EBOOKS Full Text
Understanding August Wilson
A comprehensive view of the plays of August Wilson. It looks at their thematic structure, places them within the context of American drama, and examines the distinctively African American experiences they dramatize. There are chapters on Fences and The Piano Lesson.
ISBN: 9781570032523Publication Date: 1999-04-04
Fifty Years of Hemingway Criticism by
..collection of essays that explore the many facets of Hemingway—his life, his contemporaries, and his creative output. ..these essays focus on... the short stories “The Undefeated,” “The Killers,” “Soldier’s Home,” and “A Clean Well-Lighted Place.”
ISBN: 9780810892842Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Nepantla Familias by
"A deeply meaningful collection that navigates important nuances of identity."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review 2021 Texas Book Festival Featured Book Nepantla Familias brings together Mexican American narratives that explore and negotiate the many permutations of living in between different worlds--how the authors or their characters create, or fail to create, a cohesive identity amid the contradictions in their lives. Nepantla--or living in the in-between space of the borderland--is the focus of this anthology. The essays, poems, and short stories explore the in-between moments in Mexican American life--the family dynamics of living between traditional and contemporary worlds, between Spanish and English, between cultures with traditional and shifting identities. In times of change, family values are either adapted or discarded in the quest for self-discovery, part of the process of selecting and composing elements of a changing identity. Edited by award-winning writer and scholar Sergio Troncoso, this anthology includes works from familiar and acclaimed voices such as David Dorado Romo, Sandra Cisneros, Alex Espinoza, Reyna Grande, and Francisco Cantú, as well as from important new voices, such as Stephanie Li, David Dominguez, and ire'ne lara silva. These are writers who open and expose the in-between places: through or at borders; among the past, present, and future; from tradition to innovation; between languages; in gender; about the wounds of the past and the victories of the present; of life and death. Nepantla Familias shows the quintessential American experience that revives important foundational values through immigrants and the children of immigrants. Here readers will find a glimpse of contemporary Mexican American experience; here, also, readers will experience complexities of the geographic, linguistic, and cultural borders common to us all. Includes the work of David Dorado Romo Reyna Grande Francisco Cantú Rigoberto González Alex Espinoza Domingo Martinez Oscar Cásares Lorraine M. López David Dominguez Stephanie Li Sheryl Luna José Antonio Rodríguez Deborah Paredez Diana Marie Delgado Diana López Severo Perez Octavio Solis ire'ne lara silva Rubén Degollado Helena María Viramontes Daniel Chacón Matt Mendez
ISBN: 9781623499631Publication Date: 2021-04-21
A New Handbook of Literary Terms by
..informative guide to words and concepts that every student of literature needs to know.
ISBN: 9780300106367Publication Date: 2007-06-01
The Literary Theory Handbook by
The Literary Theory Handbook introduces students to the history and scope of literary theory, showing them how to perform literary analysis, and providing a greater understanding of the historical contexts for different theories. A new edition of this highly successful text, which includes updated and refined chapters, and new sections on contemporary theories Far reaching in its inclusion of a detailed history of theory and in-depth discussions of major theories and movements Four distinct perspectives on theory--historical, thematic, biographical, practical--are carefully intertwined, so that key concepts, terms and ideas are developed in different contexts and cross-referenced, in the text and in the index. Includes alphabetically-arranged biographies designed for quick reference, and sample readings to illustrate the practical application of theory
ISBN: 9781118332474Publication Date: 2013-05-20
The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science by
Edited by high caliber experts, and contributed to by quality researchers and practitioners in psychology and related fields. Includes over 500 topical entries Each entry features suggested readings and extensive cross-referencing Accessible to students and general readers Edited by two outstanding scholars and clinicians
Publication Date: 2004-04-26
MORE EBOOKS
The Wiley Guide to Writing Essays about Literature by
This outstanding practical guide to writing analytical essays on literature develops interpretive skills through focused exercises and modeled examples. The program is tailored to meet the specific needs of beginning undergraduates. Features unique, detailed guidance on paragraph structure Includes sample essays throughout to model each stage of the essay-writing process Focused exercises develop the techniques outlined in each chapter Dedicated checklists enable quick, accurate assessment by teachers and students Enhanced glossary with advice on usage added to core definitions
ISBN: 9781118571484Publication Date: 2013-07-29
On Revision by
A trusted editor turns his attention to the most important part of writing: revision. So you've just finished writing something? Congratulations! Now revise it. Because revision is about getting from good to better, and it's only finished when you decide to stop. But where to begin? In On Revision, William Germano shows authors how to take on the most critical stage of writing anything: rewriting it. For more than twenty years, thousands of writers have turned to Germano for his insider's take on navigating the world of publishing. A professor, author, and veteran of the book industry, Germano knows what editors want and what writers need to know: Revising is not just correcting typos. Revising is about listening and seeing again. Revising is a rethinking of the principles from the ground up to understand why the writer is doing something, why they're going somewhere, and why they're taking the reader along with them. On Revision steps back to take in the big picture, showing authors how to hear their own writing voice and how to reread their work as if they didn't write it. On Revision will show you how to know when your writing is actually done--and, until it is, what you need to do to get it there.
ISBN: 9780226410654Publication Date: 2021-11-05
A Reader's Companion to the Short Story in English by
While the short story has existed in various forms for centuries, it has particularly flourished during the last hundred years, and especially in recent decades. Though many outstanding novels have been written in the 20th century, most of these writers have also published short fiction.
Publication Date: 2000-12-30
Handbook of Moral Motivation by
..appraisal of the age-old question about motivation to do the good and to prevent the bad.
Publication Date: 2013-06-12
Envy Theory by
Envy arouses questions about fairness and unequal distribution of resources. Scavenging for hidden treasures and exploiting the acquisition of what is perceived to be free also imply underlying envy and greed. Envy, in isolation, can be destructive to psychological processes. Endowments of envy, however, are not as bleak and unsparing as they at first may appear. Envy, recognized and intelligently managed, transforms and may spur admiration, emulation, aspiration, empathy, and developmental advantages. Here, Ninivaggi offers a theory of envy and explores various ideas and concepts related to it. He proposes research paradigms for testability, advances principles and guidelines for pragmatic applications in psychotherapies and psychoeducation, and considers new paths for further discovery.
ISBN: 9781442205765Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Emotions by
Emotions: A Brief History investigates the history of emotions across cultures as well as the evolutionary history of emotions and of emotional development across an individual's life span. In clear and accessible language, Keith Oatley examines key topics such as emotional intelligence, emotion and the brain, and emotional disorders. Throughout, he interweaves three themes: the changes that emotions have undergone from the past to the present, the extent to which we are able to control our emotions, and the ways in which emotions help us discern the deeper layers of ourselves and our relationships.
ISBN: 9780470777114Publication Date: 2008-05-12
