Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL is a database of citations and abstracts for journal articles and other materials on nursing, communication sciences and disorders, and allied health sciences. This authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health with more than 2,000,000 records dating back to 1981.
- Health Source: Nursing and Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It includes nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, and medical law. It also features the AHFS (American Hospital Formulary Service® Drug Information) Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
- In Context: Science This link opens in a new window From climate change to genetically modified organisms to fracking, the wealth of content in Gale In Context: Science spans the fields of biology, chemistry, physics, earth and environmental science, health and medicine, and math and technology. Go beyond research projects and choose from over 350 experiments in 200 entries to assign during everyday instruction, enabling hands-on learning anywhere students have online access.
- Interactive Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window Gale Interactive Human Anatomy is an innovative learning aid that allows students to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse themselves in interactive research.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents and an Image Collection with photos, maps & flags.
- Ovid Nursing Journals - Gateway CampusIncludes full-text coverage of these journals: American Journal of Nursing (AJN), Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing, Home Healthcare Now, Home Healthcare Nurse, Men in Nursing, Nursing, Nursing Critical Care, and Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!
- R2 Digital Library Health Sciences eBooks Collection - Gateway Campus This link opens in a new window A collection of nursing and allied health ebooks from major publishers. Please note: Items can only be viewed by a single user at a time. Try again later if unable to access.
PubMed
Comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
______________________________
MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?
What is a peer-reviewed article?
Peer-reviewed articles are the articles that have been reviewed and approved by scholars in the author's field or area of expertise. Peer reviewed journals are called peer-reviewed journals or refereed journals.