campus. Off campus access requires your NETID and password.
Some e-books:
- Collins Dictionary of Astronomy by John Daintith, William Gould.
- Dictionary of Astronomy by Martin Ince.
- Philip's Astronomy Encyclopedia general editor Patrick Moore.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
The Encyclopedia Britannica can be accessed on campus and off campus. Off campus login with your NETID and password.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Reference Books
A Dictionary of Astronomy by Call Number: REF QB14 .D52 2012ISBN: 0199609055Publication Date: 2012-02-20
The Firefly Encyclopedia of Astronomy by
The Firefly Encyclopedia of Astronomy is organized A-Z with concise details on each topic. The pages are profusely illustrated with vivid computer graphics, photography and archival images. Included are accessible contributions by 650 world-leading astronomers covering:
History from the Big Bang to present
Famous astronomer bios
Key space missions since the launch of Sputnik
The work of observatories worldwide.
Call Number: REF QB14 F575 2004ISBN: 1552977978Publication Date: 2004
The Universal Book of Astronomy by
The Universal Book of Astronomy compiles more than 3,000 extensively cross-referenced entries to cover every noted star, planet, authority, and telescope that has influenced our modern understanding of the universe.
Call Number: REF QB14 . D37 2004ISBN: 0471265691Publication Date: 2004
Firefly Atlas of the Universe by
The Firefly Guide to the Universe is an encyclopedic examination of the stars, planets, and universe with the latest, most comprehensive information currently available. The book features the latest images from the Hubble Space Telescope which are put into context with clear and detailed text.
Call Number: +REF QB44.2 .M66 2003ISBN: 1552978192
