Dr. Theresa Bouley, Education faculty member at Eastern Connecticut State University, recently wrote a book on microaggressions.
Implicit Bias An Educator's Guide to the Language of Microaggressions by
Anti-Racism by 
Covert Racism: Theories, Institutions, and Experiences by 
Dispossession: Discrimination Against African American Farmers in the Age of Civil Rights by 
Game of Privilege: An African American History of Golf by 
Good White People: The Problem with Middle-class White Anti-racism by 
Me and White Supremacy : Combat Racism, Change the World, and Become a Good Ancestor by 
Racism: A Short History by 
Racism and Resistance: How the Black Panthers Challenged White Supremacy by 
Reproducing Racism: How Everyday Choices Lock In White Advantage by 
Soul by Soul: Life Inside the Antebellum Slave Market by 
Systemic Racism: A Theory of Oppression by 
White Fragility: Why It's So Hard For White People To Talk About Racism by 
Bad Boys: Public Schools in the Making of Black Masculinity by 
Between the World and Me by 
Citizen: An American Lyric by 
Cold War Civil Rights: Race and the Image of American Democracy by 
The Color of Law: A Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America by 
Ferguson's Fault Lines: The Race Quake that Rocked a Nation by 
The Fire Next Time by 
Racist : Roots, Current Realities, and Future Reparations by 
So You Want to Talk about Race by 
Stamped from the Beginning by 
The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America's Great Migration by ally, anti-Black, anti-racism, assimilation, bigotry, "critical race theory", "cultural appropriation", "cultural racism", decolonization, discrimination, "implicit bias", "individual racism", "institutional racism", intersectionality, "interpersonal racism", microaggression, "model minority", oppression, prejudice, post-racial, racism, "racial colorblindness" "restorative justice", "structural racism", tokenism, "white fragility", "white privilege", "white supremacy", whiteness
About Race with Reni Eddo-Lodge
From the author behind the bestselling Why I’m No Longer Talking to White People About Race, comes a podcast that takes the conversation a step further. Featuring key voices from the last few decades of anti-racist activism, About Race with Reni Eddo-Lodge looks at the recent history that lead to the politics of today.
Code Switch is a weekly podcast from National Public Radio (NPR) hosted by multi-racial, multi-generational team of journalists who explore the intersecting themes of race, ethnicity and culture.
Hosted by writer Rebecca Carroll, this NPR series features 15 conversations about race over a number of issues, from climate change to employment to healthcare.
Minnesota Public Radio podcast that examines race, identity, social justice and culture in a region grappling with demographic changes.
Dear White Women is an award-winning weekly podcast dedicated to starting real discussions for (busy) people who wish they knew more about race, identity, and happiness in the United States.
Hosted by journalist Vann R. Newkirk II, Floodlines is an 8-episode series that explores the chaotic aftermath of the Hurricane Katrina in New Orleans.
An interview series with change-makers & culture-shapers exploring what it means to be a good ancestor. Hosted by globally respected speaker, anti-racism educator, and New York Times bestselling author of Me and White Supremacy, Layla F. Saad.
Hosted by visionary Jamil Smith, this podcast examines identity through various points of intersection. Race, gender, socioeconomic status–these are just some of the points of intersection that Smith explores in order to help others gain a greater understanding of themselves. He also includes discussions with journalists, activists, politicians, and everyday people. This podcast is the real deal!
Intersectionality is a theoretical framework for understanding how aspects of a person's social and political identities, such as their gender, race, class, sexuality, and ability, might combine to create unique modes of discrimination. Hosted by Kimberlé Crenshaw, the scholar who coined the term and is a leading scholar of critical race theory, this podcast seeks to examine at instersectinality in real life.
Justice In America is a podcast that examines the historical context of the modern American criminal justice ystem. Hosted by journalist and lawyer Josie Duffy Rice and guests seek to unpack buzzwords and termniology to help listeners understand the linkages between criminal justice, Jim Crow, and slavery.
This podcast, which is a project from the Equal Justice Initiative, brings stories from generations impacted by the history of lynching in the United States
Mapping the African American Past (MAAP)
Mapping the American Past (MAAP), a project from Columbia University, illustrates places and moments that have shaped the long history of African Americans in New York City.
Momentum: A Race Forward Podcast
Features movement voices, stories, and strategies for racial justice. Co-hosts Chevon and Hiba give their unique takes on race and pop culture, and uplift narratives of hope, struggle, and joy, as we continue to build the momentum needed to advance racial justice in our policies, institutions, and culture. Build on your racial justice lens and get inspired to drive action by learning from organizational leaders and community activists.
On Pod Save the People, organizer and activist DeRay Mckesson explores news, culture, social justice, and politics with fellow activists Brittany Packnett Cunningham and Sam Sinyangwe, and writer Dr. Clint Smith. They offer a unique take on the news, with a special focus on overlooked stories and topics that often impact people of color.
Speaking of Racism
A podcast dedicating to honest discussion on race and racism, and celebrating everyday activists who are disrupting, deconstructing, and dismantling racism.
Still Processing
New York Times culture writers Wesley Morris and Jenna Wortham look at the pleasures and pathologies of 2020 America through popular culture from TV to art to the internet
What we don’t know about American slavery hurts us all. From Teaching Tolerance and host Hasan Kwame Jeffries, Associate Professor of African American History at The Ohio State Univeristy, Teaching Hard History brings us the lessons we should have learned in school through the voices of leading scholars and educators. It’s good advice for teachers, good information for everybody.
In August of 1619, a ship appeared on this horizon, near Point Comfort, a coastal port in the English colony of Virginia. It carried more than 20 enslaved Africans, who were sold to the colonists. No aspect of the country that would be formed here has been untouched by the years of slavery that followed. On the 400th anniversary of this fateful moment, it is finally time to tell our story truthfully.
This New York Times six-part audio series hosted by investigative reporter Nikole Hannah-Joneson, explores how slavery transformed America, connecting past and present.
When it comes to diversity, good intentions are only the beginning. Join author and activist Bethaney Wilkinson as she explores the gap between good intentions and good impact as it relates to diversity, inclusion and equity. On The Diversity Gap podcast, we'll be learning from thought leaders, authors, creatives and more about the diversity gaps in society and culture. Our goal is to discover promising practices for closing diversity gaps in our everyday lives and work!
The History of American Slavery
With the help of acclaimed historians and writers, Rebecca Onion and Jamelle Bouie explore the history of American slavery and examine how the institution came to shape our country’s politics, economy, and culture.
The Nod tells the stories of Black life that don’t get told anywhere else. Our show ranges from an explanation of purple drink’s association with Black culture to the story of an interracial drag troupe that traveled the nation in the 1940s. We celebrate the genius, the innovation, and the resilience that is so particular to being Black — in America, and around the world
This podcast digs into stories that are not always shared out in the open. Hosts Leila Day and Hana Baba start conversations and provide professionally-reported stories about what it means to be black and how we talk about blackness. Come hang out on The Stoop as we dialog about the diaspora.
Hby Andrew Ti, creator of the popular blog of the same name, is now a weekly podcast! Every Wednesday, Ti, co-host Tawny Newsome, and their guests answer questions from fan-submitted voicemails and emails about whether or not something is, in fact, racist.
The Danger of a Single Story
Racism Has a Cost for Everyone
How to Deconstruct Racism, One Headline at a Time
An Artist's Unflinching Look at Racial Violence
Click here for more TED talks on race and racism
Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Man
13th (Full Length Feature Film)
An online, interactive multi-media project from journalist Nikole Hannah-Jones of the The New York Times Magazine published over the course of 2019 to coincide with the 400th anniversary of the arrival of the first enslaved African peoples to the land that would become the United States.
The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record
The approximately 1,235 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public - in brief, anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World.
The Atlantic Slave Trade in Two Minutes
315 years. 20,528 voyages. Millions of lives. This interactive site from Slate seeks to illustrates the scale of the trans-Atlantic slave trade across time, as well as the flow of transport and eventual destinations
The Boston Public Library's Anti-Slavery collection contains roughly 40,000 pieces of correspondence, broadsides, newspapers, pamphlets, books, and memorabilia from the 1830s through the 1870s. This site provides researchers, students and the general public with the opportunity to look at and transcribe these important primary source documents.
Web-based reference center that is dedicated to the understanding of African-American history and the history the African Diaspora
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project (FWP) of the Works Progress Administration, later renamed Work Projects Administration (WPA).
The Civil Rights Act of 1964: A Long Struggle for Freedom
Digital portion of a physical Library of Congress exhibit on the events leading up to the passage of the landmark the 1964 Civil Rights Act
Renewing Inequality: Family Displacements through Urban Renewal, 1950-1966
This mapping project was developed by a team at the University of Richmond's Digital Scholarship Lab. The map and charts here show the number of families that cities reported displacing through federally-funded urban renewal programs between 1955 and 1966.
Developed by the Equal Justice Initiative this online calendar provides an "on the day" snapshot of racial injustice spanning over the 400 years of American history
Mapping the African American Past (MAAP)
Mapping the American Past (MAAP), a project from Columbia University, illustrates places and moments that have shaped the long history of African Americans in New York City.
A project from University of Minnesota that explores the long term impacts of race-based and discriminatory housing codes
Mapping Inequality: Redlining in New Deal America
A joint project between University of Richmond, Virginia Tech, University of Maryland, and Duke University that seeks to provide access to an interactive representation of the national collection of “security” maps and area descriptions produced by the Home Owners’ Loan Corporation between 1935 and 1940 that were used in the racially discriminating process known as "redlining".
This is collaborative research project that collects comprehensive data on police killings nationwide to quantify the impact of police violence in communities
The Massacre of Black Wall Street
Digital comic illustration project from the Atlantic magazine and HBO. The comic focuses on the attack by white rioters in 1921 on the Black Tulsa neighborhood of Greenwood
North American Slave Narratives
The North American Slave Narratives" collects books and articles that document the individual and collective story of African Americans struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries. This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920. Also included are many of the biographies of fugitive and former slaves and some significant fictionalized slave narratives published in English before 1920.
Making all zines by people of color easy to find, distribute, and share. An experiment in activism and community through materiality.
This multi-media web site from the University of Washington compiles and documents the history of the civil rights movement in Seattle nts, movement histories, and personal biographies, more than 300 pages in all.
The Seneca Village Project is dedicated to the study of a 19th-century African-American and Irish-immigrant community that was located in today's Central Park in New York City. The goal of the project is to conduct further research on the site and to commemorate it in an educational context. The Seneca Village Project includes several integrated components: archaeological and archival research and education.
A Timeline of Events That Led to the Events That Led to the 2020 "Fed-Up'-rising
A selective complied by The Root timeline of some key events dating from 1619 up to the current protests
Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their Stories
The recordings of former slaves in Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their Stories took place between 1932 and 1975 in nine states. Twenty-three interviewees discuss how they felt about slavery, slaveholders, coercion of slaves, their families, and freedom. Several individuals sing songs, many of which were learned during the time of their enslavement. It is important to note that all of the interviewees spoke sixty or more years after the end of their enslavement, and it is their full lives that are reflected in these recordings. The individuals documented in this presentation have much to say about living as African Americans from the 1870s to the 1930s, and beyond.
An interactive investigation into how Americans who identify as white, or partially white, understand and experience their race.
Daily news site where race matters, featuring award-winning investigative reporting and news analysis. Published by Race Forward, a national organization that advances racial justice through research, media, and practice.
The Equal Justice Initiative is a non-profit organization, based in Montgomery, Alabama, that provides legal representation to prisoners who may have been wrongly convicted of crimes, poor prisoners without effective representation, and others who may have been denied a fair trial.
The Southern Poverty Law Center is an American nonprofit legal advocacy organization specializing in civil rights and public interest litigation.