Why Magazine, Journal and Newspaper Articles?

Articles are good sources for:

• Most recent research or information on a topic
• coverage of a very narrow topic
• coverage of current events
• contemporary accounts of past events and research

An academic journal is a peer reviewed periodical.

Peer Reviewed?

Essentially, 'peer review' is an academic term for quality control. Papers in peer-reviewed journals were closely inspected before they were accepted for publication--generally by a panel of reviewers who are experts on the topic (that is, the author’s professional peers…hence the term peer review). Reviewers look for proper use of research methods, significance of the paper’s contribution to the existing literature, and integration of previous authors’ work on the topic in any discussion (in particular, citation of sources used!). Papers published in academic journals are expert-approved…and great sources of high-quality information for college-level research papers. (Priscilla Coulter)

If the magazine is subscribed to by the library, it will open a link to the database where you can enter your keyword and search within that magazine.  If we do not subscribe to the magazine, you will be taken to their website.  Descriptions, when available, are from Magazines for Libraries, 2012 or the magazine's website.

• The American

Publication of the American Enterprise Institute, an influential conservative think tank established in 1943. Coverage includes business, technology, education, culture, book reviews and current affairs.

• The American Spectator

A core libertarian/conservative journal for library collections.

• The Atlantic
  No story is ever complete, no argument is ever perfect, and debates worth having tend to shift and turn more than they end. So we can never rely on a single point of view, or even on a “balance” of two. Important ideas, observations, points, and counterpoints can come    from anywhere—from across the political spectrum—so we have to look everywhere for them.
   
• Commentary: journal of significant thought and opinion on contemporary issues

Was published by the American Jewish Committee through 2006, but continues to receive support from the organization. Political outlook of this monthly is moderate to conservative.

• Dissent

Quarterly magazine with a decidedly left-wing bent published by the University of Pennsylvania Press. Issues often theme oriented. Original reporting on economics, international and domestic politics, public policy. Articles written by well-known journalists, academics, and activists, and the editorial board is composed of some of the best-known left-wing intellectuals in the United States.

• Mother Jones

Delves into topics with no holds barred! It is "not to be beholden to any corporation, person, or foundation."...fills the need for an alternative open-minded perspective on the world in which we live.

• The Monthly Review: An Independent Socialist Magazine

A core journal for hard-left scholarship for the last 60 years. Contributors provide an international perspective on current world issues.

• The Nation

An unabashedly left-wing publication. Includes numerous editorials and columns as well as original reporting. Solid coverage of left-wing political perspectives.

• National Review

Widely considered to be the most important American conservative magazine. Published weekly, typically features 3-5 feature articles on politics, public policy, economics, and international affairs.

• New American

Published by the John Birch Society, the fundamentalist Christian organization, and it represents a much more right wing perspective on current affairs than almost any other magazine in the United States.

• New Republic
  In its current incarnation, The New Republic is unambiguously to the left and is often critical of the Democratic establishment and strongly in favor of universal health care.
   
• The Progressive

One of the country's best known liberal magazines.

• World Magazine

Biweekly news magazine, national and international coverage from a Christian perspective.
See "About" tab on website for full description

• Wilson Quarterly

"Non partisan and nonideological window on the world of ideas."