Proper citation of sources will help you avoid instances of academic misconduct. Different academic disciplines use different citation styles, so it's important to know which one is required for a particular course. Use our citation guides to learn more about formatting papers and citing sources. For more complete information, consult the full handbooks located at the reference desk in the Norwalk Library. As always, if you have questions, contact a Norwalk Librarian for help.
Citing your sources can protect you from charges of academic misconduct and dishonesty. The following statement from the CT State Student Handbook provides a partial definition of academic misconduct. For more information, please review the complete CT State Student Handbook.
"Academic misconduct, which includes, but is not limited to, plagiarism and all forms of cheating.
Plagiarism is defined as the submission of work by a student for academic credit as one’s own work of authorship which contains work of another author without appropriate attribution.
Cheating includes, but is not limited to: (i) use of any unauthorized assistance in taking quizzes, tests or examinations; (ii) use of sources beyond those authorized by the instructor in writing papers, preparing reports, solving problems or carrying out other assignments; (iii) the acquisition, without permission, of tests or other academic material belonging to a member of the University faculty or staff; and (iv) engaging in any other behavior specifically prohibited by a faculty member in the course syllabus." (p. 65)
APA Style is one of the most common academic writing styles in use today. Published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Handbook sets forth rules for formatting papers and citing sources. These rules are updated regularly, so it's important that you check with your professor to find out which edition is required for your course. The CT State CC Library APA Citation Guide contains information about latest edition, APA 7.