MLA Resources
MLA Handbook by
"The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index"
Call Number: REFERENCE LB2369 M52 2021ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-06
Handout also available in the Library.
MLA Help Online
- Purdue OWL: MLA Works CitedGreat examples!
What's a Citation?
In your academic work you are expected to provide references to the sources of information you used. These references are called citations. A list of citations is referred to as a bibliography. Providing citations serves several purposes:
- You show where you got the ideas, text, or images for your paper. That is being academically honest!
- Your bibliography shows how credible your work is, depending on the quality of sources you used.
- Your readers can locate the sources you consulted and follow your research trail.
Citation Tools
The following are free, online citation tools:
- EasyBib -- Offers MLA bibliography generator for free. Also available as a free add-on in Google Docs.
- NoodleTools Express -- Generates citations for MLA, but does not let you export to word processor or save citations. Advanced features require a subscription
- Zbib.org -- ZoteroBib is a free bibliography generator.
Quick MLA Examples - Works Cited
Book with a Single Author:
Last name, First name. Title: Subtitle. Publisher, Year.
Garton Ash, Timothy. Free Speech: Ten Principles for a Connected World. Yale University Press, 2016.
Book with Two Authors:
Last name, First Name, and First name Last Name. Title: Subtitle. Edition, Publisher, Year.
Grimes, Corinne, and Sandra Swick. Nursing School Entrance Exams. 3rd ed., Barron Educational Series, Inc., 2007.
Book with More Than One Editor:
Last name, First Name. Title: Subtitle. Edited by First Name Last Name and First Name Last Name, Publisher, Year.
Obama, Barack. We are the Change We Seek. Edited by E.J. Dionne and Joy-Ann Reid, Bloomsbury, 2017.
Video of Speech/Talk Found on the Web:
Speaker last name, First name. "Title." Website Name, Uploaded by username (if applicable), date uploaded, URL (omit https://)
Jobs, Steve. "Steve Jobs Stanford Commencement Speech 2005." YouTube, uploaded by joshuag, 6 Mar. 2006, www.youtube.com/watch?v=D1R-jKKp3NA.
Transcript of a Speech on a Website:
Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of the Article or Individual Page.” Title of the Website, Name of the publisher, Date the resource was published, URL.
Obama, Barack. “President Obama’s Farewell Address.” The White House, The United States Government, 10 Jan. 2017, www.whitehouse.gov/farewell.
Newspaper Article in a Research Database
Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of the Article." Title of the Newspaper, Date, Page(s). Title of the Database, URL (omit http) or DOI.
Rosenfeld, Megan. "The Wellesley Protest, Beyond Barbara Bush from Campus Petition to Public Debate, Students Touch a National Nerve." The Washington Post, May 28, 1990, p. B1. ProQuest, search.proquest.com/docview/307265307?accountid=39196.