ARTnews covers art from ancient to contemporary times. It includes news dispatches from correspondents, investigative reports, reviews of exhibitions, and profiles of artists and collectors.
The Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art
The Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art is home to a collection of nearly 50,000 works of art, spanning 5,000 years and encompassing European art from antiquity to contemporary as well as American art from the 1600s through today.
The New Britain Museum of American Art
The New Britain Museum of American Art exclusively features American works of art, with particular strengths in colonial portraiture, the Hudson River School, American Impressionism, the Ash Can School, and the mural series The Arts of Life in America by Thomas Hart Benton.
Hill-Stead is the first architectural project of Theodate Pope Riddle (1867-1946), fourth registered female architect in the country, early proponent of historic preservation, and caretaker of the family art collection. Designed as a country home for Theodate’s parents, Alfred and Ada Pope, the mansion features Impressionist paintings, including works by Mary Cassatt, Edgar Degas, Édouard Manet, Claude Monet, and James McNeill Whistler. A print collection spanning 400 years and including pieces by Albrecht Dürer, Giovanni Battista Piranesi, Jean-François Millet and Japanese woodblock artists Hokusai, Hiroshige and Utamaro rounds out the collection.
Real Art Ways is an alternative multidisciplinary arts organization that presents and supports contemporary artists and their work, facilitates the creation of new work and creatively engages, builds and informs audiences and communities.
Founded in 2012, Five Points Gallery presents exhibition of regional, national and international artists.
Hyperallergic is an online arts magazine, a source for the latest in film, visual art, books, and performances around the world.
Smarthistory features videos and essays on art and cultural history from the Paleolithic era to the 21st century that include the art of Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and Oceania.
Art21 produces features focusing exclusively on contemporary visual art and artists throughout the world, including the Peabody Award-winning biennial series "Art in the Twenty-First Century." Intimate footage allows the viewer to observe the artists at work and watch their process as they transform inspiration into art.
The Bradshaw Foundation is a non-profit organization which provides an online learning resource. Its main areas of focus are archeology, anthropology and genetic research, and its primary objective is to discover, document and preserve ancient rock art around the world, and promote the study of early humankind’s artistic achievements.
The Guggenheim Collection Online presents a searchable database of selected artworks from the Guggenheim’s permanent collection of approximately 8,000 artworks from the late 19th century through the present day.
This site gives access to several of the museum's exhibition rooms and galleries.
MassMoCA
MASS MoCA is one of the world’s liveliest centers for making and enjoying today’s most evocative art. With vast galleries and a stunning collection of indoor and outdoor performing arts venues, MASS MoCA is able to embrace all forms of art: music, sculpture, dance, film, painting, photography, theater, and new, boundary-crossing works of art that defy easy classification.
Google Arts & Culture is an online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative's partner museums.