Library: Northwestern Criminal Justice: Books &amp; eBooks

Why Books?

Books (digital or print) are excellent sources of IN-DEPTH background information. Don't think of these books as cover to cover novels you need to read all of- often it's one chapter or section that is useful for your topic. But what they do offer is a unique type of information that will be helpful for your research.

Northwestern Search

Recommended eBook Collections

CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window CQ Press provides the reference resources for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes access to the following collections: Congress Collection, CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine, Encyclopedia of American Government, Politics in America, Public Affairs Collection, Supreme Court Collection, Supreme Court Yearbook, Voting and Elections Collection.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics.  With 750+ searchable, full-text titles, Credo Reference places particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
Diversity & Ethnic Studies eBook Collection This link opens in a new window This subscription collection includes academic eBooks related to diversity, anti-racism, ethnic studies, disability studies, gerontology & age studies, migration studies, gender and sexuality studies, cultural studies, and religious studies. The collection utilizes outside resources and scholarship to ensure that the collection remains up to date and aligned with current research.
EBSCO eBooks Academic Subscription Collection This link opens in a new window Access a cross-searchable, multidisciplinary library of over 210,000 high-quality, unlimited-user e-books from leading university presses and academic publishers such as Cambridge University Press, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Harvard University Press, John Wiley & Sons, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, State University of New York Press, Taylor & Francis, and University of California Press.  These ebooks cover a large section of academic subjects and new titles are added the collection continuously.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents and an Image Collection with photos, maps & flags. MasterFILE Premier provides full text for over 1,800 general interest, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural periodicals. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,500 periodicals.
Overdrive eBooks and AudioBooks This link opens in a new window The Overdrive platform provides access to popular fiction and non-fiction eBook and audiobook titles, as well as selected Public Domain titles from the Duke Classics Collection.  If you are looking for an additional free ebook and audiobook platform, please visit eGo using the Palace app.  
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window Access the new ninth edition of the MLA Handbook online through the library. Browse or search the book online, get citation examples, view sample papers.  This resource also includes the MLA Style 101 tutorial, MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature. 
SAGE eBooks This link opens in a new window Sage Academic eBooks Explore the ultimate Social Science eBook Collection of over 5,000 titles, including books on nursing and health, media, communication, social studies, politics and leadership.

Interlibrary Loan

Still Can’t Find What You Need? Try the Library’s Interlibrary Loan service:

Northwestern Campus Library

Northwestern Criminal Justice

Why Books?

Northwestern Search

Recommended eBook Collections

Interlibrary Loan