Find Articles - Gateway ECED 1376 - Health and Wellness - Library at Connecticut State Community College

What Are Databases and Why You Need Them

Suggested Databases

Suggested Databases

Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.  Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.  View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
Health and Wellness This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.  Full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia; perfect for researchers at all levels with more than 1,000 medical journals, periodicals, and articles from more than 2,200 general-interest publications, medical newspapers, newsletters and news feeds and hundreds of streaming videos. 
Health Source: Consumer Edition Health Source covers a wide variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics, including fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women’s health, children’s health and more. Access to Clinical Reference Systems reports, in both English and Spanish, and Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary. This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines, and includes searchable full text for up-to-date health pamphlets. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
Education Research Complete This is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, multilingual education, health education, educational psychology, school nursing, technology, curriculum and instruction, classroom management, supervision and administration and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video 
ERIC ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research, and it contains over one million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books.  Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, and books dating back to 1966.  Documents indexed in ERIC are produced by scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, state agencies, and local agencies. Also, individual contributors submit conference papers, research papers, dissertations, and theses. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
MasterFILE Premier MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents and an Image Collection with photos, maps & flags. MasterFILE Premier provides full text for over 1,800 general interest, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural periodicals. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,500 periodicals. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
Teacher Reference Center Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 230 peer-reviewed journals. Full-text articles are also included in this collection, primarily for K-12 educators, teachers and librarians to grow professionally and support classroom success.  Topics include, but are not limited to, Curriculum Development, Literacy Standards, Pedagogical Research, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Science & Mathematics, School Administration, and Higher Education. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video

What is the difference between Library Databases and Internet Search Engines?

	Library Databases	Search Engines
	best resources for academic research	best for non-academic and general searches
Type of Information	Information are authoritative, accurate, reliable; e.g. scholarly articles, technical publications, eBooks, popular magazines, newspapers	entertainment, leisure related information, directory information, e.g. free personal and commercial information; very few free scholarly publications
Results	more manageable number of results, information are organized and indexed	millions of results, incomplete sentences from the website, not a summary
Review Process	articles are reviewed by scholars, professors and researchers	no review/editorial process with regard to content
Example	Academic Search Premier	Google

Looking for a Specific Journal?

Young Children (available in print in the Library or electronically in a library database)

If you need help finding an article please ask a Librarian

Gateway Campus Library

Gateway ECED 1376 - Health and Wellness

What Are Databases and Why You Need Them

Suggested Databases

What is the difference between Library Databases and Internet Search Engines?

Looking for a Specific Journal?