Skip to Main Content
Select Databases
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Bloom's Literature contains a wide range of reference essays and scholarly criticism examining great authors and their works throughout history, as well as full-length videos of classic plays and films. Bloom's Literature includes a Literary Classics eBook shelf containing the full contents of more than 1,000 classic works of literature, and also includes a Shakespeare Center which houses in one convenient location a treasure trove of content on all things Shakespeare.
Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Explore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism (1400-1800), 19th Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, 20th Century Literary Criticism
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras. Includes Dictionary of Literary Biography, Something About the Author.
MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new window
Contains biographical essays that reflect extended coverage of the 2,500 most studied authors and include up-to-date lists of each author’s principal works and current secondary bibliographies. More than 8,500 writers of fiction, poetry, drama, and essays are featured. There are more than 400 comprehensive essays on specific literary genres, themes and settings round out the collection. A cross-referenced glossary of terms is also included to provide definitive explanations of more than 1,800 literary words and phrases.
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
The American National Biography provides portraits of more than 19,000 men and women who have helped shaped the nation. Specialized collections of related biographies explore the diversity of American history including Black History, Women's History, and Hispanic Heritage. Themed research guides provide editorially curated article lists on subjects such as American Literature and the Civil Rights Movement
Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This resource includes almost 1 million original biographical profiles, 700,000 full-text articles, including the following collections: Current Biography, New Grove Music, New Grove Artists, and H.W. Wilson Biographical series (Junior Authors, Composers, World Authors), Library of North American Bio Series. Search result limiters include occupation/activity, gender, place of origin, birth day or month, and lifespan.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This resource contains many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines. It offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies. More than 390,000 reliable, full-text biographies and the complete run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine are available to browse. Advanced searching tools include name, date of birth or death, profession, or country of origin, portrait or genre. You may also search by important historical eras, major wars, and historic leaders, Nobel Peace Prize Laureates, Musicians, Inventors, and other important roles.
In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Built on a foundation of more than 640,000 biographical entries, Gale In Context: Biography covers international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
MainFile This link opens in a new window
A general interest database with full-text magazine articles, newspapers, and books. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as health, education, current events, technology and business.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents and an Image Collection with photos, maps & flags.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics. With 750+ searchable, full-text titles, Credo Reference places particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
Referencia Latina This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive Spanish-language database with 49,000 encyclopedia entries; 50,000 images; 2,500 health reports; a Spanish-English dictionary and full text for over 100 reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Its intuitive, theme-based Spanish-language interface is designed to make content readily accessible to non-English users with limited online research experience.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.
Salem Press Reference Shelf - Gateway Campus This link opens in a new window
A collection of reference text covering topics such as literature, history, science, health & careers plus a whole lot more.
Chicago Tribune (1985-present) This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Tribune is a daily newspaper based in Chicago, Illinois, which keeps readers informed of the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation and the world every day. The Tribune has a reputation for investigative and public service journalism earning 24 Pulitzer Prizes since 1932. Includes complete full-text content of local and regional news, community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
Hartford Courant (1992-current) This link opens in a new window
Daily newspaper from Hartford, Connecticut. Coverage: 1992 - current. The Hartford Courant is the largest daily newspaper in Connecticut. Founded in 1764, it also is the oldest continuously published newspaper in the United States.
Historical Hartford Courant (1764-1922) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1764 - 1922. This resource includes The Connecticut Courant (1764-1774), Connecticut Courant (1778-1778), Connecticut Courant (1791-1837), The Connecticut Courant and Hartford Weekly Intelligencer (1774-1778), Connecticut Courant and Weekly Intelligencer (1778-1791), Daily Courant (1837-1839), The Hartford Courant (1887-1922), Hartford Daily Courant (1840-1887).
Los Angeles Times (1985-present) This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times, abbreviated as LA Times, is a daily regional newspaper that started publishing in Los Angeles in 1881.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 45 U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including the New Haven Register and New London Day. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
New York Times (1985-present) This link opens in a new window
New York newspaper with local, regional, national, and international news coverage. Includes backfile to the current issue.
New York Times Online Edition This link opens in a new window
Requires creation of free account using campus email address.
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
Wall Street Journal (1984-present) This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is an American business and economic-focused international daily newspaper based in New York City. The Journal is published six days a week.
Wall Street Journal Online Edition This link opens in a new window
Stay ahead of the competition with the periodical that’s as ambitious as you are. Get the trusted insights and in-depth analysis you need from The Wall Street Journal, America’s most trusted newspaper—providing key decision-makers around the world with peerless reporting since 1889.Requires creation of free account using campus email address.
Washington Post (1987-present) This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C.
