Library Databases
- In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints offers material to support differing views to help develop critical thinking skills on thousands of current social topics in the forms of primary source documents, statistics, websites and multimedia. Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues, including racism, capital punishment, global warming, and voting rights with reference sources, newspaper and magazine articles, scholarly journals, court cases, government documents, viewpoints, maps, images, audio, video and websites.
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window Featuring a dynamic design and a wealth of features, Issues & Controversies helps researchers understand today's crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Issues and Controversies provides up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on prominent and hotly debated issues. It combines objective analysis with clear explanations of opposing points of view. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events.
- Statista This link opens in a new window Use Statista for immediate access to over one million statistics and facts. Statista is an online platform specialized in market and consumer data, which offers statistics and reports, market insights, consumer insights and company insights in German, English, Spanish and French. Additional modules include Company Insights, Ecommerce Insights, Consumer Insights. The reports, charts, infographics, and statistics found in the database can be viewed online or downloaded.
- Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window Explore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more. Includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism (1400-1800), 19th Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, 20th Century Literary Criticism.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras. Includes Dictionary of Literary Biography, Something About the Author.
- American National Biography This link opens in a new window The American National Biography provides portraits of more than 19,000 men and women who have helped shaped the nation. Specialized collections of related biographies explore the diversity of American history including Black History, Women's History, and Hispanic Heritage. Themed research guides provide editorially curated article lists on subjects such as American Literature and the Civil Rights Movement
- Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window This resource includes almost 1 million original biographical profiles, 700,000 full-text articles, including the following collections: Current Biography, New Grove Music, New Grove Artists, and H.W. Wilson Biographical series (Junior Authors, Composers, World Authors), Library of North American Bio Series. Search result limiters include occupation/activity, gender, place of origin, birth day or month, and lifespan. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
- Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window This resource contains many of the top-ranked biographical reference collections and magazines. It offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies, as well as thousands of unique narrative biographies. More than 390,000 reliable, full-text biographies and the complete run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine are available to browse. Advanced searching tools include name, date of birth or death, profession, or country of origin, portrait or genre. You may also search by important historical eras, major wars, and historic leaders, Nobel Peace Prize Laureates, Musicians, Inventors, and other important roles.
- In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window Built on a foundation of more than 640,000 biographical entries, Gale In Context: Biography covers international figures from all time periods and areas of study. The database also includes full-text articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create highly-targeted custom search results.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with APA PsycArticles, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals (Coverage: 1894 - present; updated monthly). Specialty subjects include Psychiatry, Psychology, Psychopharmacology. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window APA PsycInfo is a database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. The database also includes records from the 1600s and 1700s. This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
- DSM Library This link opens in a new window The DSM Library is a small collection of e-books featuring the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR), which is used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders. This collection contains full-text access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) as well as the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, the Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5, and the DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formation Interview.
Searching the Catalog
When searching in the library catalog or in a database it is important to notice a few key features.
Catalog Search: Known Item
Using the home page, you will see the main search feature for the catalog, for a known item you can do a simple search. This will automatically search the entire Gateway catalog, including online materials and physical items.
Search:
Results:
Narrowing Results: To narrow down an item search, toggle the different fields on the left side bar. For example, if you are looking for the novel, online click on "Online", or if you are looking for reviews of the book, under resource type, select "Reviews".
Article Search: Databases
When you are looking for a item related to a topic, but you don't have an article in mind, you may want to try several strategies. You can search in the main catalog search, but it likely will not pull up every relevant articles that the library has access to, so searching in individual databases may yield more results.
Catalog Results:
CINTAL Full Text Database Search:
Subject Search: Unlike google or search engines, the databases will not find results for questions. You will need to thing about search terms in order to find relevant resources. For example in a science class you maybe searching for research on genetics, so you might input "Genetics" AND "Research".
Boolean Operators: Using AND, OR, and NOT may help you broaden or narrow you focus topic. (See hand out)