Library: Gateway ENG 1020 Composition II and Literature: OER

Literature and Composition- Open Courses

GCC Library Online Resources

Writing and Power by Candace Mitchell This book offers a much needed alternative to the more traditional texts used to teach writing instruction. Grounded in history, the book clarifies changing theoretical and practical approaches to teaching writing, critically assessing each approach in relation to the social and political movements of the day, both within and beyond the university. The author takes us inside the real world of writing instruction; not only from the viewpoint of instructor, but as seen through the eyes of students struggling to make sense of the expectations of writing class. Mitchell emphasizes that "writing" entails far more than putting words to paper, and delves into contextually variable culturally defined expectations, that include multiple linguistic forms - both oral and written - highlighting the complexity of writing(s), while engaging the reader in lively academic debates about language and society.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781594510205
Publication Date: 2004
Twenty Writing Assignments in Context by Melissa Bender (Editor); Karma Waltonen (Editor)  Twenty original, classroom-tested assignments: This innovative collection of college writing assignments explores the practical applications of each lesson. Drawing upon current best practices, each chapter includes a discussion of the rationale behind the assignment, along with supplemental elements such as guidelines for evaluation, prewriting exercises and tips for avoiding common pitfalls. The assignments are designed for a range of courses, from first-year composition to upper-division writing in various disciplines.
ISBN: 9781476665092
Publication Date: 2016

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window A streaming video service that provides access to over 38,000 instructional and documentary videos from producers such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, HBO, CNBC News, ABC News, PBS, BBC, Cengage Learning, Meridian, and others.
Kanopy BASE Collection This link opens in a new window A collection of over 10,000 educational and feature films from suppliers including PBS, Kino Lorber, and New Day Films.

New York Times (1985-present) This link opens in a new window New York newspaper with local, regional, national, and international news coverage. Includes backfile to the current issue.
Hartford Courant (1992-current) This link opens in a new window Daily newspaper from Hartford, Connecticut. Coverage: 1992 - current. The Hartford Courant is the largest daily newspaper in Connecticut. Founded in 1764, it also is the oldest continuously published newspaper in the United States.
Wall Street Journal (1984-present) This link opens in a new window The Wall Street Journal is an American business and economic-focused international daily newspaper based in New York City. The Journal is published six days a week.