Search
Search Gateway Library Catalog
Suggested Nursing Care Titles from the Library
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 12th Edition Revised Reprint with 2021-2023 NANDA-I® Updates by
Get nursing care plans right! Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 12th Edition Revised Reprint with 2021-2023 NANDA-I© Updates helps you select appropriate nursing diagnoses and write care plans with ease and confidence. This convenient handbook shows how to correlate nursing diagnoses with known information about clients on the basis of assessment findings, established medical or psychiatric diagnoses, and the current treatment plan. Revised and updated with 2021-2023 NANDA-I© approved nursing diagnoses, the book integrates NIC and NOC taxonomies, evidence-based nursing interventions, and adult, pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning considerations to help you create unique, individualized care plans. Step-by-step instructions show how to use the Guide to Nursing Diagnoses and Guide to Planning Care sections to create a unique, individualized plan of care. UNIQUE! Care plans are provided for NANDA-I© approved nursing diagnoses. Evidence-based interventions and rationales include recent or classic research and references supporting the use of each intervention. Examples of and suggested NIC interventions and NOC outcomes are presented in each care plan. 150 NCLEX® exam-style review questions are available on the Evolve website. Easy-to-follow Sections I and II guide you through the nursing process and selection of appropriate nursing diagnoses. Clear, concise interventions are usually only a sentence or two long and use no more than two references. Safety content emphasizes what must be considered to provide safe patient care. List of NANDA-I© Diagnoses on the inside front cover of the book provides quick reference to page numbers. Alphabetical thumb tabs allow quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. Appendixes provide valuable information in an easy-to-access location. NEW! Comprehensive, up-to-date information is included on the new 2021-2023 NANDA-I© approved nursing diagnoses. NEW! Updated NIC/NOC, interventions, and rationales are provided for every care plan. NEW! Interventions reorganized by priority help you quickly identify the information you need. NEW! Section I: Gender identity discussion includes information about the caregiver's responsibility. NEW! Section II covers bullying, gender dysphoria, medical marijuana, military families/personnel, opioid use/abuse, service animals, technology addiction, and veterans. NEW! Concept map creator is added.
Call Number: Main Collection RT48.6 .A35 2021ISBN: 9780323879880Publication Date: 2021
Palliative Care Nursing by
"This 5th edition is an important achievement; it is a symbol of commitment to the field of palliative nursing, where we have been and where we are going." - Betty Rolling Ferrell, PhD, MA, FAAN, FPCN, CHPN From the Foreword The aging population has only grown since the first edition of this comprehensive and seminal publication nearly 20 years ago. Based on the need to humanize rather than medicalize the illness experience for patients, this text delves into palliative care beyond the specific diseases affecting the patient. Instead, content focuses on the whole person and family. Palliative patients struggle with chronic, debilitating, and painful conditions, and grapple with the fact that life as they knew it has already passed away. Families and friends reciprocally suffer, not knowing how to help and therefore become the secondary victims of the disease. This is not the challenge of a lone nurse, or a single physician, therapist, or social worker. Rather, palliative and hospice care requires the expertise and unique roles of an interprofessional team to help the patient and family strengthen their resilience, continue to find meaning and purpose in life, and cure what can be cured. Palliative Care Nursing, Fifth Edition, delivers advanced empirical, aesthetic, ethical and personal knowledge. This new edition brings an increased focus on outcomes, benchmarking progress, and goals of care. It expounds upon the importance of the cross-disciplinary collaboration introduced in the previous edition. Every chapter in Sections I, II, and III includes content written by a non-nursing member of the interprofessional team. Based on best-evidence and clinical practice guidelines, this text presents comprehensive, targeted interventions responsive to the needs of palliative and hospice patients and family. Each chapter contains compassionate, timely, appropriate, and cost-effective care for diverse populations across the illness trajectory. Key FeaturesThe expanded new edition offers current, comprehensive, one-stop source of highly-relevant clinical information on palliative careLife-span approach: age-appropriate nursing considerations (e.g. geriatric, pediatric and family)Includes disease-specific and symptom-specific nursing management chaptersPromotes a holistic and interdisciplinary approach to palliative careOffers important legal, ethical and cultural considerations related to death and dyingCase Studies with Case Study Conclusion in each clinical chapter New to The Fifth Edition: An expanded chapter on Palliative Care incorporates most up to date scope and standards, information on Basic and Advanced HPNA certification, self-reflection and self-care for nurses.A chapter on Interprofessional CollaborationInstructor Resources: Power points and Test bank
Call Number: Main Collection RT87.T45 P343 2019ISBN: 9780826127129Publication Date: 2018
Translation of Evidence into Nursing and Health Care, Second Edition by
Designed as a textbook for the DNP curriculum and as a practical resource for more seasoned health professionals, this acclaimed text encompasses aninterprofessional approach to translating evidence into nursing and health care practice that is useful for both clinical and nonclinical environments. Thesecond edition presents new chapters, three of which feature additional approaches for translating evidence into practice, new methods of informationtechnology for translation, and interprofessional collaboration and practice for translation and three that offer 19 exemplars that illustrate actualtranslation work within the areas of population health and specialty practice, and in the health care system. Consistently woven throughout are the themesof integration and application of knowledge into practice, leadership and evaluating change, leadership strategies for translation, and interprofessionalapplications across settings. Also included is new information about outcomes management for improvement of direct and indirect care. The second edition continues to deliver applicable theory and strategies to achieve improved outcomes, and meets the DNP core competency requirements. Itfeatures a variety of models for change as they relate to translation of research into practice. The text underscores the importance of translatingevidence for use in practice to improve health care and health care delivery, and presents strategies to achieve this. It addresses the use of evidence toimprove nursing education, discusses how to reduce the divide between researchers and policy makers, and presents expedients for overcoming resistance tochange. Extensive lists of references, web links, and other resources enhance learning and support the development of the DNP core competencies. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: Addition of an esteemed co-editor Reorganized and revised for enhanced comprehension New chapters: Methods for Translation, Information Technology and Decision Support, Interprofessional Collaboration and Practice for Translation, and Data Management and Evaluation of Translation Three new exemplar chapters: Population Health Exemplars, Specialty Practice Exemplars, and Health Care System Exemplars Updated information on integration and application of knowledge into practice, leading and evaluating change, leadership strategies for translation, and interprofessional application across settings New coverage of outcomes management for improvement of direct and indirect care KEY FEATURES: Offers an in-depth guide for planning, implementing, and translating evidence Includes extensive references necessary for doctoral study Provides the perfect supplement for evidence-based practice materials that often have limited information or value for translation/implementation activities
Call Number: Main Collection RT42 .T73 2016ISBN: 9780826117847Publication Date: 2015
Fast Facts for the Radiology Nurse by
"...covers many topics essential to the success of the nurse working in an imaging setting ... The handbook's size make it easily portable as a bedside reference...[It]would be a welcome addition to any radiology nursing unit's resources and would be a useful handbook in the emergency and critical care units' libraries as well." -Kathleen A. Gross, MSN, RN-BC, CRN From the Foreword This portable guide to radiology nursing provides comprehensive information about this emerging specialty in a concise format designed for speedy information retrieval. Written for both practicing nurses and new orientees, it outlines general procedures and protocols, along with requisite information for patient care in specialized areas of radiology. It discusses care for all patient populations including morbidly obese, pediatric, geriatric, and oncology and addresses vascular access, infection control, teamwork, and sterile technique in the radiology setting. The book encompasses over 50 different IR procedures, and also describes emergency situations in radiology and how to respond to them. With an emphasis on inter-professional care, the book demystifies complex procedures and includes clinical "pearls" from seasoned experts in radiology nursing. The bookís "Fast Facts" format features consistently organized chapters, bulleted information "at a glance," an introduction, objectives, and summary in each chapter, and case studies to reinforce radiological interventions. The guide will be a welcome addition to the arsenal of radiology, emergency, and clinical care nurses as well as new orientees. Key Features: Serves as an accessible, easy-to use, reference for practicing radiology nurses and new orientees Describes numerous essential procedures and protocols in reader-friendly "Fast Facts" style Addresses patient care in all areas of radiology and with specific patient populations Includes coverage of vascular access issues and emergency situations Delivers the accumulated wisdom of seasoned inter-professional practitioners
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780826129376Publication Date: 2014
Nursing care planning made incredibly easy! by
Learn step-by-step how to build a concept map, develop a nursing diagnosis, and choose realistic outcomes and individualized interventions. This nursing guide leads you expertly through the care plan process, backed by the Made Incredibly Easy series' trademark humor, plentiful illustrations, and down-to-earth explanations. Master the concepts and process of care planning … NEW and updated guidance on following the evidence-based standards of North American Nursing Diagnosis Association (NANDA) diagnoses, and Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC) and Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) guidelines Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC), and Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) guidelines NEW full-color design—dozens of illustrations and diagrams that outline the process of concept mapping, diagramming, and intervention planning NEW guidance on creating electronic plans—online access to 166 customizable care plans covering every nursing specialty, including new plans for gastric bypass, preterm labor, and cerebral palsy, plus examples of handwritten care plans NEW Nurse Joy and Jake offer practical advice throughout Breaks down the process of creating individualized care plans into easy-to-follow segments Guides nursing students and new nurses into the critical thinking and planning skills needed to choose appropriate, effective treatments and interventions Case study exercises and clinical tips to help you integrate care plan concepts and evidence-based standards with real-life situations Part I discusses NANDA-I, NOC, and NIC —covers assessment, nursing diagnosis, planning, implementation, evaluation, and integrating the concepts Part II integrates major nursing diagnoses with common medical diagnoses —addresses medical-surgical, maternal-neonatal, pediatric, and psychiatric diagnosesChapter features include: Just the facts —quick summary of chapter content Under construction —sample concept maps and care plan components, with tips for creating individualized care plans On the case —visual, step-by-step instruction applied to real-life patient care scenarios Weighing the evidence —the latest evidence-based standards of care, demonstrated in sample care plans Teacher knowsbest —helpful tips and reminders to help you apply what you are learning Memory jogger —techniques for remembering vital content
Call Number: eBookISBN: 1496382579Publication Date: 2018
Psychosocial Nursing Care along the Cancer Continuum by
This new edition of Psychosocial Nursing Care Along the Cancer Continuum has been expanded and updated to address the growing role of psycho-oncology in the care of individuals confronted with a cancer diagnosis and treatment. Focusing on patient-centered care, this text reflects the importance of family caregivers, interpersonal and social relationships, and survivorship issues in ensuring complete care of the patient with cancer.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781635930085Publication Date: 2018
- eBook Central College Complete This link opens in a new window College Complete is a comprehensive ebook subscription that helps prepare students for academic and career success. This resource covers all academic subject areas and content for in-demand trade jobs. Gain access to content in traditional disciplines like business, management and nursing; emerging areas like artificial intelligence (AI) and criminal justice; and topics to support specific skills like advanced manufacturing, construction and healthcare.
- EBSCO eBooks Academic Subscription Collection This link opens in a new window Access a cross-searchable, multidisciplinary library of over 210,000 high-quality, unlimited-user e-books from leading university presses and academic publishers such as Cambridge University Press, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Harvard University Press, John Wiley & Sons, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, State University of New York Press, Taylor & Francis, and University of California Press. These ebooks cover a large section of academic subjects and new titles are added the collection continuously.
- Gale eBooks - Gateway Campus This link opens in a new window Full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- R2 Digital Library Health Sciences eBooks Collection - Gateway Campus This link opens in a new window A collection of nursing and allied health ebooks from major publishers. Please note: Items can only be viewed by a single user at a time. Try again later if unable to access.
