Skip to Main Content

Anti-racism Resources

This guide explores the causes and impacts of racism and how to be anti-racist.

Bibliography

act.tv. (2019, April 16). Systemic racism explained [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YrHIQIO_bdQ&feature=youtu.be

act.tv. (2020, July 1). Understanding the racist roots of police violence [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LC1vMTMftgo&feature=youtu.be

Adams, L. (2016, December 5). Central Park was once Seneca Village, home to a thriving free Black Community. Atlas Obscura. https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/central-park-was-once-seneca-village-home-to-a-thriving-free-black-community?fbclid=IwAR2q8brcltE_erxbjOZ7-HC9YBae8FyLWmpNYhGtbE3XCegcsYNWH1nFe5w

Adams, M., Bell, L. A., & Griffin, P. (1997). Teaching for diversity and social justice: A sourcebook. Routledge.

A different Asian American timeline. (n.d.). ChangeLab. https://aatimeline.com/

AJ+. (2017, October 8). Why do we call Asian Americans the model minority? [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PrDbvSSbxk8&feature=youtu.be

AJ+. (2021, March 25). The roots of Anti-Asian racism [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yJI5veSM13Y&feature=youtu.be

American Experience, PBS. (2018a, May 8). United States v. Wong Kim Ark | The Chinese Exclusion Act [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6y487b7mQj0&feature=youtu.be

American Experience, PBS. (2018b, May 29). What was the impact of the Chinese Exclusion Act? | The Chinese Exclusion Act [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FbBatK7JWYc&feature=youtu.be

AmericanForum. (2015, April 2). Was 1960’s urban renewal “Negro Removal”? YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ooobb65pBW4&feature=youtu.be

Anti Chinese race riot. (2020, November 4). [Video]. PBS.Org. https://www.pbs.org/video/anti-chinese-race-riot-5urrth/

Ariel, C. (2020, May 29). For our white friends desiring to be allies. Sojourners. https://sojo.net/articles/our-white-friends-desiring-be-allies

Arizona State University. (2017, May 31). Asian American 101: “Positive” stereotypes cause harm: Arizona State University (ASU) [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9M7L5FWdY4U&feature=youtu.be

AsapScience. (2018, November 12). The science of racism | Creators for Change [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBWImda1Zig&feature=youtu.be

Asare, J. G. (2022, April 14). What is fetishization and how does it contribute to racism? Forbes. https://www.forbes.com/sites/janicegassam/2021/02/07/what-is-fetishization-and-how-does-it-contribute-to-racism/?sh=3363ef256e39

Asare, M. (2017, April 14). Debunking the myth of color blindness in a racist society –. The Bowdoin Orient. https://bowdoinorient.com/2017/04/13/debunking-the-myth-of-color-blindness-in-a-racist-society/

Ball, C. (2012, October 4). Tokenism, racial stereotypes & why we need more directors of color. MadameNoire. https://madamenoire.com/221507/tokenism-racial-stereotypes-why-we-need-more-directors-of-color/

Barndt, J. R. (1991). Dismantling racism: The continuing challenge to white America. Augsburg.

Berry, D. R. (2018, February 3). Opinion | Beyond the slave trade, the cadaver trade. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/2018/02/03/opinion/sunday/cadavers-slavery-medical-schools.html

Big Think. (2016, May 7). US Anti-Drug laws aren’t scientific — They’re colonialist and racist | Big Think [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jn5YyGzQ7SU&feature=youtu.be

Born in Slavery: Slave narratives from the Federal Writers’ Project, 1936 to 1938. (n.d.). The Library of Congress Digital Collections. https://www.loc.gov/collections/slave-narratives-from-the-federal-writers-project-1936-to-1938/

Boston Medical Center. (2020, April 27). COVID-19 and racism: Changing predictable outcomes | HealthCity [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QCwStGD7hbw&feature=youtu.be

Bouie, J., & Onion, R. (Host). (2019, October 10). The history of American slavery (Audio podcast). Slate Magazine. https://slate.com/podcasts/history-of-american-slavery

Britannica, T. Editors of Encyclopaedia (2019, August 20). black code. Encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/topic/black-code

Britannica, T. Editors of Encyclopaedia (2021, October 18). Japanese American internmentEncyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/event/Japanese-American-internment

Brown, D. (2017, May 16). ‘You’ve got bad blood’: The horror of the Tuskegee syphilis experiment. The Washington Post. https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/retropolis/wp/2017/05/16/youve-got-bad-blood-the-horror-of-the-tuskegee-syphilis-experiment/

Brownlee, D. (2019, October 18). The dangers of mistaking diversity for inclusion in the workplace. Forbes. https://www.forbes.com/sites/danabrownlee/2019/09/15/the-dangers-of-mistaking-diversity-for-inclusion-in-the-workplace/?sh=3a1b25c94d86

BuzzFeed. (2016, November 27). The largest lynching in US history [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UpZZf7K12pU&feature=youtu.be

Byrne, C. (2021, August 23). The BMI is racist and Useless. Here’s how to measure health instead. HuffPost UK. https://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entry/bmi-scale-racist-health_l_5f15a8a8c5b6d14c336a43b0?guccounter=1&guce_referrer=aHR0cHM6Ly90aGVtaWdodHkuY29tLzIwMjAvMDcvYm1pLW1lYXN1cmUtcmFjaXN0LXNleGlzdC1oYXJtaW5nLWJsYWNrLXdvbWVuLw&guce_referrer_sig=AQAAAKBhVjcPjNLx1-okvlqS4tlhmG3xj9t7EVGm7GLtTcA0Gh_Geb7DKws54RuKtQHO_XMvpc7Z8LcmQK_ldp6RXYoz0Oclp3rxWd4pXfLi4Pq6-xMx3_M4tDARZDTFtPP5hE2zDbv8LnzVIB31k4gwohqPp-OcxYQ6ccD9RIAJytCi

Cabison, R., & Chan, T. (2021, March 17). What you can do about Anti-Asian violence: ‘We are part of this country,’ activists say. Rolling Stone. https://www.rollingstone.com/culture/culture-news/asian-american-racism-violence-1127876/

Carolina Asia Center presents: “Yellow Peril” and Anti-Asian prejudice in the shadow of Coronavirus. (2020, May 19). [Video]. Vimeo. https://player.vimeo.com/video/420534366?title=0&byline=0&portrait=0

CBS News. (2020, March 2). Racial profiling 2.0 | Full documentary [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DAoe22-r-QQ&feature=youtu.be

Chang, Maggie, "Made in the USA: Rewriting Images of the Asian Fetish" (2006). Undergraduate Humanities Forum 2005-6: Word & Image. 6. https://repository.upenn.edu/uhf_2006/6

Chescaleigh. (2014, November 22). 5 tips for being an ally [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_dg86g-QlM0&feature=youtu.be

Coates, R. D. (2011). Covert racism: Theories, institutions, and experiences. Leiden: Brill.

Coates, T. (2014, June). The case for reparations. The Atlantic. https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2014/06/the-case-for-reparations/361631/

Cohen, A. (2015, August 12). How white users made heroin a public-health problem. The Atlantic. https://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2015/08/crack-heroin-and-race/401015/

Coleman, A. (2016). Theology, Race and Libraries.
Collins, S. (n.d.). LibGuides: Anti-Oppression: Anti-Racism. Retrieved May 9, 2022, from https://simmons.libguides.com/anti-oppression/anti-racism

Corsini, R. (2002;2016;2001;). The dictionary of psychology. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315781501

Dear Asian Youth. (2020, August 5). Discrimination against Asian Americans in history [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_pGBhjYajKA&feature=youtu.be

Debunking the model minority myth. (n.d.). USC Pacific Asia Museum. https://pacificasiamuseum.usc.edu/exhibitions/online-exhibitions/debunking-the-model-minority-myth/

Devine, P. G., & Elliot, A. J. (1995). Are racial stereotypes really fading? The Princeton trilogy revisited. Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin, 21(11), 1139–1150. https://doi.org/10.1177/01461672952111002
DiAngelo, R. J. (2016). What does it mean to be white? Developing white racial literacy (Revised edition). Peter Lang.

Do, A. (2021, March 16). Study shows rise in anti-Asian attacks during COVID-19. Los Angeles Times. https://www.latimes.com/california/story/2021-03-16/anti-asian-hate-pandemic

Douglas, L. (2017, June 26). African Americans have lost untold acres of land over the last century. The Nation. https://www.thenation.com/article/archive/african-americans-have-lost-acres/

Duma, N. (2018, December 13). “This Diversity Is Not Real”: How to tell if your program’s diversity is a hologram. Op-Med. https://opmed.doximity.com/articles/this-diversity-is-not-real-how-to-tell-if-your-program-s-diversity-is-a-hologram?_csrf_attempted=yes#:%7E:text=Tokenism%20is%20the%20word%20used,of%20diversity%20in%20an%20institution.&text=The%20problem%20with%20tokenism%20is,inclusion%20policies%20of%20the%20institution

Elias, S. (2015). Racism, overt. The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Nationalism, 1–3. https://doi.org/10.1002/9781118663202.wberen398

Elliott, M., & Hughes, J. (2021, November 9). A brief history of slavery that you didn’t learn in school. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2019/08/19/magazine/history-slavery-smithsonian.html?mtrref=cscu.libapps.com&gwh=AC16AA20DEDC9CDAD18BBCC099C5D618&gwt=pay&assetType=PAYWALL

Eminent Domain. (n.d.). LII / Legal Information Institute. https://www.law.cornell.edu/wex/eminent_domain

Emmanuel, A. (2016, April 10). 10 common expressions that are actually racist as hell. ATTN:. https://archive.attn.com/stories/6951/common-words-and-phrases-that-are-racist?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=rerun3&utm_campaign=reruns

Equal Justice Initiative. (2015, July 7). Slavery to Mass Incarceration [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r4e_djVSag4&feature=youtu.be

Eschner, K. (2017, December 19). This American doctor pioneered abdominal surgery by operating on enslaved women. Smithsonian Magazine. https://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/father-abdominal-surgery-practiced-enslaved-women-180967589/

Evans, A., Chun, E., & Cmaadmin (EDU). (2008, March 3). Demythologizing diversity in higher education. Diverse: Issues In Higher Education. https://www.diverseeducation.com/faculty-staff/article/15086765/demythologizing-diversity-in-higher-education

“Everyday Racism in America”: Watch MSNBC’s full town hall. (2021, May 27). [Video]. MSNBC. https://www.msnbc.com/msnbc/embedded-video/mmvo44407365845

Fitchburgh State University Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library. (2021, November 2). Research help: Anti-racism resources: Historical roots of american racism. Anti-Racism Resources. https://fitchburgstate.libguides.com/c.php?g=1046516&p=7739449

Fleetwood, N. R. (2020, August 7). Racist police practices like mug shots normalize the criminalization of Black Americans. NBC News. https://www.nbcnews.com/think/opinion/racist-police-practices-mug-shots-normalize-criminalization-black-americans-ncna1235694

Foderaro, L. W. (2013, February 7). Unearthing an African-American village displaced by Central Park. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/2011/07/28/nyregion/unearthing-an-african-american-village-displaced-by-central-park.html?_r=1

Ford, T., Reber, S., & Reeves, R. (2022, March 9). Race gaps in COVID-19 deaths are even bigger than they appear. Brookings. https://www.brookings.edu/blog/up-front/2020/06/16/race-gaps-in-covid-19-deaths-are-even-bigger-than-they-appear/

Fullilove, M. T., & Wallace, R. (2011). Serial forced displacement in American cities, 1916-2010. Journal of urban health : bulletin of the New York Academy of Medicine88(3), 381–389. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11524-011-9585-2

Gal, S., Kiersz, A., Mark, M., Su, R., & Ward, M. (2020, July 8). 26 simple charts to show friends and family who aren’t convinced racism is still a problem in America. Business Insider Nederland. https://www.businessinsider.nl/us-systemic-racism-in-charts-graphs-data-2020-6?international=true&r=US

GBH Forum Network. (2019, March 6). A study in medical and scientific racism in America [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTniVzGBj5w&feature=youtu.be

Gee, G. C., & Ford, C. L. (2011). Structural racism and health inequities: Old Issues, New Directions. Du Bois review : social science research on race8(1), 115–132. https://doi.org/10.1017/S1742058X11000130

Godfrey, B., & Soper, S. (2018, May 22). Prison records from 1800s Georgia show mass incarceration’s racially charged beginnings. The Conversation. https://theconversation.com/prison-records-from-1800s-georgia-show-mass-incarcerations-racially-charged-beginnings-96612

Gordon, K. (2019, July 23). Multiculturalism is better than colorblindness. Camp Kupugani. https://campkupugani.com/multiculturalism-better-colorblindness/

Graham, V. (2015, June 3). Urban Renewal. . .Means Negro Removal. ~ James Baldwin (1963) [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8Abhj17kYU&feature=youtu.be

Gramlich, J. (2021, August 18). America’s incarceration rate falls to lowest level since 1995. Pew Research Center. https://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2021/08/16/americas-incarceration-rate-lowest-since-1995/

Gross, T. (2017, May 3). A “Forgotten History” of how the U.S. government segregated America. NPR. https://choice.npr.org/index.html?origin=https://www.npr.org/2017/05/03/526655831/a-forgotten-history-of-how-the-u-s-government-segregated-america

Handler, J., & Lovejoy, H. (n.d.). Slavery Images: A visual record of the African slave trade and slave life in the early African diaspora. Slavery Images. http://slaveryimages.org/s/slaveryimages/page/welcome

Hannah-Jones, N. (2021, November 9). America wasn’t a democracy, until black Americans made it one. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2019/08/14/magazine/black-history-american-democracy.html?mtrref=cscu.libapps.com&gwh=667203557A3E266EF0A95506392EFA28&gwt=pay&assetType=PAYWALL

Hannah-Jones, N. (Host). (2020, June 10). 1619 [Audio podcast]. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/2020/01/23/podcasts/1619-podcast.html

Harris, T. W. (2017, January 27). The real work of being an ally. The Cut. https://www.thecut.com/2017/01/the-real-work-of-being-an-ally.html

Harris-Taylor, M. (2017, November 17). From overt to covert racism - How professional black women still suffer from a lingering legacy of bias [Video]. Ideastream Public Media. https://www.ideastream.org/news/from-overt-to-covert-racism-how-professional-black-women-still-suffer-from-a-lingering-legacy-of-bias

Health equity considerations and racial and ethnic minority groups. (2022, January 25). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/health-equity/race-ethnicity.html

History. (2019, February 7). Life aboard a slave ship | History [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PmQvofAiZGA&feature=youtu.be

Harris, A. M. (2017, January 10). Mandatory minimum sentencing. Bloomberg. https://www.bloomberg.com/tosv2.html?vid=&uuid=7cc81910-d6ab-11ec-a007-74536f426c58&url=L3F1aWNrdGFrZS9tYW5kYXRvcnktbWluaW11bS1zZW50ZW5jaW5n

Harris, D. (2020, January 21). Racial profiling: Past, present, and future? American Bar Association. https://www.americanbar.org/groups/criminal_justice/publications/criminal-justice-magazine/2020/winter/racial-profiling-past-present-and-future/

Hartman, T., Hart, S., Marte, J., & Schneider, H. (2020, July 16). The Race Gap: How U.S. systemic racism plays out in Black lives. Reuters. https://www.reuters.com/article/us-global-race-usa/the-race-gap-how-u-s-systemic-racism-plays-out-in-black-lives-idUSKCN24F1A0

Hawkins, B. D. (2017, April 5). Relatives of the men who endured the syphilis study speak out. NBC News. https://www.nbcnews.com/news/nbcblk/relatives-syphilis-study-break-their-silence-n742566

HBS Working Knowledge. (2014, August 18). The case against racial color blindness in the workplace. Forbes. https://www.forbes.com/sites/hbsworkingknowledge/2013/01/20/the-case-against-racial-colorblindness-in-the-workplace/?sh=24fdfbe36a6f

Henry, F., & Tator, C. (2006). Racial profiling in canada: Challenging the myth of 'A few bad apples'. University of Toronto Press. https://doi.org/10.3138/9781442678972

History. (2017, October 10). Japanese-American Internment During WWII [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cZTioTkHcB0&feature=youtu.be

Ho, V. (2021, March 17). Asian Americans reported 3,800 hate-related incidents during the pandemic, report finds. The Guardian. https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2021/mar/16/asian-americans-hate-incidents-pandemic-study

Hoffman, K. M., Trawalter, S., Axt, J. R., & Oliver, M. N. (2016). Racial bias in pain assessment and treatment recommendations, and false beliefs about biological differences between blacks and whites. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 113(16), 4296–4301. https://doi.org/10.1073/pnas.1516047113

Hoppe, T. (2018). “Spanish Flu”: When infectious disease names blur origins and stigmatize those infected. American Journal of Public Health, 108(11), 1462–1464. https://doi.org/10.2105/ajph.2018.304645

How to tell the difference between real solidarity and ‘Ally theater.’ (2017, February 16). Black Girl Dangerous. http://www.blackgirldangerous.com/2015/11/ally-theater/

Howard, J. (2020, December 18). Racism contributes to Covid-19’s “double whammy” impact on the Black community, Fauci says. CNN. https://edition.cnn.com/2020/06/23/health/coronavirus-pandemic-racism-fauci-bn/index.html

Hoyt, C. (2012). The Pedagogy of the Meaning of Racism: Reconciling a Discordant Discourse. Social Work, 57(3), 225–234. https://doi.org/10.1093/sw/sws009

HuffPost. (2015, September 1). “Reverse Racism” is a giant lie – here’s why [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-w0LFYhedo0&feature=youtu.be

iHeart Media. (2015, November 3). Stereotypology: Submissive China dolls [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vuqa1qj6MrA&feature=youtu.be

Illing, S. (2020, March 4). Coronavirus: why pandemics activate xenophobia. Vox. https://www.vox.com/policy-and-politics/2020/3/4/21157825/coronavirus-pandemic-xenophobia-racism

International Labor Office. (2001). International Migration, Racism, Discrimination and Xenophobia. https://www2.ohchr.org/english/issues/migration/taskforce/docs/wcar.pdf

Irving, D. (2016, July 20). Living with racial battle fatigue. Literary Hub. https://lithub.com/living-with-racial-battle-fatigue/

Isoymilk. (2020, June 5). DELETE YOUR BLACK SQUARES! | A lesson on performative allyship [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mKacJiUggFI&feature=youtu.be

Jezebel. (2020, February 22). Turn performative wokeness into allyship. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ms02RwM_oCI&feature=youtu.be

Jilani, Z. (2021, March 18). Why are Asian Americans being attacked and what can you do about it? Greater Good Magazine. https://greatergood.berkeley.edu/article/item/why_are_asian_americans_being_attacked_and_what_can_you_do_about_it

Johnson. (2020, June 18). Language is a telling clue to unacknowledged racial attitudes. The Economist. https://www.economist.com/books-and-arts/2020/06/12/language-is-a-telling-clue-to-unacknowledged-racial-attitudes

Kahn, A., & Bouie, J. (2021, September 16). The Atlantic slave trade in two minutes (Interactive map & timeline). Slate Magazine. https://slate.com/news-and-politics/2021/09/atlantic-slave-trade-history-animated-interactive.html

Kahn, A., & Kirk, C. (2015, August 10). There’s blatant inequality at nearly every phase of the criminal justice system. Business Insider. https://www.businessinsider.com/theres-blatant-inequality-at-nearly-every-phase-of-the-criminal-justice-system-2015-8?international=true&r=US&IR=T

Kain, E. (2011, October 27). The war on drugs is a war on minorities and the poor. Forbes. https://www.forbes.com/sites/erikkain/2011/06/28/the-war-on-drugs-is-a-war-on-minorities-and-the-poor/?sh=55a9eb2b624c

Kann, D. (2019, April 21). America still locks up more people than anywhere else in the world. CNN. https://edition.cnn.com/2018/06/28/us/mass-incarceration-five-key-facts/index.html

Kenny, S. (2015, June 11). How black slaves were routinely sold as ‘specimens’ to ambitious white doctors. The Conversation. https://theconversation.com/how-black-slaves-were-routinely-sold-as-specimens-to-ambitious-white-doctors-43074

King, N. (2020, July 1). What systemic racism means and the way it harms communities [Radio broadcast transcript]. NPR. https://choice.npr.org/index.html?origin=https://www.npr.org/2020/07/01/885878564/what-systemic-racism-means-and-the-way-it-harms-communities

Kolitz, D., & Ismail, A. (2015, December 16). The lingering effects of NYC’s racist city planning. Hopes&Fears. http://www.hopesandfears.com/hopes/now/politics/216905-the-lingering-effects-of-nyc-racist-city-planning

Kwong, E., Demby, G., & Ramirez, R. (2021, March 18). The U.S. has a history of linking disease with race and ethnicity [Audio broadcast transcript]. NPR. https://choice.npr.org/index.html?origin=https://www.npr.org/2021/03/18/978783879/the-u-s-has-a-history-of-linking-disease-with-race-and-ethnicity

Lamont, A. (n.d.). The guide to allyship. The Guide to Allyship. https://guidetoallyship.com/#what-is-an-ally

Late Night with Seth Meyers. (2019, August 13). George Takei was sent to a Japanese-American internment camp at age five [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3iLvLhy1RUQ&feature=youtu.be

L.A. Times. (2020, April 27). An epidemic of hate: anti-Asian hate crimes amid coronavirus [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7nlenypkMww&feature=youtu.be

Learn Liberty. (2020, June 3). Racial inequality in the criminal justice system [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zf-4iE4vzgM&feature=youtu.be

Lepore, J. (2020, July 13). The invention of the police. The New Yorker. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2020/07/20/the-invention-of-the-police

Lewan, T., & Barclay, D. (2001, December 2). When they steal your land, they steal your future. Los Angeles Times. https://www.latimes.com/archives/la-xpm-2001-dec-02-mn-10514-story.html

Limbong, A. (2020, June 8). Microaggressions are a big deal: How to talk them out and when to walk away. NPR. https://choice.npr.org/index.html?origin=https://www.npr.org/2020/06/08/872371063/microaggressions-are-a-big-deal-how-to-talk-them-out-and-when-to-walk-away

Liu, A. (2020, August 13). No, you’re not imagining it: 3 ways racial microaggressions sneak into our lives. Everyday Feminism. https://everydayfeminism.com/2015/02/ways-racial-microaggressions-sneak-in/

Liu, J. (2021, March 18). How to take action against anti-Asian racism at work and in your personal life. CNBC. https://www.cnbc.com/2021/03/18/how-to-take-action-against-anti-asian-racism.html

Lockhart, P. R. (2018, August 1). Race, police, and the dangers of #LivingWhileBlack. Vox. https://www.vox.com/explainers/2018/8/1/17616528/racial-profiling-police-911-living-while-black

Lockwood, B. (2020, June 16). The history of redlining. ThoughtCo. https://www.thoughtco.com/redlining-definition-4157858

Lopez, G. (2017, November 17). Report: black men get longer sentences for the same federal crime as white men. Vox. https://www.vox.com/identities/2017/11/17/16668770/us-sentencing-commission-race-booker

Lu, C. (2013, June 3). Why Yellow Fever is different than “Having a type.” The Bold Italic. https://thebolditalic.com/why-yellow-fever-is-different-than-having-a-type-the-bold-italic-san-francisco-36ed29359dfb?gi=450bbb949c9a

Manke, K. (2020, March 4). Historian uncovers gynecology’s brutal roots in slavery. Berkeley News. https://news.berkeley.edu/2020/02/17/historian-uncovers-gynecologys-brutal-roots-in-slavery/

Marketing Communications: Web // University of Notre Dame. (2022). Overcoming racial stereotypes // university counseling center // university of notre dame. University Counseling Center. https://ucc.nd.edu/self-help/multicultural-awareness/overcoming-stereotypes/

Martin, M. (2020, June 13). The history of policing and race in the U.S. are deeply intertwined [Audio broadcast transcript]. NPR. https://choice.npr.org/index.html?origin=https://www.npr.org/2020/06/13/876628302/the-history-of-policing-and-race-in-the-u-s-are-deeply-intertwined

McVean, A. (2019, January 25). 40 years of human experimentation in America: The Tuskegee study. Office for Science and Society. https://www.mcgill.ca/oss/article/history/40-years-human-experimentation-america-tuskegee-study

McWhorter, J. (2020, June 22). The Dictionary Definition of “Racism” Has to Change. The Atlantic. https://www.theatlantic.com/ideas/archive/2020/06/dictionary-definition-racism-has-change/613324/

Merelli, A. (2019, October 16). Colorism influences probability of going to jail, new study finds. Quartz. https://qz.com/1724590/colorism-influences-probability-of-going-to-jail-new-study-finds/

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Redline. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/redline

MIC. (2018, August 5). What #AllLivesMatter really means [Video]. Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/unsupportedbrowser?v=1193534644002657

Microassaults, microinsults, and microinvalidations. (2022, May 17). PBS LearningMedia. https://cptv.pbslearningmedia.org/resource/cb19-ss-types.microaggressions/microassult-microinsults-and-microinvalidation/

Middleton, S. (2020). Repressive legislation: Slave codes, northern black laws, and southern black codes. Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History. https://doi.org/10.1093/acrefore/9780199329175.013.634

Model minority stereotype. (n.d.). The University of Texas at Austin Counseling and Mental Health Center. https://cmhc.utexas.edu/modelminority.html

Moon, K. (2021, March 18). Donating, volunteering, reporting hate incidents: Here’s how to help combat Anti-Asian violence. Time. https://time.com/5947603/how-to-help-fight-anti-asian-violence/

Moravec, E. R. (2019, September 10). Do algorithms have a place in policing? The Atlantic. https://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2019/09/do-algorithms-have-place-policing/596851/

Morillo, A. (2020, June 5). Covert acts of racism have been happening in grocery stores and restaurants forever. Delish. https://www.delish.com/food/a32770750/covert-racism-grocery-stores-restaurants/

MTV Impact. (2016a, May 25). The weird history of Asian sex stereotypes | Decoded | MTV News [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HS2jGfW5aOE&feature=youtu.be

MTV Impact. (2016b, June 8). Why color blindness will NOT end racism | decoded | MTV news [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H4LpT9TF_ew&feature=youtu.be

Museum of Chinese in America. (2021, March 17). REMEMBER. RECORD. RESPECT: History of anti-AAPI violence and discrimination [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H97XNAngaXQ&feature=youtu.be

Netflix. (2020, April 17). 13TH | FULL FEATURE | Netflix [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=krfcq5pF8u8&feature=youtu.be

Newkirk, V. R., II. (2021, July 13). The terrible toll of the Tuskegee study. The Atlantic. https://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2016/06/tuskegee-study-medical-distrust-research/487439/

Nguyen, V. T. (2020, June 27). How the model minority myth of Asian Americans hurts us all. Time. https://time.com/5859206/anti-asian-racism-america/

Nigatu, H. (2020, August 14). 21 racial microaggressions you hear on a daily basis. BuzzFeed. https://www.buzzfeed.com/hnigatu/racial-microagressions-you-hear-on-a-daily-basis?utm_term=.rqdEygGYZ#.lo2NX0xza

Nittle, N. (2020, December 21). The black codes and why they still matter. ThoughtCo. https://www.thoughtco.com/the-black-codes-4125744

Noman, N. (2020, June 6). “Blackout Tuesday” on Instagram was a teachable moment for allies like me. NBC News. https://www.nbcnews.com/think/opinion/blackout-tuesday-instagram-was-teachable-moment-allies-me-ncna1225961

North, A. (2020, June 6). Police brutality: A historian explains how racist policing took over US cities. Vox. https://www.vox.com/2020/6/6/21280643/police-brutality-violence-protests-racism-khalil-muhammad

NowThis News. (2020a, May 17). Diary reveals reality of living in a WWII Japanese internment camp | NowThis [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xEXW153g2wI&feature=youtu.be

NowThis News. (2020b, July 20). How Asian Americans can help fight Anti-Black racism | NowThis [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B7JFmHywsrE&feature=youtu.be

O’Neill, C. (2020, September 16). The “Othering” of disease: Xenophobia during past pandemics. John Wiley & Sons, Inc. https://www.wiley.com/network/featured-content/the-othering-of-disease-xenophobia-during-past-pandemics

Oppel, R. A., Jr, Gebeloff, R., Lai, R. K. K., Wright, W., & Smith, M. (2020, July 10). The Fullest Look Yet at the Racial Inequity of Coronavirus. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2020/07/05/us/coronavirus-latinos-african-americans-cdc-data.html

Oxford. (2022). Tokenism. In Lexico. https://www.lexico.com/en/definition/tokenism

Park, P. (2014, July 30). Tracing the history of the “Asian Woman Fetish.” Bitch Media. https://www.bitchmedia.org/article/the-madame-butterfly-effect-asian-fetish-history-pop-culture

Participant. (2016, October 31). ASIAN | How you see me [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OTLtjGUGgN8&feature=youtu.be

PBS NewsHour. (2016, April 5). Is there a racial ‘care gap’ in medical treatment? [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2qykeMsFNDw&feature=youtu.be

PBS NewsHour. (2018, April 18). Why are black mothers and infants far more likely to die in U.S. from pregnancy-related causes? [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AODAk-accVc&feature=youtu.be

PBS NewsHour. (2020, April 2). COVID-19 may not discriminate based on race -- but U.S. health care does [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U5QdRwflM9I&feature=youtu.be

PBS NewsHour. (2021, March 4). LIVE Q&A: How to address the surge of anti-Asian hate crimes [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TD0JoeHG4l8&feature=youtu.be

PBS NewsHour Student Reporting Labs. (2020, January 7). Racial stereotypes: What people get wrong about me #NoLabels [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J3JKnYVJFeM&feature=youtu.be

Pearce, K. (2017, December 18). Lab report: Mapping the displacement from “Urban Renewal.” Bloomberg. https://www.bloomberg.com/tosv2.html?vid=&uuid=ee603a0c-d549-11ec-8636-464d49626465&url=L25ld3MvYXJ0aWNsZXMvMjAxNy0xMi0xOC9sYWItcmVwb3J0LW1hcHBpbmctdGhlLWRpc3BsYWNlbWVudC1vZi11cmJhbi1yZW5ld2Fs#:%7E:text=Urban%20renewal%20projects%20displaced%20more,Inequality%20packed%20with%20interactive%20maps

PeerNetBC. (2021, September 22). Allyship. THE ANTI-OPPRESSION NETWORK. https://theantioppressionnetwork.com/allyship/

PeerNetBC. (2020, October 16). Workshop themes. http://peernetbc.com/workshop-themes/#:%7E:text=Allyship%3A%20Allyship%20is%20the%20active,based%20on%20relationships%20and%20accountability.

Philimon, W. (2020, June 7). Not just George Floyd: Police departments have 400-year history of racism. USA TODAY. https://eu.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2020/06/07/black-lives-matters-police-departments-have-long-history-racism/3128167001/

Phillips, H. (2021, December 14). Performative allyship is deadly (and what to do instead). Forge. https://forge.medium.com/performative-allyship-is-deadly-c900645d9f1f#:%7E:text=Performative%20allyship%2C%20on%20the%20other,that%20actively%20harms%20that%20group.

Pierce, C. P. (2019, August 14). So much of our national history is lost to guilty amnesia. Esquire. https://www.esquire.com/news-politics/politics/a28702077/land-theft-african-americans-south/

Porterfield, C. (2020, June 11). Here’s why critics say Trump’s Juneteenth rally in tulsa is ‘Overt racism.’ Forbes. https://www.forbes.com/sites/carlieporterfield/2020/06/11/heres-why-critics-say-trumps-juneteenth-rally-in-tulsa-is-overt-racism/?sh=32a7174c1dc4

Presser, L. (2019, July 15). Their family bought land one generation after slavery. The Reels brothers spent eight years in jail for refusing to leave it. ProPublica. https://features.propublica.org/black-land-loss/heirs-property-rights-why-black-families-lose-land-south/

Prete, N. (2015, December 10). Tokenism [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rTfD2SCOOd8&feature=youtu.be

Private property. (2022, May 9). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_property

Bibliography

Racism defined. (n.d.). DRworksBook. Retrieved May 9, 2022, from https://www.dismantlingracism.org/racism-defined.html

Ramsey, F. (2015, September 30). What if white people had to deal with racist microaggressions? Everyday Feminism. https://everydayfeminism.com/2015/08/white-people-microaggressions/

Ramirez, R. (2021, March 19). The history of fetishizing Asian women in Orientalist tropes. Vox. https://www.vox.com/22338807/asian-fetish-racism-atlanta-shooting

ReasonTV. (2011, September 28). The tragedy of urban renewal: The destruction and survival of a New York City neighborhood [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mWGwsA1V2r4&feature=youtu.be

Reconstruction: The black codes. (2021, March 3). PBS LearningMedia. https://www.pbslearningmedia.org/resource/reconstruction-black-codes/reconstruction-the-black-codes/

redlining | discrimination. (n.d.). Encyclopedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/topic/redlining

Ruane, M. (2019, April 30). A brief history of the enduring phony science that perpetuates white supremacy. The Washington Post. https://www.washingtonpost.com/local/a-brief-history-of-the-enduring-phony-science-that-perpetuates-white-supremacy/2019/04/29/20e6aef0-5aeb-11e9-a00e-050dc7b82693_story.html

Sanusi, T. (2020, June 25). What is fetishizing? Here’s why this racist behavior isn’t OK. Elite Daily. https://www.elitedaily.com/p/what-is-fetishizing-heres-why-this-racist-behavior-isnt-ok-23618836

Saunders, G. B. (2020, January 20). The real cost of being the POC “in the room” required to shut down obviously racist products. Colorlines. https://www.colorlines.com/articles/real-cost-being-poc-room-required-shut-down-obviously-racist-products

Secrets of the Dead PBS. (2019, November 23). Before Central Park there was Seneca Village [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Pcg4osnEvQ&feature=youtu.be

Sentencing 101. (2018, April 11). FAMM. https://famm.org/our-work/sentencing-reform/sentencing-101/

Shah, K., & Adolphe, J. (2022, February 25). 400 years since slavery: a timeline of American history. The Guardian. https://www.theguardian.com/news/2019/aug/15/400-years-since-slavery-timeline

Shah, S. (2020, March 7). The pandemic of xenophobia and scapegoating. Time. https://time.com/5776279/pandemic-xenophobia-scapegoating/

Shearer, L. (2020, February 22). Linnentown: Just one of many black communities erased by Urban Renewal. Athens Banner-Herald. https://eu.onlineathens.com/story/news/education/2020/02/22/linnentown-just-one-of-many-black-communities-erased-by-urban-renewal/1657328007/

Simek, P. (2016, March 18). The racist legacy of America’s inner-city highways. D Magazine. https://www.dmagazine.com/frontburner/2016/03/the-racist-legacy-of-americas-innercity-highways/

Spanish Grammar Articles and Lessons. SpanishDict, https://www.spanishdict.com/guide/what-is-the-difference-between-hispanic-mexican-latino-and-chicano.

Staples, B. (2019, November 29). Opinion | The death of the Black Utopia. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/2019/11/28/opinion/seneca-central-park-nyc.html

Stafford, Z. (2017, June 1). When you say you “don’t see race”, you’re ignoring racism, not helping to solve it. The Guardian. https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2015/jan/26/do-not-see-race-ignoring-racism-not-helping

Stereotype threat, tokenism, and implicit racism. (n.d.). Wittenberg and the Struggle for Diversity. https://wittenberandthestrugglefordiversity.weebly.com/stereotype-threat-tokenism-and-implicit-racism.html

Stevenson, B. (2019, August 14). Why American prisons owe their cruelty to slavery. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2019/08/14/magazine/prison-industrial-complex-slavery-racism.html?mtrref=cscu.libapps.com&gwh=70C0C530A16561D0296A903D0630001F&gwt=pay&assetType=PAYWALL

Stewart, E. (2020, June 2). How to be a good white ally during the George Floyd protests and always. Vox. https://www.vox.com/2020/6/2/21278123/being-an-ally-racism-george-floyd-protests-white-people

Strochlic, N. (2020, September 2). America’s long history of scapegoating its Asian citizens. National Geographic. https://www.nationalgeographic.com/history/article/asian-american-racism-covid

Sue, D. W., Capodilupo, C. M., Torino, G. C., Bucceri, J. M., Holder, A. M. B., Nadal, K. L., & Esquilin, M. (2007). Racial microaggressions in everyday life: Implications for clinical practice. American Psychologist, 62(4), 271–286. https://doi.org/10.1037/0003-066x.62.4.271

Teacup Media. (2014, July 26). The Chinese Exclusion Act of 1882 | Ep. 44 [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pGExWMJVvRI&feature=youtu.be

TED. (2016, March 4). The problem with race-based medicine | Dorothy Roberts [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KxLMjn4WPBY&feature=youtu.be

TED. (2019, June 26). How to deconstruct racism, one headline at a time | Baratunde Thurston [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZgkjEdMbSw&feature=youtu.be

TEDx Talks. (2014a, March 11). Building true allies: Nikki Silvestri at TEDxManhattan. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3o_qCjAS_2Y&feature=youtu.be

TEDx Talks. (2014b, October 8). How racial profiling hurts everyone, including the police | Jamil Jivani | TEDxToronto [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCX_Th-IjjE&feature=youtu.be

TEDx Talks. (2016a, March 21). Let’s get to the root of racial injustice | Megan Ming Francis | TEDxRainier [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-aCn72iXO9s&feature=youtu.be

TEDx Talks. (2016b, April 29). I am not your Asian stereotype | Canwen Xu | TEDxBoise [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_pUtz75lNaw&feature=youtu.be

TEDx Talks. (2017, November 28). Mapping police violence | Samuel Sinyangwe | TEDxBrookings [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zVzGrj8HtcY&feature=youtu.be

TEDx Talks. (2018a, February 23). Asian Misrepresentation in Media | Peter Westacott | TEDxIthacaCollege [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nRvWwrQWsVk&feature=youtu.be

TEDx Talks. (2018b, June 5). Henrietta Lacks: Preserving her legacy | David Lacks & Veronica Robinson | TEDxFoggyBottom [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ggIChkFTWE8&feature=youtu.be

TEDx Talks. (2018c, July 6). The exceptional negro: Fighting to be seen in a colorblind world | traci ellis | TEDxHarperCollege [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xqvZRO2LPmw&feature=youtu.be

TEDx Talks. (2018d, December 20). Screaming in the silence: How to be an ally, not a savior | Graciela Mohamedi | TEDxBeaconStreet [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d2qAbp-t_FY&feature=youtu.be

TEDx Talks. (2019, May 3). Why microaggressions aren’t so micro | Whitney Grinnage-Cassidy | TEDxYouth@UrsulineAcademy [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z7l194OXxYo&feature=youtu.be

TEDxTalks. “What Being Hispanic and Latinx Means in the United States | Fernanda Ponce | Tedxdeerfield.” YouTube, YouTube, 10 Apr. 2017, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q1A4Vsh5Qas.

Telusma, B. (2018, May 17). Dear white people: Here’s how to be a REAL ally instead of just playing one on social media. The Grio. https://thegrio.com/2018/05/17/how-to-be-a-real-white-ally-instead-of-just-playing-one-on-social-media/

The Atlantic. (2019, September 12). How Black Americans were robbed of their land [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ldLiR794DsQ&feature=youtu.be

The Central Park Conservancy. (2022, February 9). Before Central Park: The story of Seneca Village. Central Park Conservancy. https://www.centralparknyc.org/articles/seneca-village

The New York Times. (2014, March 23). Racial microaggressions: Comments that sting | the new york times [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_85JVcniE_M&feature=youtu.be

The New York Times. (2015, March 18). A conversation with my black son | Op-Docs | The New York Times [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lXgfX1y60Gw&feature=youtu.be

The New York Times. (2020, March 17). How Coronavirus racism infected my high school | NYT Opinion [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5ccbJcqlUo&feature=youtu.be

The Root. (2020, March 19). Coronavirus and the Racist History of Pandemics [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zi1BDrjDWqs&feature=youtu.be

The Take. (2020, August 22). The model minority trope, explained [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qWBPGc_dpmY&feature=youtu.be

Thorpe, J. R. (2017, September 21). The history of gynecology is racist, sexist, & just plain scary. Bustle. https://www.bustle.com/p/the-history-of-gynecology-is-racist-sexist-just-plain-scary-2413138

Turner, K., & Machado, J. (2019, August 22). The 1619 anniversary: 5 things people still get wrong about slavery. Vox. https://www.vox.com/identities/2019/8/22/20812883/1619-slavery-project-anniversary

Tuskegee Study and Health Benefit Program. (2021, April 22). Center for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/tuskegee/index.html

Tuskegee Study - Timeline. (2021, April 22). Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. https://www.cdc.gov/tuskegee/timeline.htm

Understanding Racial Terms and Differences | Office of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion. (n.d.). Retrieved May 9, 2022, from https://www.edi.nih.gov/blog/communities/understanding-racial-terms-and-differences 

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. (n.d.). North American slave narratives. Documenting the American South. https://docsouth.unc.edu/neh/

Various. (2022). Black Codes Restrict Newly Won Freedom. SHEC: Resources for Teachers. https://shec.ashp.cuny.edu/items/show/1525.

Vedantam, S. (2016, February 16). Remembering Anarcha, Lucy, and Betsey: The mothers of modern gynecology [Radio broadcast transcript]. NPR. https://choice.npr.org/index.html?origin=https://www.npr.org/transcripts/466942135

Vera, C. (2020, August 19). The weight of racial fetishization: I am not your porn tag. Quench. https://cardiffstudentmedia.co.uk/quench/spotlight/bame-i-am-not-your-porn-tag-the-weight-of-racial-fetishization/

VICE News. (2020, July 10). How Coronavirus is stoking racism against Asian people [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B5eOVAhyyNA&feature=youtu.be

Video: The Chinese Massacre: One of Los Angeles’ worst atrocities | Watch lost LA Online | PBS Video. (2017, October 17). [Video]. PBS. https://player.pbs.org/viralplayer/3025438383/

Vittert, L., & Dolly, C. (2018, November 13). Measuring racial profiling: Why it’s hard to tell where police are treating minorities unfairly. The Conversation. https://theconversation.com/measuring-racial-profiling-why-its-hard-to-tell-where-police-are-treating-minorities-unfairly-105455

Voices remembering slavery: Freed people tell their stories | Digital Collections | Library of Congress. (n.d.). The Library of Congress Digital Collection. https://www.loc.gov/collections/voices-remembering-slavery/about-this-collection/

Vox. (2014, August 19). The racism of the US justice system in 10 charts [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=InOsF5x1lZw&feature=youtu.be

Vox. (2015, September 3). How mandatory minimums helped drive mass incarceration [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ISFTFoGSRjE&feature=youtu.be

Vox. (2017, December 7). The US medical system is still haunted by slavery [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IfYRzxeMdGs&feature=youtu.be

Vox. (2020, June 30). A brief history of police impunity in Black deaths [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8RYdItBIuOU&feature=youtu.be

Warren, P. Y., & Farrell, A. (2009). The Environmental Context of Racial Profiling. The Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science623, 52–63. http://www.jstor.org/stable/40375886

Waterstones. (2019, August 19). How to be an antiracist by Ibram X. Kendi [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_OXMgA0Fwsk&feature=youtu.be

Waxman, O. B. (2017, July 25). How the public learned about the infamous Tuskegee syphilis study. Time. https://time.com/4867267/tuskegee-syphilis-study/

Waxman, O. B. (2019, August 20). Slavery in America didn’t start in Jamestown in 1619. Time. https://time.com/5653369/august-1619-jamestown-history/

Weise, E. (2021, March 18). Anti-Asian hashtags soared after Donald Trump first tied COVID-19 to China on Twitter, study shows. USA TODAY. https://eu.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2021/03/18/anti-asian-hashtags-donald-trump-covid-19-tweet-study/4728444001/

What is an ally? (2019, January 10). Dictionary.Com. https://www.dictionary.com/e/what-is-an-ally/

WHO issues best practices for naming new human infectious diseases. (2015, May 8). World Health Organization. https://www.who.int/news/item/08-05-2015-who-issues-best-practices-for-naming-new-human-infectious-diseases

Wildeman, C. (2012). Mass incarceration. Oxford Bibliographies Online Datasets. https://doi.org/10.1093/obo/9780195396607-0033

Williams, M. T. (2011, December 27). Colorblind ideology is a form of racism. Psychology Today. https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/culturally-speaking/201112/colorblind-ideology-is-form-racism

Williamson, V., & Gelfand, I. (2019, August 14). Trump and racism: What do the data say? Brookings. https://www.brookings.edu/blog/fixgov/2019/08/14/trump-and-racism-what-do-the-data-say/

Woods, J. (2017, January 12). 12 ways to be a white ally to black people. The Root. https://www.theroot.com/12-ways-to-be-a-white-ally-to-black-people-1790876784

Wun, C. (2021, March 1). Ignoring the history of Anti-Asian racism is another form of violence. ELLE. https://www.elle.com/culture/career-politics/a35635188/anti-asian-racism-history-violence/

Xenophobia. (2022). In Merriam-Webster. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/xenophobia

Yan, H. (2018, May 11). This is why everyday racial profiling is so dangerous. CNN. https://edition.cnn.com/2018/05/11/us/everyday-racial-profiling-consequences-trnd/index.html

Yuan, K. (2020, August 5). Black employees say ‘Performative allyship’ is an unchecked problem in the office. Fortune. https://fortune.com/2020/06/19/performative-allyship-working-while-black-white-allies-corporate-diversity-racism/

Zhang, S. (2021, August 16). J. Marion Sims, the gynecologist who experimented on slaves. The Atlantic. https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2018/04/j-marion-sims/558248/