Image Databases
- Artstor This link opens in a new window Artstor features millions of high-quality images and media from some of the world's top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else. Artstore has Open Access collections from partner museums freely available to all, in areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and educational purposes. All content in Artstor is rights-cleared for education and research.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window The Grove Dictionary of Art is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of the visual arts, with 30,000 signed and peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 international scholars. Grove Art features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images made available through partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations.
Image Collections from the Library's E-Reference Shelf
Bridgeman Images: The Bridgeman Art LibraryA unique and comprehensive collection of art masterpieces of all varieties: historical, European, Asian, American, and more.
National Gallery CollectionHigh definition images with metadata from the National Gallery, London
Local Museums
- Yale University Art GalleryNew Haven, CT / FREE Admission
- New Britain Museum of American ArtNew Britain, CT
- Wadsworth AtheneumHartford, CT
- The Metropolitan Museum of ArtNew York, NY
- Mattatuck MuseumWaterbury, CT