Library: Norwalk: Sociology: Lower/Working Class/Poor

Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
New York Times (1985-present) This link opens in a new window This ProQuest version of full-text articles from The New York Times newspaper (Coverage Dates: 1985 to Present) includes local, regional, national, and international news coverage, including archived articles. Alternately, if you are looking for access to The New York Times Online Edition, please create a free library account at https://library.ctstate.edu/nytimes
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.  Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.

Search Subjects

Income inequality - United States

Social Class - United States

Social Stratification

Social Conflict

Suggested Search Terms

Terms you may want to use in a search: lower class, working class, underclass, poor

and/or

any of the following terms: blue collar worker, employment, unemployment, employment levels, under employment, downward mobility, upward mobility, income distrubution, income, income inequities, labor market, lifestyles, low income, occupational structure, recession, social mobility, socioeconomic status, economic status, standard of living, taxes, wealth, upward mobility, salaries, living wage, minimum wage, wages.

Working Poor

The Dartmouth Centers Forum at Dartmouth College presents David Shipler. Pulitzer Prize Winning Author and Former Foreign Correspondent for the New York Times "The Working Poor: Invisible in America" October 18, 2007

Norwalk Campus Library

Norwalk: Sociology

Databases

Search Subjects

Suggested Search Terms

Working Poor

Waging a Living