Find Books, etc.
Reference or Reserve Books
Scientific Style and Format by
For more than fifty years, authors, editors, and publishers in the scientific community have turned to Scientific Style and Format for authoritative recommendations on all matters of writing style and citation. Developed by the Council of Science Editors (CSE), the leading professional association in science publishing, this indispensable guide encompasses all areas of the sciences. Now in its eighth edition, it has been fully revised to reflect today’s best practices in scientific publishing. Scientific Style and Format citation style has been comprehensively reorganized, and its style recommendations have been updated to align with the advice of authoritative international bodies. Also new to the eighth edition are guidelines and examples for citing online images and information graphics, podcasts and webcasts, online videos, blogs, social networking sites, and e-books. Style instructions for physics, chemistry, genetics, biological sciences, and astronomy have been adjusted to reflect developments in each field. The coverage of numbers, units, mathematical expressions, and statistics has been revised and now includes more information on managing tables, figures, and indexes. Additionally, a full discussion of plagiarism and other aspects of academic integrity is incorporated, along with a complete treatment of developments in copyright law, including Creative Commons. For the first time in its history, Scientific Style and Format will be available simultaneously in print and online at www.scientificstyleandformat.org. Online subscribers will receive access to full-text searches of the new edition and other online tools, as well as the popular Chicago Manual of Style Online Forum, a community discussion board for editors and authors. Whether online or in print, the eighth edition of Scientific Style and Format remains the essential resource for those writing, editing, and publishing in the scientific community.
Call Number: REFERENCE DESK T11 .S386 2014ISBN: 9780226116495Publication Date: 2014-05-07
Successful Scientific Writing by Call Number: ON RESERVE BIO 1220ISBN: 9781107691933Publication Date: 2014-11-13
Writing Undergraduate Lab Reports by
"Writing clear, impactful reports is a crucial skill for science students, but few books focus on this area for the undergraduate. Particularly useful for biology students, this text adopts a hands-on approach, using example reports and published papers as models to put guidance into practice. An introductory chapter familiarizes undergraduates with the principles of writing science. Two model reports are then developed, walking students through experimental and observational teaching-lab reports. The structure and content of the Introduction, Methods and Materials, Results, and Discussion are explained, together with tips for the title, abstract, and references. Students are then guided on how to polish their first draft. The last section of the book analyzes two published papers, helping the reader transition to reporting original research. Clearly and concisely written, this text offers a much-needed lifeline for science students facing science report-writing for the first time, and for those looking to hone their writing skills. Co-written by an education specialist and an experienced teacher of undergraduate biology who understand the challenges faced by new students in writing science; Fills the gap between academic English manuals and books on writing research manuscripts for publication; Adopts a handbook approach, developing model lab reports from scratch and analyzing published papers at a level that will guide the novice writer"--The publisher.
Call Number: STACKS T11 .L625 2017ISBN: 9781107117402Publication Date: 2017-07-27
Books
Biology by
Key Topics:Science as a Way of Learning: A Guide to the Natural World, Fundamental Building Blocks: Chemistry, Water, and pH, Life's Components: Biological Molecules, Life's Home: The Cell, Life's Border: The Plasma Membrane, Life's Mainspring: An Introduction to Energy, Vital Harvest: Deriving Energy from Food, The Green World's Gift: Photosynthesis, Genetics and Cell Division, Preparing for Sexual Reproduction: Meiosis.
Call Number: QH308.2 .K76 2009 STACKSISBN: 0132254379Publication Date: 2008-01-18
Cell of Cells by
Unmade in America
Stem cells in the Sahara
Scientific pilgrimages
In the beginning
Biopolis
World cloning wars
Double-edged sword : stem cells as a cancer cure and cause
The medical revolution of the human chimera
Stem cells and the heart : setting cardiologists' pulses racing
The proliferating underground clinic and the regulation of China
Smashing biological clocks : the stem cell's first social revolution?
The fall of Seoul and the rise of San Francisco.
Call Number: QH588.S83 F69 2007 STACKSISBN: 0393058778Publication Date: 2007-03-17
Essential Cell Biology by
This text provides a readily accessible introduction to the central concepts of cell biology, and its lively, clear writing and exceptional illustrations make it the ideal textbook for a first course in both cell and molecular biology. The text and figures are easy-to-follow, accurate, clear, and engaging for the introductory student. Molecular detail has been kept to a minimum in order to provide the reader with a cohesive conceptual framework for the basic science that underlies our current understanding of all of biology, including the biomedical sciences. This edition has been thoroughly revised, and covers the latest developments in this fast-moving field, yet retains the academic level and length of the previous edition.
Call Number: QH581.2 .E78 2014ISBN: 9780815344544Publication Date: 2013-10-15
How We Live and Why We Die by
Introduction : the miraculous cell
Discovery : how science made plain the facts of life
How we live : how cells replicate, maintain order, evolve, and die
How we function : how proteins determine the work of cells
How genes work : how DNA encodes proteins
How our cells are replaced : how stem cells self-replicate
How we become human : how we develop from a single cell
How we reproduce : how meiosis works
How we move, think, and feel : how nerve cells communicate
How we grow and why we age : how cells multiply, enlarge, and decline
How we survive : how cells defend against bacteria and viruses
How cancer strikes : how rogue cells form tumours
How diseases are caused : when cells behave abnormally
The origins of life : the mystery of the first cell.
Call Number: QH582.4 .W65 2009 STACKSISBN: 0393072215Publication Date: 2009-10-19
Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews - Cell and Molecular Biology by
Stem cells and their differentiation
Extracellular matrix and cell adhesion
Biological membranes
Cytoskeleton
Organelles
The eukaryotic genome
DNA replication
Transcription
Translation
Regulation of gene expression
Protein trafficking
Protein degradation
etc...
Call Number: QH581.2 .C47 2010 STACKSISBN: 1609133099Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Science 101 by
Science 101: Biology provides all the basics of biology in twelve easy chapters, ranging from such fundamental questions as "What is life?" to the essentials of anatomy, physiology, ecology, genetics, and evolution.
This book also covers public controversies such as stem-cell research and intelligent design
Call Number: QH308.2 .O24 2007 STACKSISBN: 0060891351Publication Date: 2007-06-26
Sex Cells by
pt. I. Organizing the market
1. Characterizing the material
2. Selling genes, selling gender
pt. II. Experiencing the market
3. Producing eggs and sperm
Being a paid donor
5. Defining connections
Call Number: HQ761 .A46 2011 STACKSISBN: 0520270959Publication Date: 2011-09-20
Stem Cells by
1. Stem cells 101
2. History of stem cells and stem cell research through the 1980s
3. Current stem cell research since 1990
4. Taking care : growing and maintaining embryonic stem cells
5. Hope for the future : diseases and disorders of the nervous system
6. Of blood, bones, and the immune system
7. Tissue engineering : bones, muscles, skin, endocrine glands
section 2. Ethics and regulations
8. Ethics and research in history
9. Ethics and the brave new world
10. Religious considerations
11. Regulatory issues in the United States
12. Regulatory issues in other countries
13. The future of stem cell research
Call Number: QH588.S83 K45 2007 STACKSISBN: 0313337632Publication Date: 2006-11-01
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by
Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer, yet her cells--taken without her knowledge--became one of the most important tools in medicine. The first "immortal" human cells grown in culture, they are still alive today, though she has been dead for more than sixty years. HeLa cells were vital for developing the polio vaccine; uncovered secrets of cancer and viruses; helped lead to in vitro fertilization, cloning, and gene mapping; and have been bought and sold by the billions. Yet Henrietta Lacks is buried in an unmarked grave. Her family did not learn of her "immortality" until more than twenty years after her death, when scientists began using her husband and children in research without informed consent. The story of the Lacks family is inextricably connected to the dark history of experimentation on African Americans, the birth of bioethics, and the legal battles over whether we control the stuff we are made of--From publisher description.
Call Number: STACKS RC265.6.L24 S55 2011ISBN: https://cscu-mcc-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/f/14lmmb3/01CSCU_NETWORK_ALMA994255703603164Publication Date: 2010-02-02
Visualizing Human Biology by
Introduction to the study of life
Moving through the environment
Protection from the environment
Thriving within the environment
Populating the environment.
Call Number: QP34.5 .I74 2010 STACKSISBN: 0470390743Publication Date: 2009-01-14
Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences by
With detailed instruction on researching, drafting, revising, and documenting papers, reviews, poster presentations, and more, Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences teaches you to exprtly write on topice relevant to biology, zoology, and botany.
Call Number: NEW BOOKSHELF QH304 .M36 2017ISBN: 9781319047139Publication Date: 2016-12-19
