Searching the Online Catalog
Books
Adult Physical Conditions by
"The first edition ended up being one amazingly comprehensive book that could travel throughout an OTA curriculum, contain up-to-date and relevant evidence and research, and offer students a fresh perspective. We love using it with our students and have heard from so many educators that they love it too. In this second edition we kept the best parts of the first edition, but added some dramatic changes, additions, new features, new evidence, updated references, and so much more"--
Call Number: STACKS RM735.3 A38 2022ISBN: 9781719644358Publication Date: 2022-03-30
Crafts and Creative Media in Therapy by
"For over 20 years, Crafts and Creative Media in Therapy, Fifth Edition has been an illuminating reference for the use of creative approaches in helping clients achieve their therapeutic goals. It includes a range of craft and creative activity categories, from paper crafts, to cooking, to the use of recycled materials, and everything in between. Each chapter includes a brief history of the craft, several projects along with suggestions for grading or adapting, examples of related documentation, and a short case study. The text also features chapters on activity analysis, general strategies for implementation of creative activities, and documentation, as well as a chapter describing the relevance of this media from both historical and current occupation-based perspectives. In this new Fifth Edition, the craft projects have been updated and numerous resources and links for more ideas have been added. There are new chapters on making therapy tools and crafting with a purpose, and the recycled and found materials chapter has been expanded in keeping with cultural trends. A flow chart has been added to each case study to help students better understand the process and rationale for tailoring activities for individual client needs, and project suggestions for working on specific performance skills or client factors are scattered throughout the chapters. Other additions include a behavioral observation checklist as an aid in evaluation and documentation, and several illustrations to help students distinguish between the use of occupation as means and occupation as end. This Fifth Edition also includes an updated instructors' manual with additional resources and suggestions for lesson planning"--
Call Number: NEW BOOKSHELF RM735.7.H35 D73 2017ISBN: 9781630911096Publication Date: 2016-10-30
Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy by
"One of the most critical skills that occupational therapists must learn is effective documentation. With that idea in mind, Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy: Writing SOAP Notes, Fourth Edition presents a systematic approach to a standard form of health care documentation: the SOAP note. The clinical reasoning skills underlying SOAP note documentation can be adapted to fit the written or electronic documentation requirements of nearly any occupational therapy practice setting. This new Fourth Edition has been updated to reflect current information essential to contemporary occupational therapy practice, including the AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework: Domain & Process, Third Edition. Documentation Manual for Occupational Therapy, Fourth Edition also includes the COAST method, a specific format for writing occupation-based goals."--Publisher's website.
Call Number: NEW BOOKSHELF RM735.4 .B67 2017ISBN: 9781630912314Publication Date: 2016-08-30
Documenting Occupational Therapy Practice by Call Number: RM 735.4 S264 2015ISBN: 9780133110494Publication Date: 2014-08-06
Group Dynamics in Occupational Therapy by
"Building on the original seven steps for learning group leadership, and keeping with the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, Third Edition, this text examines group dynamics from a therapeutic and wellness perspective. It reviews descriptions of how Occupational Therapy group leaders apply multiple levels of professional reasoning to maximize the therapeutic value of group interactions. Recent examples and evidence are also included in this Fifth Edition to reflect the design and use of groups for evaluation and intervention within the newly evolving paradigm of occupational therapy"--
Call Number: STACKS RC487 .C65 2018ISBN: 9781630913670Publication Date: 2017-08-30
Kinesiology for Occupational Therapy by
Kinesiology for Occupational Therapy, Third Edition covers the theoretical background for understanding the kinematics and kinetics of normal human physiological movement. Each specific joint is assessed in terms of musculoskeletal function, movements possible, and an overview of pathology that may develop. Dr. Melinda Rybski covers four occupational therapy theories related to functional motion that are important for occupational therapists to know. This Third Edition has been updated to reflect the current field and includes new information that has emerged in recent years. New in the Third Edition: Content closely follows AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework and Occupational Therapy Vision 2025 Updated and more extensive provision of evidence that summarizes key findings in current literature New theories are presented in the Intervention sections Extensive, joint specific and theory-based assessments are provided Interventions described are occupation-based, process-based Kinesiology concepts presented in a practical, useable way Expanded chapters for Spine and Thorax and Hip and Pelvis. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional material to be used for teaching in the classroom. Kinesiology for Occupational Therapy, Third Edition clearly outlines the need for an understanding of kinesiology in occupational therapy, providing occupational therapists with the evidence necessary to support their intervention strategies.
Call Number: NEW BOOKSHELF QP303 .R93 2019ISBN: 9781630914714Publication Date: 2019-04-26
Medical Terminology Doodles by
"Welcome to a different way to learn medical terminology, with movement! Flashcards are nice and practice lists are good but moving is better. This book suggests that a multi-sensory approach to learning words is better than traditional methods. The Power of a Doodle Doodling your vocabulary terms helps you better picture the meaning of the word. Drawing the vocabulary word helps form a permanent link in your mind by connecting several sections of your brain with the associated term. Drawing doodles reminds you of the meaning of the word root and helps you learn the word root kinesthetically. After all, we do not take tests with flashcards, we write the answer. It makes sense to learn material in the way we have to use it. Flashcards often fail students because they can "see" the word on the card but cannot remember to "see" the answer. This book covers the 268 most popular medical terms that will get you started in your health care occupation. Doodle suggestions are made for each term in this book, but you can personalize your learning by assigning meaning to the term yourself. The word root might have either a "finish the ..." suggestion or a "consider this ..." suggestion; however, you should do a doodle that has meaning to you. Sometimes it is impossible to draw a concept everyone can understand, so the suggestions are just that, suggestions. The doodler must make meaning of the word root. You may want to consider rewriting the word root in a style that suggests the meaning, such as large squiggly lines for large intestines. Consider doodling the "you may already know" word as another way to reinforce the word root. Also, reinforce your doodle by saying the root and meaning while you doodle"--
Call Number: STACKS R123 .S53 2020ISBN: 9781630914806Publication Date: 2019-09-13
My Stroke of Insight by
On December 10, 1996, Taylor, a brain scientist, experienced a massive stroke. She observed her own mind deteriorate. Now she shares her unique perspective on the brain and its capacity for recovery.
Call Number: STACKS RC388.5 .T387 2009ISBN: 9780452295544Publication Date: 2009-05-26
Occupational Therapy Essentials for Clinical Competence by
Occupation, theory-driven, evidence-based, and client-centered practice continue to be the core of the profession and are the central focus of Occupational Therapy Essentials for Clinical Competence, Third Edition. The Third Edition contains updated and enriched chapters that incorporate new perspectives and evidence-based information important to entry-level practitioners. The Third Edition continues to relate each chapter to the newest ACOTE Standards and is evidence-based, while also addressing the guidelines of practice and terms from the AOTAs Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, Third Edition. Dr. Karen Jacobs and Nancy MacRae, along with their 63 contributors, introduce every topic necessary for competence as an entry-level practitioner. Varied perspectives are provided in each chapter with consistent references made to the relevance of certified occupational therapy assistant roles and responsibilities. Additionally, chapters on the Dark Side of Occupation and Primary Care have been added to broaden the foundational scope of knowledge. Each chapter also contains a clinical case used to exemplify relevant content. -- Publisher's website.
Call Number: STACKS RM735 .O323 2017ISBN: 9781630912475Publication Date: 2017-03-30
Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction by
"The eighth edition of Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction integrates the foundational concepts developed by Dr. Catherine A. Trombly Latham and the works of Dr. Mary Vining Radomski with new evidence in the profession to guide occupational therapy practice for adults with physical disabilities. The intention of this text is to provide comprehensive and detailed instruction in best practice for occupational therapy assessment and intervention with this population."--Page vi.
Call Number: NEW BOOKSHELF RM735 .O33 2021ISBN: 9781975110550Publication Date: 2020-02-07
Occupational Therapy in Mental Health by Call Number: NEW BOOKSHELF RC487 .O252 2019ISBN: 9780803659162Publication Date: 2019-01-30
Pediatric Skills for Occupational Therapy Assistants by Call Number: STACKS RJ53.O25 P435 2021ISBN: 9780323597135Publication Date: 2020-09-21
Preparing for the Occupational Therapy Assistant National Board Exam: 45 Days and Counting by Call Number: NEW BOOKSHELF RM735.32 .P74 2018ISBN: 9781284072358Publication Date: 2017-09-13
Psychopathology and Function by Call Number: STACKS RC454 .B5765 2015ISBN: 9781617118845Publication Date: 2014-11-30
Quick Reference Neuroscience for Rehabilitation Professionals by Call Number: STACKS RC343 .G88 2017ISBN: 9781630911522Publication Date: 2016-08-30
Remember by Call Number: STACKS BF371 .G395 2021ISBN: 9780593137956Publication Date: 2021-03-23The Harvard-trained neuroscientist presents an exploration of the intricacies of human memory that distinguishes between normal and concerning memory loss while explaining the profound roles of sleep, stress, and other contributing influences.
Trail Guide to the Body 6e by Call Number: STACKS QM23.2 .B53 2019ISBN: 9780998785066Publication Date: 2019-09-01
eBooks
The Pool Activity Level (PAL) Instrument for Occupational Profiling by ISBN: 9781849052214Publication Date: 2011-10-15
