Skip to Main Content
General Databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ResearchIT CT OneSearch for Colleges & Universities This link opens in a new window
Use this link to search all of Connecticut State Library researchIT CT resources all at once.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents and an Image Collection with photos, maps & flags.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research in the scientific research area.
MainFile This link opens in a new window
A general interest database with full-text magazine articles, newspapers, and books. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as health, education, current events, technology and business.
Reference and E-Books
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
CQ Press provides the reference resources for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
With 750+ searchable, full-text titles, Credo Reference: Academic Core places particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
Diversity & Ethnic Studies eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This subscription collection includes academic eBooks related to diversity, anti-racism, ethnic studies, disability studies, gerontology & age studies, migration studies, gender and sexuality studies, cultural studies, and religious studies. The collection utilizes outside resources and scholarship to ensure that the collection remains up to date and aligned with current research.
DSM Library This link opens in a new window
The DSM Library is a small collection of e-books featuring the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR).
eBook Central College Complete This link opens in a new window
College Complete is a comprehensive, affordable ebook subscription that helps prepare students for academic and career success. College Complete covers all academic subject areas and content for in-demand trade jobs. Libraries will gain access to content in traditional disciplines like business, management and nursing; emerging areas like artificial intelligence (AI) and criminal justice; and topics to support specific skills like advanced manufacturing, construction and healthcare.
EBSCO eBooks Academic Subscription Collection This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new window
Contains biographical essays that reflect extended coverage of the 2,500 most studied authors and include up-to-date lists of each author’s principal works and current secondary bibliographies. More than 8,500 writers of fiction, poetry, drama, and essays are featured. There are more than 400 comprehensive essays on specific literary genres, themes and settings round out the collection. A cross-referenced glossary of terms is also included to provide definitive explanations of more than 1,800 literary words and phrases.
MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Welcome to MLA Handbook Plus, the Modern Language Associations subscription-based digital resource.Students and instructors can access online the new ninth edition of the MLA Handbook through the library.
Overdrive eBooks and AudioBooks This link opens in a new window
The Overdrive platform provides access to popular fiction and non-fiction eBook and audiobook titles, as well as selected Public Domain titles from the Duke Classics Collection.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary is the world's leading authority on the history and development of the English language since 1150.
Palace eBooks and AudioBooks This link opens in a new window
The Palace Project is a platform that gives you access to tens of thousands of digital titles from different publishers and sources. All for free for your local library. Palace is available for both of Apple and Android phones and tablets.
SAGE Books This link opens in a new window
Explore the ultimate social science eBook Collection
Sage Reference This link opens in a new window
Start your research with authoritative encyclopedias and handbooks in the social and behavioral sciences.
Very Short Introductions Online- All Subjects (VSIO) This link opens in a new window
Oxford's Very Short Introductions offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Each volume provides provocative, balanced, and complete discussions of the central issues in a given topic, giving a readable evolution of the subject in question.
Issues/Pro Con
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on a wide range of topics including: health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, crime, and civil liberties.
In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Designed to support global awareness, Gale in Context: Global Issues ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Users can explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, and more.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Featuring a dynamic design and a wealth of features, Issues & Controversies helps researchers understand todays crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
Current events database for social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and more. Full text sources include international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
Newspapers
Chicago Tribune (1985-present) This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Tribune is a daily newspaper based in Chicago, Illinois
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. As the unrivaled leader in higher education journalism, we serve our readers with indispensable real-time news and deep insights, plus the essential tools, career opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in a rapidly changing world.
Hartford Courant (1992-current) This link opens in a new window
Daily newspaper from Hartford, Connecticut. Coverage: 1992 - current.
Historical Hartford Courant (1764-1922) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1764 - 1922
Los Angeles Times (1985-present) This link opens in a new window
The Los Angeles Times, abbreviated as LA Times, is a daily regional newspaper that started publishing in Los Angeles in 1881.
New York Times (1985-present) This link opens in a new window
New York newspaper with local, regional, national, and international news coverage. Includes backfile to the current issue.
New York Times Online Edition This link opens in a new window
Requires creation of free account using campus email address.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 45 U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including the New Haven Register and New London Day. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
ResearchIT CT Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, regional newspapers as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It delivers full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites. Includes preferred access to content from The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, CNN Newswires, and the Huffington Post.
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
Wall Street Journal (1984-present) This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is an American business and economic-focused international daily newspaper based in New York City. The Journal is published six days a week.
Wall Street Journal Online Edition This link opens in a new window
Stay ahead of the competition with the periodical that’s as ambitious as you are. Get the trusted insights and in-depth analysis you need from The Wall Street Journal, America’s most trusted newspaper—providing key decision-makers around the world with peerless reporting since 1889.Requires creation of free account using campus email address.
Washington Post (1987-present) This link opens in a new window
The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C.
Streaming Videos
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
A streaming video service that provides access to over 38,000 instructional and documentary videos from producers such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, HBO, CNBC News, ABC News, PBS, BBC, Cengage Learning, Meridian, and others.
ICE Video Library (with Stroke Help Collection) This link opens in a new window
Videos for Clinical Educators. ICE has been a leader in healthcare education since its founding in 1983. All videos are professionally filmed and feature actual patients and clinicians demonstrating practical and effective treatment ideas.
Kanopy BASE Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 10,000 educational and feature films from suppliers including PBS, Kino Lorber, and New Day Films.
SAGE Video This link opens in a new window
SAGE Video collections are created for use across higher education, to support pedagogical needs for undergraduate teaching and learning, through to higher level academic research.
SWANK Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Movie and TV Show Streaming Service. Access to Top 500 films.
Biography
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
The American National Biography provides portraits of more than 19,000 men and women who have helped shaped the nation.
Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Offering the original profiles of Current Biography and World Authors series, the periodical coverage of Biography Index, and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. Search result limiters include occupation/activity, gender, place of origin, birth day or month, and lifespan.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Contains many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines. Offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies.
In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Built on a foundation of more than 640,000 biographical entries, Gale In Context: Biography covers international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Testing, Career, & eLearning
Peterson's Test and Career Prep This link opens in a new window
Gale Presents Petersons Test and Career Prep provides users with standardized exam preparation, including practice tests, eBooks and online courses. Exams types include professional, civil service and military exams. Career prep includes professional career videos, an occupational database and career library, military crosswalks, and job search powered by Indeed.com. Access to Visual CV Resume Creator is also included.
Please Note: an account is required to access this resource and save your progress in the prep material. An email address is not required, but highly recommended, to create an account.
SAGE Skills Student Success This link opens in a new window
SAGE Skills: Student Success empowers students to learn the practical academic and personal skills needed to thrive during their time in higher education and beyond.
SAGE Campus This link opens in a new window
Online Learning for skills and research methods. 37 courses on topics, science, research, critical thinking. You must create an account to log into this resource.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
What every researcher needs. Learn to conduct research from start to finish. SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process, from a quick dictionary definition, a case study example from a researcher in the field, a downloadable teaching dataset, a full-text title from the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, or a video tutorial showing research in action.
Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
African-American History This link opens in a new window
African American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African American history and culture. Users can start their investigation of a topic with a video or slideshow overview, use the key content called out on the home page to find an entryway into the database, or dig deep into a subject or era through the Topic Centers.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: This link opens in a new window
A free, open resource for students, educators and others who are researching U.S. Black history. The site features over 2,000 curated primary-source documents related to critical people and events in African American history.
Diversity & Ethnic Studies eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This subscription collection includes academic eBooks related to diversity, anti-racism, ethnic studies, disability studies, gerontology & age studies, migration studies, gender and sexuality studies, cultural studies, and religious studies. The collection utilizes outside resources and scholarship to ensure that the collection remains up to date and aligned with current research.
Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
With its curated full-text materials, Ethnic Diversity Source is essential to support the study of African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans, Latinx Americans, Multiracial Americans, and Native Americans, among others, with respect to their cultures, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences. Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, historical documents, and biographies are complemented by primary sources, such as speeches and interviews. Complete with robust collections of videos and e-books, Ethnic Diversity Source creates a dynamic research experience for students and researchers.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBTQ+ Thesaurus containing over 10,000 terms.
Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement This link opens in a new window
The Ralph J. Bunche Oral History Collection from the Moorland-Spingarn Research Center is a unique resource for the study of the era of the American civil rights movement. Included here are transcriptions of more than 500 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.
Spanish and Latin Studies
EBSCOhost Espanol This link opens in a new window
Spanish-language interface to select EBSCO databases. Información confiable para todo tipo de investigación.
Referencia Latina This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive Spanish-language database with 49,000 encyclopedia entries; 50,000 images; 2,500 health reports; a Spanish-English dictionary and full text for over 100 reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Its intuitive, theme-based Spanish-language interface is designed to make content readily accessible to non-English users with limited online research experience.
Arts and Humanities
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor features millions of high-quality images and media from some of the worlds top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else. Artstors collections also include Open Access collections from partner museums freely available to all. All content in Artstor is rights-cleared for education and research you are free to use it in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
The Grove® Dictionary of Art is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of the visual arts, with 30,000 signed and peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 international scholars. Grove Art features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online is the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
Updated frequently, Grove Music Online is an essential tool for anyone interested in researching, teaching, or just learning more about music.
JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection contains all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources content in a single collection, including Archive Journal Collections and thematic collections; specifically, it includes Arts & Sciences I – XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Life Sciences, Public Health, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability journal collections. It also contains four primary source collections, 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants. This collection contains 2,877 high quality academic journals from across a wide range of disciplines and hundreds of thousands of primary source items.
Business
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline, the collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country- and industry-focused reports and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Gale Business Insights: Essentials empowers users with the necessary tools to research and effectively interpret international business topics.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
The United States' most comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
The SAGE Business Cases is a collection of more than 5,500 cases representing over 120 countries for transformative business research.
SAGE Skills Business This link opens in a new window
SAGE Skills: Business empowers students to develop and practice real-world skills needed to successfully transition from campus to the modern workplace through interactive self-assessment, virtual scenarios, downloadable data, and expert insights.
Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Offers readers a collection of state-specific resources supported with demographic data and other local information. Business videos include interviews, “lessons learned” features, lectures and how-to videos to help foster success in all aspects of managing a business.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is an online platform specialized in market and consumer data, which offers statistics and reports, market insights, consumer insights and company insights in German, English, Spanish and French. Additional modules include Company Insights, Ecommerce Insights, Consumer Insights.
Wall Street Journal Online Edition This link opens in a new window
Stay ahead of the competition with the periodical that’s as ambitious as you are. Get the trusted insights and in-depth analysis you need from The Wall Street Journal, America’s most trusted newspaper—providing key decision-makers around the world with peerless reporting since 1889.Requires creation of free account using campus email address.
Criminal Justice
Legal Information Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Exclusive online full text for many top consumer legal reference books, full-text publications and legal forms, with more content added on a regular basis. Thousands of state-specific legal forms – searchable by top subject areas including Adoption, Bankruptcy, Name Changes and more.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is an online platform specialized in market and consumer data, which offers statistics and reports, market insights, consumer insights and company insights in German, English, Spanish and French. Additional modules include Company Insights, Ecommerce Insights, Consumer Insights.
Communication
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Education
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. As the unrivaled leader in higher education journalism, we serve our readers with indispensable real-time news and deep insights, plus the essential tools, career opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in a rapidly changing world.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. ERIC is the largest education database in the world, containing over one million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides full-text access to more than 500 quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, Professional Development Collection also indexes and abstracts more than 900 journals.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 230 peer-reviewed journals for teachers.
Health Careers
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health with more than 2,000,000 records dating back to 1981. Nursing and allied health database.
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Gale Health and Wellness offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics. Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women’s health, children’s health and more. Users have access to Clinical Reference Systems reports, in both English and Spanish, and Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary.
Health Source: Nursing and Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
ICE Video Library (with Stroke Help Collection) This link opens in a new window
Videos for Clinical Educators. ICE has been a leader in healthcare education since its founding in 1983. All videos are professionally filmed and feature actual patients and clinicians demonstrating practical and effective treatment ideas.
Interactive Chemistry This link opens in a new window
Gale Interactive Chemistry engages students and aids comprehension by pairing reference material with manipulatable 3D models. This database follows 1st and 2nd-year college syllabus topics like the periodic table, molecules and compounds, reactions, and chemical processes. Users can dive deep into concepts with tools to zoom, rotate, and explore interactive models. Clicking through each session displays relevant reference content related to the image, complete with cross-search capabilities to locate the right information. These powerful visual tools can be used for in-class demonstrations or to help with homework and research assignments.
Interactive Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Gale Interactive Human Anatomy is an innovative learning aid that allows students to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse themselves in interactive research.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, nearly 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. And of those, 558 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.
History
African-American History This link opens in a new window
African American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African American history and culture. Users can start their investigation of a topic with a video or slideshow overview, use the key content called out on the home page to find an entryway into the database, or dig deep into a subject or era through the Topic Centers.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: This link opens in a new window
A free, open resource for students, educators and others who are researching U.S. Black history. The site features over 2,000 curated primary-source documents related to critical people and events in African American history.
Connecticut’s Archives Online
Want to find out if an archive in Connecticut has information on a topic you are researching? Search Connecticut’s Archives Online. CAO is not itself a repository. It simplys offer users a way to search across many of Connecticut’s archival repositories.
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
CQ Press provides the reference resources for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.
Historical Hartford Courant (1764-1922) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1764 - 1922
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
In Context: US History This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: US History provides a complete overview of our nations past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.
In Context: World History This link opens in a new window
A range of topics such as Aztecs, Industrial Revolution, Silk Road, the Buddha, Space Race, and more provide a wide perspective across the globe. Rare primary sources, reliable reference, and multimedia content are aligned to curriculum and put this vast subject into context for students. World History is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: U.S. History for users with access to both resources.
Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement This link opens in a new window
The Ralph J. Bunche Oral History Collection from the Moorland-Spingarn Research Center is a unique resource for the study of the era of the American civil rights movement. Included here are transcriptions of more than 500 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.
Literature
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
Blooms Literature contains a wide range of reference essays and scholarly criticism examining great authors and their works as well as full-length videos of classic plays and films.
Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Explore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism (1400-1800), 19th Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, 20th Century Literary Criticism
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras. Includes Dictionary of Literary Biography, Something About the Author.
Psychology & Sociology
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on a wide range of topics including: health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, crime, and civil liberties.
DSM Library This link opens in a new window
The DSM Library is a small collection of e-books featuring the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR).
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with APA PsycArticles, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
SocINDEX with Full Text - Asnuntuck Campus This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX is the authoritative bibliographic database for sociology research. It offers indexed records from top sociology journals covering many related studies.
Science and Mathematics
Global Plants This link opens in a new window
Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics. Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women’s health, children’s health and more. Users have access to Clinical Reference Systems reports, in both English and Spanish, and Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary.
In Context: Science This link opens in a new window
From climate change to genetically modified organisms to fracking, the wealth of content in Gale In Context: Science spans the fields of biology, chemistry, physics, earth and environmental science, health and medicine, and math and technology. Go beyond research projects and choose from over 350 experiments in 200 entries to assign during everyday instruction, enabling hands-on learning anywhere students have online access.
Interactive Chemistry This link opens in a new window
Gale Interactive Chemistry engages students and aids comprehension by pairing reference material with manipulatable 3D models. This database follows 1st and 2nd-year college syllabus topics like the periodic table, molecules and compounds, reactions, and chemical processes. Users can dive deep into concepts with tools to zoom, rotate, and explore interactive models. Clicking through each session displays relevant reference content related to the image, complete with cross-search capabilities to locate the right information. These powerful visual tools can be used for in-class demonstrations or to help with homework and research assignments.
Interactive Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Gale Interactive Human Anatomy is an innovative learning aid that allows students to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse themselves in interactive research.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.
