Skip to Main Content
Housatonic Campus Library
Database Articles, Images, and Video
Britannica ImageQuest - Housatonic Campus This link opens in a new window
Search images for a vast number of artists, art objects, and architectural sites.
"One Resource, Over 3 Million Images, Many Uses! Britannica ImageQuest brings lesson plans, assignments and projects to life with over three million images from 62 leading collections…and growing! The Bridgeman Art Gallery, Getty Images, the Science Photo Library, Ingram Publishing, the National Geographic Society and other trusted image sources have joined with Britannica to provide the best and broadest offering of curriculum-relevant imagery and clip art materials (infographics, signs and symbols, graphic concepts and cool vector illustrations), all rights-cleared for educational, non-commercial use. Also available in Arabic, French, Japanese, Portuguese, Spanish, Turkish and Welsh!"
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor features millions of high-quality images and media from some of the world's top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else. Artstore has Open Access collections from partner museums freely available to all, in areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and educational purposes. All content in Artstor is rights-cleared for education and research.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
The Grove Dictionary of Art is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of the visual arts, with 30,000 signed and peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 international scholars. Grove Art features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images made available through partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations.
In Context: World History This link opens in a new window
A range of topics such as Aztecs, Industrial Revolution, Silk Road, the Buddha, Space Race, and more provide a wide perspective across the globe. Rare primary sources, reliable reference, and multimedia content are aligned to curriculum and put this vast subject into context for students. World History is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: U.S. History for users with access to both resources. Under Browse All Topics you will see options to select Countries, Cultures, or Events, Periods, and Cultural Trends.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
...provides access to full-text articles from journals, magazines, and other valuable resources. A good "go to" database for many topics, with default advanced searching to help you pinpoint your search.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
A streaming video service that provides access to over 38,000 instructional and documentary videos from producers such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, HBO, CNBC News, ABC News, PBS, BBC, Cengage Learning, Meridian, and others. Included are videos and segments that can help you explore an artist or art form and gather relevant information whether from historical or modern times. (See also VIDEO tab)
