Print Citation Guides in the Library
The Chicago Manual of Style by
The venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar--an indispensable reference informing the editorial canon with sound, definitive advice. Now in its 18th edition! More than 1.75 million copies sold! Much has happened in the years since the publication of the seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. The world has transformed, and the Manual has risen to meet the moment. The eighteenth edition of this classic guide for writers, editors, and publishers is the most extensive revision in two decades. Every chapter has been reexamined with diversity and accessibility in mind, and major changes include updated and expanded coverage of pronoun use and inclusive language, revised guidelines on capitalization, a broader range of examples, new coverage of Indigenous languages, and expanded advice on making publications accessible to people with disabilities. The Manual's traditional focus on nonfiction has been expanded to include fiction and other creative genres in coverage of topics such as punctuation and dialogue, and the needs of self-published authors receive wider attention. The citation chapters have been thoroughly reorganized for the benefit of new and experienced users alike, and the key concepts for editing mathematics have been integrated into the chapters where they will be most useful to generalists. Evolving technologies--from open-access publishing models to AI--are covered throughout. And naturally, there are some well-considered updates to familiar rules, including changes intended to align the Manual's recommendations more closely with real-world usage. As with every new edition, devotees of the Manual will find much to discover and ponder.
ISBN: 9780226817972Publication Date: 2024-09-19
What is a Citation, Anyway?
In your academic work you are expected to provide references to the sources of information you used. These references are called citations. A list of citations is referred to as a bibliography. Providing citations serves several purposes:
- You show where you got the ideas, text, or images for your paper. That is being academically honest!
- Your bibliography shows how credible your work is, depending on the quality of sources you used.
- Your readers can locate the sources you consulted and follow your research trail.
Not your very own thoughts or ideas? Give credit to the original author(s) by citing each of your sources of information!
Using someone's work and not giving credit is considered PLAGIARISM. Learn more about why you must avoid it!
Which citation style should I use?
Which citation style should I use?
Here are some general guidelines, but always check with your instructor first:
MLA: Humanities (Art, Literature, Philosophy)
APA: Social Sciences (Business, Criminal Justice, Geography, Psychology)
Chicago: History (American History, World History)
APA, MLA, Chicago?
Please note that you may contact the English Lab for additional assistance with citation styles.
Parts of a Citation
Ask your instructor what citation style to use. The example below is a citation for a journal article in MLA style that was found in a research database.
Here is a sample APA citation:
How Do I Make a Hanging Indent in Word?
How do I make a hanging indent in Word?
1. Highlight the citation with your cursor.
2. Right click.
3. Select Paragraph.
4. Under Indentation, select Special and Hanging.
APA Help Online
-
Purdue OWL: APA FormattingExplains in detail how to cite in APA style.
How Do I Create An APA TItle Page with Running Head?
MLA Help Online
-
Using MLA Format at the MLA Style Guide website
-
Purdue OWL: Sample Works Cited Page
Most Library Databases have built in citation tools. Ask a Librarian.
Chicago Style
-
This website also offers a citation quick guide and a student FAQ page that have many examples.
Most Library Databases have built in citation tools. Ask a Librarian.
Free Online Citation Tools
ZoteroBib- MLA8, APA, Chicago, Turabian and many others: no registration required.
Citation Machine - MLA8, APA, Chicago: no registration required
Citation Builder - from North Carolina State University LibrariesCitation Game
This game by the University of Washington will help you practice your citation skills in APA or MLA.