Library Hours & Contacts
Associate Director
P.O. Box 1046
Manchester, CT
06045-1046
English 1010 Composition
Person writing on brown wooden table near white ceramic mug
Photo by Unseen Studio on Unsplash
Composition focuses on the study and practice of effective written communication across a variety of rhetorical situations. The course develops skills in applying language conventions, engaging with and using authoritative sources, and crafting logical arguments.
Essay Assignment
THE PROTEST MOVEMENT
Write a 1200 word paper where you have researched the background of Dr. Martin Luther King's protests and Henry David Thoreau's essay, "Civil Disobedience." Utilize the questions done in class to summarize the essays, "Letter from Birmingham Jail" and "Civil Disobedience" found on Blackboard. Explain how Thoreau's essay was an early influence on the tactics of Dr. King and other renowned protesters. Follow the MLA format and cite all factual material used throughout the essay. Include a Works Cited page.
Biographical Information
- American National Biography This link opens in a new window
The American National Biography provides portraits of more than 19,000 men and women who have helped shaped the nation. Specialized collections of related biographies explore the diversity of American history including Black History, Women's History, and Hispanic Heritage. Themed research guides provide editorially curated article lists on subjects such as American Literature and the Civil Rights Movement
- Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
This resource includes almost 1 million original biographical profiles, 700,000 full-text articles, including the following collections: Current Biography, New Grove Music, New Grove Artists, and H.W. Wilson Biographical series (Junior Authors, Composers, World Authors), Library of North American Bio Series. Search result limiters include occupation/activity, gender, place of origin, birth day or month, and lifespan.
- Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This resource contains many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines. It offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies. More than 390,000 reliable, full-text biographies and the complete run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine are available to browse. Advanced searching tools include name, date of birth or death, profession, or country of origin, portrait or genre. You may also search by important historical eras, major wars, and historic leaders, Nobel Peace Prize Laureates, Musicians, Inventors, and other important roles.
- In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Built on a foundation of more than 640,000 biographical entries, Gale In Context: Biography covers international figures from all time periods and areas of study. The database also includes full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create highly-targeted custom search results.
Famous Protesters
-
Mahatma Gandhi - Known for his leadership in the Indian independence movement through nonviolent civil disobedience.
-
Martin Luther King Jr. - An iconic figure in the American civil rights movement, advocating for racial equality through nonviolent protest and civil disobedience.
-
Rosa Parks - Her refusal to give up her seat to a white man on a segregated bus in Montgomery, Alabama, sparked the Montgomery Bus Boycott and became a symbol of the civil rights movement.
-
Nelson Mandela - A key figure in the anti-apartheid movement in South Africa, who spent 27 years in prison for his activism before becoming the country's first black president.
-
Malala Yousafzai - An advocate for girls' education who survived an assassination attempt by the Taliban in Pakistan and went on to become the youngest-ever Nobel Prize laureate.
-
Greta Thunberg - A Swedish environmental activist who gained international recognition for her efforts to combat climate change, including inspiring the global student strike movement Fridays for Future.
-
Ai Weiwei - A Chinese artist and activist known for his criticism of the Chinese government's human rights abuses and censorship.
-
Aung San Suu Kyi - A Burmese politician and Nobel Peace Prize laureate who spent years under house arrest for her nonviolent struggle for democracy and human rights in Myanmar.
-
Cesar Chavez - An American labor leader and civil rights activist who co-founded the United Farm Workers union and led campaigns to improve conditions for farmworkers.
-
Emily Davison - A British suffragette who famously stepped in front of King George V's horse at the Epsom Derby in 1913 to draw attention to the suffragette cause, resulting in her death.
These individuals, among many others, have left indelible marks on history through their courageous acts of protest and advocacy for justice, equality, and human rights.
Generated by ChatGPT 3.5