Use TUNXIS SEARCH for Articles, Books, E-books, DVDs, Audiobooks, and other items.
Sign-in with your NetID and password
Some suggested searches:
facial recognition AND (law enforcement OR police)
(texting OR social media) AND (depression OR mental health)
video games AND violence
(internet OR behavioral) AND addiction AND DSM
robotics AND ethics
OR
"social robotics" AND ethics AND elder care (surgery, law enforcement, etc whichever you are focusing on)
Pro/Con Resources
Finding History of a Topic
*Start by finding background information
*Listen to the conversation first
*Uncover the discussion
- Gale eBooks - Tunxis Campus This link opens in a new window Gale eBooks collection includes a variety of topics and subjects.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics. With 750+ searchable, full-text titles, Credo Reference places particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window The Oxford English Dictionary is the world's leading authority on the history and development of the English language since 1150. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, sometimes from as far back as the 11th century, and of the language—traced through 3.5 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts, song lyrics, and social media posts.
Try Statista to Find Data and Statistics
Statista is a service that aggregates data sets from over 18,000 public and proprietary sources. Statista sources cover business and industry as well as education, political and social issues. The service also provides tools that allow you to create beautiful charts that can be downloaded as PDF, Excel, PowerPoint, or graphics formats.
- Statista This link opens in a new window Use Statista for immediate access to over one million statistics and facts. Statista is an online platform specialized in market and consumer data, which offers statistics and reports, market insights, consumer insights and company insights in German, English, Spanish and French. Additional modules include Company Insights, Ecommerce Insights, Consumer Insights. The reports, charts, infographics, and statistics found in the database can be viewed online or downloaded.
Citations? HELP!
According to the Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary, to "plagiarize" means
- to steal and pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one's own
- to use (another's production) without crediting the source
- to commit literary theft
- to present as new and original an idea or product derived from an existing source.
In other words, plagiarism is an act of fraud. It involves both stealing someone else's work and lying about it afterward.
Click on the links below for help with citations