MCC Search Library Catalog
MCC Search provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more. Sign-in with your NetID and password to:
- Renew books and videos
- Request items owned by other CSCU libraries
- Create favorites lists
- View full search results. (Some databases only show results when you're signed in.)
Recommended Library Subject Headings
Use these suggested Library of Congress subject headings to find books and media, both print and online:
PRINT Book Recommendations
Ask Not: the inauguration of John F. Kennedy and the speech that changed America by
A narrative of Kennedy's quest to create a speech that would distill American dreams and empower a new generation, Ask Not is a beautifully detailed account of the inauguration and the weeks preceding it.
Call Number: STACKS J82.D91 C53 2011Publication Date: 2004
Becoming by
An intimate, powerful, and inspiring memoir by the former First Lady of the United States #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * WATCH THE EMMY-NOMINATED NETFLIX ORIGINAL DOCUMENTARY * OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK * NAACP IMAGE AWARD WINNER * ONE OF ESSENCE'S 50 MOST IMPACTFUL BLACK BOOKS OF THE PAST 50 YEARS In a life filled with meaning and accomplishment, Michelle Obama has emerged as one of the most iconic and compelling women of our era. As First Lady of the United States of America--the first African American to serve in that role--she helped create the most welcoming and inclusive White House in history, while also establishing herself as a powerful advocate for women and girls in the U.S. and around the world, dramatically changing the ways that families pursue healthier and more active lives, and standing with her husband as he led America through some of its most harrowing moments. Along the way, she showed us a few dance moves, crushed Carpool Karaoke, and raised two down-to-earth daughters under an unforgiving media glare. In her memoir, a work of deep reflection and mesmerizing storytelling, Michelle Obama invites readers into her world, chronicling the experiences that have shaped her--from her childhood on the South Side of Chicago to her years as an executive balancing the demands of motherhood and work, to her time spent at the world's most famous address. With unerring honesty and lively wit, she describes her triumphs and her disappointments, both public and private, telling her full story as she has lived it--in her own words and on her own terms. Warm, wise, and revelatory, Becoming is the deeply personal reckoning of a woman of soul and substance who has steadily defied expectations--and whose story inspires us to do the same.
Call Number: STACKS E909.O24 A3 2018Publication Date: 2018
Eloquent Rage by
Far too often, Black women's anger has been caricatured into an ugly and destructive force that threatens the civility and social fabric of American democracy. But, black women's eloquent rage is what makes Serena Williams such a powerful tennis player. It's what makes Beyoncé's girl power anthems resonate so hard. It's what makes Michelle Obama an icon.
Call Number: STACKS HQ1413.C67 C67 2019Publication Date: 2019
Lend Me Your Ears by
A compendium of more than two hundred classic and modern speeches includes Orson Welles eulogizing Darryl F. Zanuck, George Patton exhorting his D-Day troops, King Edward VIII abdicating his throne, and the never-delivered speech John F. Kennedy was scheduled to give in Dallas.
Call Number: STACKS PN6122 .L4 2004Publication Date: 2004
Living History by
The author chronicles her eight years as First Lady of the United States, looking back on her husband's two administrations, the challenges she faced during the period, the impeachment crisis, and her own political work.
Call Number: STACKS E887.C55 A3 2003Publication Date: 2003
Steve Jobs by
Based on more than forty interviews with Jobs conducted over two years--as well as interviews with more than a hundred family members, friends, adversaries, competitors, and colleagues--Walter Isaacson has written a riveting story of the roller-coaster life and searingly intense personality of a creative entrepreneur who revolutionized six industries: personal computers, animated movies, music, phones, tablet computing, and digital publishing.
Call Number: STATCKS QA76.2.J63 I83 2011Publication Date: 2011
To the Mountaintop by
More than a biography, To the Mountaintop is the history of a turbulent epoch that changed the course of American and world history. Moral warrior and nonviolent apostle; man of God rocked by fury, fear, and guilt; rational thinker driven by emotional and spiritual truth -- Martin Luther King Jr. struggled to reconcile these divisions in his soul. Here is an intimate narrative of his intellectual and spiritual journey from cautious liberal, to reluctant radical, to righteous revolutionary. Stewart Burns draws not only on King's speeches, letters, writings, and well-reported strategizing and activities, but also on previously underutilized oral histories of key meetings and events, which present a dramatic account of King and the movement in the crucial years from 1955 to 1968. In a striking departure from earlier books on Martin Luther King Jr. and the civil rights movement, Burns focuses on King's biblical faith and spiritual vision as fundamental to his political leadership and shows how these threads wove together a "single garment of destiny," making King the most important social prophet of the twentieth century. King is not portrayed as a lone exalted hero, butas the heart of a fabric of principled leadershipthat stretched from his closest colleagues to the movement's foot soldiers on the streets. This book stresses his shaping by other leaders -- heroic figures such as Bayard Rustin, Ella Baker, James Bevel, Bob Moses, and Marian Wright Edelman -- and his conflicted relationships with John and Robert Kennedy and Lyndon Johnson. To the Mountaintop is uniquely powerful in presenting actual conversations between King and others, and in showing how King's public words often revealed his private torment. Burns provides a uniquely realist portrait of King and the civil rights movement by revealing the vital but neglected religious character of the story, and by demonstrating how King profoundly experienced the movement as a sacred mission following a path of liberation and sacrifice pioneered by Moses and Jesus.
Call Number: STACKS E185.97.K5 B798 2004Publication Date: 2003
Voices of Multicultural America by Call Number: REFERENCE PS663.M55 V64 1996Publication Date: 1995Ask a librarian at the Reference Desk for assistance locating this book.
We Are the Change We Seek by
Barack Obama's political life can be chronicled through a series of major addresses in which he spoke to the nation with a voice uniquely his own. His eloquence, both written and spoken, propelled him to national prominence and ultimately made it possible for the son of a Kenyan man and a white woman from Kansas to become the first black president of the United States.
Call Number: STACKS E891.5 .O335 2017bPublication Date: 2017
EBOOKS READ ONLINE
Many more great titles are available through EBSCO!
African-American Orators by
Contains a chapter: "Martin Luther King, Jr., as Transformational Orator."
Call Number: READ ONLINEPublication Date: 1996
Connecting with Constituents: Identification Building and Blocking in Contemporary National Convention Addresses by
Chapter analyzing Barack Obama's 2004 Keynote Address
Call Number: READ ONLINEPublication Date: 2015
Double-Consciousness and the Rhetoric of Barack Obama by
Contains an entire chapter about his speech "A More Perfect Union."
Call Number: READ ONLINEPublication Date: 2015
Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Preserver of Spirit and Hope by
Contains a chapter on the build up to WWII, the domestic debate between the isolationists and interventionists and FDR's speech following the attack at Pearl Harbor.
Call Number: READ ONLINEPublication Date: 2009
Hillary Clinton in the News: Gender and Authenticity in American Politics by
Chapter 3 discusses Hillary Clinton's trip to Beijing in 1995 for the U.N.'s Fourth World Conference on Women.
Call Number: READ ONLINEPublication Date: 2014-01-21
Ring Out Freedom! by
Martin Luther King, Jr. was more than the civil rights movement’s most visible figure, he was its voice. This book describes what went into the creation of that voice. It explores how King used words to define a movement. From a place situated between two cultures of American society, King shaped the language that gave the movement its identity and meaning.
Call Number: READ ONLINEPublication Date: 2003
Slipping the Surly Bonds: Reagan's Challenger Address by
Focusing on the text of Reagan's speech, the author shows how President Reagan's reputation as “the Great Communicator” adds significance to our understanding of his rhetoric on one of the most momentous occasions of his administration.
Call Number: READ ONLINEPublication Date: 2006
Steve Jobs: a Biographic Portrait by
Steve Jobs: A Biographic Portrait is a visual celebration and comprehensive study of "The Maverick" and his work. Includes commentary about his commencement speech to Stanford University.
Call Number: READ ONLINEPublication Date: 2022
The Word of the Lord Is upon Me: The Righteous Performance of Martin Luther King, Jr. by
Commentary and analysis of his speech: "I've Been to the Mountaintop."
Call Number: READ ONLINEPublication Date: 2008
Not Even Past by
Barack Obama, in his acclaimed campaign speech discussing the troubling complexities of race in America today, quoted William Faulkner's famous remark "The past isn't dead and buried. In fact, it isn't even past."
Call Number: READ ONLINEPublication Date: 2010
