eBooks & Audiobooks
eBooks and audiobooks are a great way to access books outside of the library. They are also a great way to assist with language learning. eBooks allow you to click on any word to look up the definition. And with audiobooks, you can listen on demand at a slow speed, or you can speed it up depending on your preference. Some ESOL students like to read the physical book along with the audiobook.
eBooks and audiobooks are available through OverDrive, an online platform. Overdrive's mobile app, Libby, makes it easy to access books anywhere. Though you may have to place a hold for some books, some are available right away. You can find these books by narrowing your search to just books labeled as “Available Now.”
Our libraries also provide access to the Palace Project, another app for free eBooks and audiobooks that can be accessed directly from your device. If you can’t find a book you’re looking for on Overdrive, you can check the Palace app to see if it is available there. To get started, download the Palace app, select “Add Library,” and choose “Connecticut State Community College."
-
Overdrive eBooks and AudioBooks This link opens in a new window The Overdrive platform provides access to popular fiction and non-fiction eBook and audiobook titles, as well as selected Public Domain titles from the Duke Classics Collection. If you are looking for an additional free ebook and audiobook platform, please visit eGo using the Palace app.
-
Palace eBooks and AudioBooks This link opens in a new window eGo eBooks and Audio Books via The Palace Project App is a platform that gives you access to tens of thousands of digital eBook and audio book titles from different publishers and sources. New titles are continuously being added to this collection. To view the available collection, download the Palace app and create a free account. Palace is available for both Apple (App Store) and Android (Google Play) phones and tablets.
Ebook Databases
-
EBSCO eBooks Academic Subscription Collection This link opens in a new window Access a cross-searchable, multidisciplinary library of over 210,000 high-quality, unlimited-user eBooks from leading university presses and academic publishers such as Cambridge University Press, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Harvard University Press, John Wiley & Sons, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, State University of New York Press, Taylor & Francis, and University of California Press. These eBooks cover a large section of academic subjects and new titles are added the collection continuously. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
-
eBook Central College Complete This link opens in a new window College Complete is a comprehensive ebook subscription that helps prepare students for academic and career success. This resource covers all academic subject areas and content for in-demand trade jobs. Gain access to content in traditional disciplines like business, management and nursing; emerging areas like artificial intelligence (AI) and criminal justice; and topics to support specific skills like advanced manufacturing, construction and healthcare.
-
SAGE eBooks This link opens in a new window Sage Academic eBooks Explore the ultimate Social Science eBook Collection of over 5,000 titles, including books on nursing and health, media, communication, social studies, politics and leadership.
NV-Search
Graded Readers Collection
We have a collection of books designed specifically for English language learners, called Graded Readers. If you are interested in building your reading skill level, consider checking one out from the library. Ask a librarian for more information.
