Library: Tunxis American Government: Web Sites

U. S. Constitution

Interactive Constitution Learn about the text, history, and meaning of the U.S. Constitution from leading scholars of diverse legal and philosophical perspectives.
Constitution Annotated The Constitution Annotated provides a comprehensive overview of how the Constitution has been interpreted over time and is now available on this new site with upgraded search capabilities. The online Constitution Annotated includes discussions of the Supreme Court’s latest opinions. In the coming months, we will be making broader changes to further modernize the Constitution Annotated.

About the Legislative Branch

Center on Congress at Indiana University-Learn About Congress
This website is designed to show you how Congress works and how you can become more involved in America’s representative democracy.
Roll Call
The newspaper of Capitol Hill since 1955

OpenSecrets.Org
Nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit, the Center for Responsive Politics is the nation's premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy. Our vision is for Americans, empowered by access to clear and unbiased information about money’s role in politics and policy, to use that knowledge to strengthen our democracy. Our mission is to produce and disseminate peerless data and analysis on money in politics to inform and engage Americans, champion transparency, and expose disproportionate or undue influence on public policy.
GovTrack.us
Use GovTrack to research and track legislation in the United States Congress, including Members of Congress, bills and resolutions, voting records, and committee activity.

About the Judicial Branch

USA.gov-Judicial Branch

Provides an overview of the court system and supported by links to Supreme Court and lower courts.

About the Executive Branch

USA.gov-Executive Branch

U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov, makes it easy to get U.S. government information and services on the web. This section focuses on the Executive Branch and its agencies and departments.

Electoral College

Official Page of the US Electoral College

U.S. Government Web Sites

Congress.gov

White House
The official web site of the White House which provides links to issues, news, brief biographies, and appointments.
U.S. Senate
The official web site of the United States Senate. Includes legislation and committee information, and biographical information on Senators.
U.S. House of Representatives
The official web site of the United States House of Representatives. Includes legislation and committee information, and biographical information on Representatives.

Supreme Court of the U.S.
The official web site of the U.S. Supreme Court which provides links to historical information, brief Justice biographies, recent court decisions and court calendar.

United States Government Manual
USA.gov
The U.S. government's official web portal. Tabs provide information and access to government websites with helpful topic and government agency links.

Find the Appropriate Federal Government Agency

A-Z Index of U.S. Government Agencies
Also searchable by keyword, e.g. "fracking," will turn up appropriate agencies such as EPA, USGS, NIH, OSHA, etc...

Tunxis Campus Library

Tunxis American Government