Course Reserves
Introduction to Human Services by
Complete, up-to-date coverage of social welfare programs and policies with special coverage of how history, politics, and the economy shape these programs This text puts the field of human services into a historical context, provides insights into the social welfare field, and gives concrete examples of how primary intervention strategies are put into daily practice in human service agencies. It presents the many options offered in the field of human services and discusses the stresses that a human service worker will face in day-to-day work, with practical suggestions for avoiding burnout. The text compares the U.S. social welfare systems to systems in other countries, and uses a strong multicultural and social systems approach that distinguishes it from other texts. Teaching & Learning Experience Engage Students - Outstanding pedagogy, including examples, cases, anecdotes, and interviews, keeps students interested. Explore Current Issues - Contemporary issues are incorporated throughout the text to provide students with the most up-to-date coverage; topics include: cyberbullying, immigration, and health care reform. Support Instructors - An Instructor's Manual and Test Bank, Computerized Test Bank (MyTest), and PowerPoint presentations, and BlackBoard and WebCT Test Item File provide instructors with additional support.
Call Number: RESERVE DESK (HSER 10001)Publication Date: 2012
Psychiatric Rehabilitation by
The third edition of Psychiatric Rehabilitation, discusses interventions to help individuals with mental illness improve the quality of their life, achieve goals, and increase opportunities for community integration so they can lead full and productive lives. This person centered approach emphasizes strengths, skill development, and the attainment of valued social roles. The third edition has been fully updated with new coverage indicating how to address medical problems while treating for mental illness, wellness and recovery, evidence based practices, and directions for future research. Retaining the easy to read, engaging style, each chapter includes key terms with definitions, case studies, profiles of leaders in the field, special issues relating to treatment and ethics, and class exercises. Providing a comprehensive overview of this growing field, the book is suitable as an undergraduate or graduate textbook, as well as a reference for practitioners and academic researchers. Special Features: Provides new coverage on comorbid medical disorders, evidence based practices, wellness and recovery, and direction for future research Identifies controversial issues relating to treatment and ethics Supplies case study examples to illustrate chapter points Highlights key terms with definitions and key topics Offers focus questions and class exercises as a teaching tool
Call Number: RESERVE DESK HSER 1034Publication Date: 2014
Joining Together by
A broad, integrative, unique overview of group dynamics, Joining Together bridges the gap between theory, research, and practice, and combines a conceptual understanding of group dynamics with what's needed to develop effective small group skills. In it readers are involved in the content that combines the theoretical and empirical knowledge now available on group dynamics with practical ways to apply that knowledge in groups to which readers actually belong. Constructed so that the theory and research on group dynamics is taught experientially through exercises and simulations included in the book, Joining Together provides the ideal combination for ensuring success in working with groups. All important areas of group dynamics are included, from the history of the field to decision making and conflict management, and applied chapters focus on such practical areas as valuing diversity, cooperative learning, leading counseling groups, and team development and training. Accessible, clear, and practical, it gives students the tools and skills they need to be effective group members and to ensure the effectiveness of any group to which they belong.
Call Number: RESERVE DESK HSER 2420Publication Date: 2016
Featured eBooks
Boundary Issues and Dual Relationships in the Human Services by
Should a therapist disclose personal information to a client, accept a client's gift, or provide a former client with a job? Is it appropriate to exchange e-mail or text messages with clients or correspond with them on social networking websites? Some acts, such as initiating a sexual relationship with a client, are clearly prohibited, yet what about more subtle interactions, such as hugging or accepting invitations to a social event? Is maintaining a friendship with a former client or a client's relative a conflict of interest?Frederic G. Reamer offers a frank analysis of a range of boundary issues that human-service practitioners may confront. He confronts the ethics of intimate relationships with clients and former clients, the healthy parameters of practitioners'self-disclosure, the giving and receiving of gifts and favors, and the unavoidable and unanticipated circumstances of social encounters and geographical proximity. With case studies addressing challenges in the mental health field, school contexts, child welfare, addiction programs, home health care, elder services, and prison, rural, and military settings, Reamer offers effective, practical risk-management models that prevent problems and help balance dual relationships.Since the publication of the previous edition of Boundary Issues and Dual Relationships in the Human Services in 2012, digital technology has transformed how human-service professionals deliver services to clients. This third edition brings the book up to date, adding discussion of the ways in which practitioners'online communications and technology-based relationships with clients can violate ethical standards and providing practical advice for how to resolve boundary issues.
Publication Date: 2021
Self-Direction: A Revolution in Human Services by
In the past, when people with disabilities and older adults needed help with activities of daily living and navigating their communities, they rarely had any choice about who helped them, when that support was delivered, or what the worker would or would not do. The self-direction movement changed all that by offering people the option to select their own workers and even create an individualized budget to help them live more independently. Written by experts who played a key part in the growth, evaluation, and dissemination of this revolutionary approach, Self-Direction describes the development of this movement through the authors' personal accounts. Also included are stories from actual participants in the movement who benefitted from this approach and from policymakers who saw how self-direction could help address states' problems. The book's conclusion discusses recommendations that can improve the way self-direction is delivered and how to spread its message so that all people with disabilities can have this choice.
Publication Date: 2021
Engaging Human Services with Evidence-Informed Practice by
Human services organizations often need to demonstrate how research evidence supports their programs and practices to secure financing and maintain public trust. This mandate can lead organizations to consider prepackaged interventions that may not be the best solutions for the clients that they serve. How can organizations develop structures and strategies that facilitate the implementation of evidence-informed practice (EIP) while satisfying stakeholders and prioritizing the interests of their client base. In Engaging Human Services with Evidence-Informed Practice, Debbie Plath outlines five phases of an organizational approach to implementing EIP. She guides readers through the development of practice questions; the gathering, critical appraisal, and integration of evidence; and client outcome monitoring and evaluation. Plath emphasizes that implementing EIP is a nonlinear process that unfolds in complex organizational landscapes and cultures. Throughout the process, special attention should be paid to relationship building, strong leadership, and stakeholder engagement. Plath's model is adaptable to a wide variety of human services organizations and can work in conjunction with clinical decision-making models, empirically supported standardized interventions, practice research methodology, and the development of best practice guidelines.
Publication Date: 2017
Social Work Values and Ethics by
For decades, teachers and practitioners have turned to Frederic G. Reamer's Social Work Values and Ethics as the leading introduction to ethical decision making, dilemmas, and professional conduct in practice. A case-driven, concise, and comprehensive textbook for undergraduate and graduate social work programs, this book surveys the most critical issues for social work practitioners. The fifth edition incorporates significant updates to the National Association of Social Workers Code of Ethics and new practice and model regulatory standards used by social service and licensing agencies around the world. Reamer also focuses on how social workers should navigate the digital world through discussion of the ethical issues that arise from practitioner use of online services and social networking sites to deliver services, communicate with clients, and provide information to the public, and what standards will protect confidential information transmitted electronically. He highlights potential conflicts between professional ethics and legal guidelines and expands discussions of informed consent, confidentiality and privileged communication, boundaries and dual relationships, documentation, conflicts of interest, and risk management. Conceptually rich and attuned to the complexities of ethical decision making, Social Work Values and Ethics is unique in striking the right balance among history, theory, and practical application.
Publication Date: 2018
- EBSCO eBooks Academic Subscription Collection This link opens in a new window Access a cross-searchable, multidisciplinary library of over 210,000 high-quality, unlimited-user e-books from leading university presses and academic publishers such as Cambridge University Press, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Harvard University Press, John Wiley & Sons, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, State University of New York Press, Taylor & Francis, and University of California Press. These ebooks cover a large section of academic subjects and new titles are added the collection continuously.