Suggested Article Databases
-
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window APA PsycInfo is a database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. The database also includes records from the 1600s and 1700s. This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
-
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with APA PsycArticles, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals (Coverage: 1894 - present; updated monthly). Specialty subjects include Psychiatry, Psychology, Psychopharmacology. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
-
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
Locate Articles
How to Locate and Cite Peer-Reviewed Articles from NVCC Databases
- Start by choosing a recommended databases from the box to the right, or go to the library homepage and click the access all Databases here.
- On the search page, you can add more databases with the Choose Databases link.
- Before you start searching, under Limit Your Results, make sure you click on Full Text, and Peer Reviewed. You may also want to set date limiters.
- Now you are ready to type keywords in the Search Fields. You can add more fields with the round plus sign. Keeping it simple is best at first. You can come back to this area and change things later if you need to.
- If there are special requirements to the types of articles you can use, you can add that as an additional keyword or keyword phrase.
- Here is an example of what your search screen might look like:
- Examine your Result List carefully. If there are too many, add another keyword or two.
When you find an article that seems good, click on the title and read the abstract. The description of methods should mention using a sample of humans as subjects.
Once you decide on an article, select the Cite tool for APA format. Copy and paste the citation into your References page. *The reference is computer generated, so it is always a good idea to double check the formatting. Click on the Citations tab for more information.*