Click here to access the library's databases:
A database is a searchable online collection of information. Think of searching in a database like searching through an online library catalog like Housatonic Search. Unlike the library catalog however, a database typically has a more specific or narrower range of subjects it collects sources about. This range is called the scope of the database. Some databases are designed for specific fields of study like Psychology and mostly contain scholarly articles, while other databases specialize in newspaper articles, or collect official business documents like company reports.
Keep reading to learn how to choose the best databases for your research topic!
After you've identified a research topic or question, you can choose a database to explore based on the nature of your interest in that topic. In other words, what's your angle? Whose opinions or data do you want to consult? For example, if you're writing a Psychology research paper you're going to want information published by professional psychologists, so PsycInfo, PsycArticles, or Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection would be great databases for you!
The database you choose will be based on whether the scope of the database (aka the range of materials it has) includes your topic and the perspective you're looking at it from. Many databases are Subject-Based with content that falls into broad categories like Literature, History, Health, etc.
While there's no single right answer for choosing a database, the library makes it easy to choose a database by subject on the A-Z Databases page by using the "All Subjects" drop-down menu.
If you prefer a more general database, you can use the All Subjects drop-down menu to select "Multidisciplinary Database." These databases are more broad and will most likely cover the topic you are researching, but they might not have the depth of information you are seeking.
Remember that you're never married to one single database for a search! Feel free to experiment with Multidisciplinary and Subject-Based Databases, collecting sources from both when it is useful.