Browsing
In the Library of Congress Classification System, subclass PR corresponds to English Literature. Browse the following call number ranges for more titles:
| PR 451 - 469 | 19th Century Literary History and Criticism |
| PR 471 - 479 | 20th Century Literary History and Criticism |
| PR 3991 - 5990 | 19th century works, 1770/1800-1890/1900 |
| PR 1119-1151 | Collections of English Literature by Period |
NV-Search
This box will search the NV Campus Library's Print and Ebook holdings. Search by
keyword, i.e. "nature poetry"
title, i.e. "The Importance of Being Earnest"
or author, i.e. "Bronte, Emily"
Selected Books & Ebooks: Romantic Period
Selected Books & Ebooks: Romantic Period
A Concise Companion to the Romantic Age by A Concise Companion to the Romantic Age provides new perspectives on the relationships between literature and culture in Britain from 1780 to 1830 Provides original essays from a variety of multi-disciplinary scholars on the Romantic era Includes fresh insights into such topics as religious controversy and politics, empire and nationalism, and the relationship of Romanticism to modernist aesthetics Ranges across the Romantic era's literary, visual, and non-fictional genres
Women's Writing of the Romantic Period, 1789-1836 by Call Number: PR 1110 .W6 W69 1997This ground-breaking anthology brings together a wide selection of women's writing from the Romantic period (excluding fiction and drama), most of which is unavailable elsewhere. These include writings by well-known women authors such as Mary Wollstonecraft, Maria Edgeworth, Harriet Martineau,Mary Shelley and Dorothy Wordsworth, as well as the less well known. Covering a representative range of public and private genres from poetry, critical essays, travel literature and political commentary to diaries and journals, the texts are arranged chronologically and are accompanied by introductions, chronologies, guides to the authors and works, textual notes andfurther reading. Care has been taken to balance extracts and complete texts.
Reading Romantic Poetry by Reading Romantic Poetry introduces the major themes and preoccupations, and the key poems and players of a period convulsed by revolution, prolonged warfare and political crisis. Provides a clear, lively introduction to Romantic Poetry, backed by academic research and marked by its accessibility to students with little prior experience of poetry. Deepens understanding of poems through awareness of their literary, historical, political and personal contexts Includes the major poets of the period, Blake, Wordsworth, Coleridge, Byron, Shelley, Keats, Burns and Clare -as well as a host of less familiar writers, including women
Selected Books & Ebooks: Victorian Period
Selected Books & Ebooks: Victorian Period
The Most Dreadful Visitation by Victorian literature is rife with scenes of madness, with mental disorder functioning as everything from a simple plot device to a commentary on the foundations of Victorian society. But while madness in Victorian fiction has been much studied, most scholarship has focused on the portrayal of madness in women; male mental disorder in the period has suffered comparative neglect. Valerie Pedlar corrects this imbalance in The 'Most Dreadful Visitation.' This extraordinary study explores a wide range of Victorian writings to consider the relationship between the portrayal of mental illness in literary works and the portrayal of similar disorders in the writings of doctors and psychologists.
Catholic Sensationalism and Victorian Literature by Catholic Sensationalism and Victorian Literature offers a highly original examination of Victorian sensationalism through the exploration of popular literary representations of Roman Catholicism, that exotic, corrupt religious Other which is inscribed as the implacable anti-English enemy. The book demonstrates how new understandings of cultural tensions of the period are gained through the association of Roman Catholicism with secular fears of crime, sex and violence, rather than with theological 'excesses' and doctrinal 'superstitions'.
A New Companion to Victorian Literature and Culture by A New Companion to Victorian Literature and Culture offers experienced guidance to the literature of nineteenth-century Britain and its social and historical context. Divided into five parts, this new companion surveys seven decades of history before examining the keys phases in a Victorian life, the leading professions and walks of life, the major Victorian literary genres, and the way Victorians defined their persons, their homes, and their national identities. Important topics such as sexuality, denominational faith, social class, and global empire inform each chapter's approach. Each chapter provides a comprehensive bibliography of established and emerging scholarship.
A Companion to the Victorian Novel by Victorian novels remain enormously popular today: some continue to be made into films, while authors such as Charles Dickens and George Eliot are firmly established in the canon and taught at all levels. These works have also attracted a great deal of critical attention, with much current scholarship examining the novel in relation to its historical, political, and cultural contexts. This reference book is an introductory guide to the Victorian novel, its background, and its legacy. Each chapter is written by an expert contributor and offers a fresh account of past, current, and new directions in scholarship. The volume is divided into several broad sections, with chapters in each section treating more specialized topics. The first section looks at the emergence of the Victorian novel and its literary precursors, with particular emphasis on the growth of serialization and the development of the novel of syndication. The second explores significant social and cultural facets of nineteenth-century British literature, while the third discusses the principal features of different genres, such as ghost stories, the Gothic, detective fiction, the social problem novel, and contemporary film adaptations. Individual authors are examined in the fourth section, while the fifth overviews various critical approaches and their application to nineteenth-century fiction.
Selected Books & Ebooks: Early 20th Century
Selected Books & Ebooks: Early 20th Century
The English Novel in History, 1895-1920 by Written especially for students and assuming no prior knowledge of the subject, David Trotter's "The English Novel in History 1895-1920" provides a comprehensive introduction to early 20th-century fiction This study embraces the whole range of early 20th-century fiction, from avant-garde innovations to popular mass-market genres. Separate sections are devoted to James, Conrad, Kipling, Bennett, Lawrence, Lewis, and Joyce. It establishes a classification of literary styles in the period. Based on this classification, it offers an account of the subject-matters which preoccupied writers of all kinds: gender, race, nationality, sexual psychology, production and consumption. "The English Novel in History" aims to redefine our understanding of literary Modernism, and should be useful reading for all students of modern English literature.
Literary Modernism, Bioscience, and Community in Early 20th Century Britain by This book examines the relationship between the literary and bioscientific cultures of the period as a means of exploring the ways in which the comprehension and representation of the human body fundamentally shapes a variety of the period's communal and national visions.
Author Biographies
Author Biographies
To locate additional author biographies, do a keyword search in the Library's catalog using the author's name.
Oscar Wilde: A Certain Genius by Call Number: PR 5823 .B346 2000
Dreams of Exile: Robert Louis Stevenson - A Biography by Call Number: PR5493.B4 1993
Joseph Conrad: Achievement and Decline by Call Number: PR 6005 .O4Z784- A. E. Housman by Call Number: PR4809.H15H25
Requesting books from other CSCU Libraries
1. Ensure that you are signed in to NV Search so that you are able to see all available request options. For help signing in, see the Help page.
2. To search other institutions' Libraries, you must select the Consortium search scope. Click on the green magnifying glass in the search bar to make the drop-down menu appear. Select "Search all CSCU Libraries"
3. Enter your keywords or the title in the search box and hit enter or click on the magnifying glass to search.
4. Locate the title or titles you would like to request. If the book is in another library, it will say "Available at..." followed by the name of the institution. For example, Eastern Connecticut State University.
5. Click on the green text, "Available at," to see your request options. Click once again on "Available."
6. If the book is available to request, you will see a "Request" button like this one:
7. Make sure to set the correct pickup location (Naugatuck Valley Community College) and pickup library (Waterbury or Danbury Campus).
8. Click on the Request button to submit your request. You will receive email notification when the book arrives at the Library.