Library: Tunxis Composition II:Brown: Happiness

Tunxis All-In-One Search: (Catalog + Online Resources)

The following keywords will help you get started in the library catalog and databases as well as on the web:

positive psychology
flow
happiness
collective happiness
eudaimonia
positive emotions
subjective well-being
resilience

Some Experts and Researchers

Search the Gale Virtual Reference Library or Credo Reference for terms, people, concepts, e.g.: "Happiness," "Aristotle," or "Positive Psychology"

Gale eBooks - Tunxis Campus This link opens in a new window Gale eBooks collection includes a variety of topics and subjects.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics.  With 750+ searchable, full-text titles, Credo Reference places particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.

Most books on the study of happiness may be found in the following sections.

B 187 (Philosophy)
BF 575 (Psychology)
BJ 1480-1486 (Ethics)

Happiness Research Institute
World Happiness Report
Happiness and Life Satisfaction
But how can happiness be measured? Are there reliable comparisons of happiness across time and space that can give us clues regarding what makes people declare themselves ‘happy’?