Library: Northwestern Medical Assisting: News &amp; Views &amp; Studies

Library Databases recommended for Nursing

CT State Northwestern Library databases provide access to peer-reviewed research articles, news articles and more! The information found in these databases will likely be the bulk of your academic research!

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL is a database of citations and abstracts for journal articles and other materials on nursing, communication sciences and disorders, and allied health sciences. This authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health with more than 2,000,000 records dating back to 1981. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
Health Source: Nursing and Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It includes nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, and medical law. It also features the AHFS (American Hospital Formulary Service® Drug Information) Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.  View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video 
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.  Full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia; perfect for researchers at all levels with more than 1,000 medical journals, periodicals, and articles from more than 2,200 general-interest publications, medical newspapers, newsletters and news feeds and hundreds of streaming videos. 
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.  Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.  View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
MainFile This link opens in a new window MainFile multi-disciplinary database with coverage of all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. Includes more than 4,300 full-text magazines and journals and nearly 250 full-text newspapers and newswires, and over 2,900 full-text reference books and encyclopedias. A general interest database with full-text magazine articles, newspapers, and books. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as health, education, current events, technology and business. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents and an Image Collection with photos, maps & flags. MasterFILE Premier provides full text for over 1,800 general interest, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural periodicals. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,500 periodicals. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
ResearchIT CT OneSearch for Colleges & Universities This link opens in a new window Use this link to search all of Connecticut State Library researchIT CT resources all at once. View a complete list of all researchIT CT resources available to you including newspapers, magazines, journals, and more at this link. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window Current events database for social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and more. Full text sources include international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video

Northwestern Search

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

PubMed

PubMed® comprises more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content.

PubMed

But also consider!

Your topic may also benefit from these non-article sources as well!

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window A streaming video service that provides access to over 38,000 instructional and documentary videos from producers such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, HBO, CNBC News, ABC News, PBS, BBC, Cengage Learning, Meridian, and others.
Kanopy BASE Collection This link opens in a new window A collection of over 10,000 educational and feature films and documentaries in the Kanopy BASE collection range from core curricular subjects like Race and Class Studies, Sociology and Education, to subjects that cater to the whole student like Mental Health, Psychology and Health and Fitness. Many films on Kanopy—including from iconic suppliers like the BBC, NEON, Samuel Goldwyn Films, HISTORY, A&E, First Run Features Kino Lorber and IFC Films—are unavailable elsewhere.

Northwestern Campus Library

Northwestern Medical Assisting

Library Databases recommended for Nursing

Northwestern Search

Search Google Scholar

PubMed

But also consider!