Select Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- MainFile This link opens in a new window A general interest database with full-text magazine articles, newspapers, and books. Covers a wide variety of subjects such as health, education, current events, technology and business.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents and an Image Collection with photos, maps & flags.
- In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window Designed to support global awareness, Gale in Context: Global Issues ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Users can explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture, and more.
- In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window Featuring a dynamic design and a wealth of features, Issues & Controversies helps researchers understand todays crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
- TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window Current events database for social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and more. Full text sources include international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
- American National Biography This link opens in a new window The American National Biography provides portraits of more than 19,000 men and women who have helped shaped the nation. Specialized collections of related biographies explore the diversity of American history including Black History, Women's History, and Hispanic Heritage. Themed research guides provide editorially curated article lists on subjects such as American Literature and the Civil Rights Movement
- Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window This resource includes almost 1 million original biographical profiles, 700,000 full-text articles, including the following collections: Current Biography, New Grove Music, New Grove Artists, and H.W. Wilson Biographical series (Junior Authors, Composers, World Authors), Library of North American Bio Series. Search result limiters include occupation/activity, gender, place of origin, birth day or month, and lifespan.
- In Context: Biography This link opens in a new window Built on a foundation of more than 640,000 biographical entries, Gale In Context: Biography covers international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window This is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, multilingual education, health education, educational psychology, school nursing, technology, curriculum and instruction, classroom management, supervision and administration and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research, and it contains over one million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, and books dating back to 1966. Documents indexed in ERIC are produced by scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, state agencies, and local agencies. Also, individual contributors submit conference papers, research papers, dissertations, and theses.
- African-American History This link opens in a new window This resource offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture for the past 500 years. Hundreds of videos, as well as speeches, timelines, biographies, and countless informative articles are contained in this unique database. View the Topic Centers for specific subjects, such as the Underground Railroad, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights Act of 1964, which include articles, sharable slideshows, videos and primary sources.
- Historical Hartford Courant (1764-1922) This link opens in a new window This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1764 - 1922. This resource includes The Connecticut Courant (1764-1774), Connecticut Courant (1778-1778), Connecticut Courant (1791-1837), The Connecticut Courant and Hartford Weekly Intelligencer (1774-1778), Connecticut Courant and Weekly Intelligencer (1778-1791), Daily Courant (1837-1839), The Hartford Courant (1887-1922), Hartford Daily Courant (1840-1887).
- History Reference Center This link opens in a new window Full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. Covering both U.S. and world history topics, History Reference Center is a full-text database featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents.
- In Context: US History This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: US History provides a complete overview of our nations past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.
- In Context: World History This link opens in a new window A range of topics such as Aztecs, Industrial Revolution, Silk Road, the Buddha, Space Race, and more provide a wide perspective across the globe. Rare primary sources, reliable reference, and multimedia content are aligned to curriculum and put this vast subject into context for students. World History is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: U.S. History for users with access to both resources.
- Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement This link opens in a new window The Ralph J. Bunche Oral History Collection from the Moorland-Spingarn Research Center is a unique resource for the study of the era of the American civil rights movement. Included here are transcriptions of more than 500 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.
- Chicago Tribune (1985-present) This link opens in a new window The Chicago Tribune is a daily newspaper based in Chicago, Illinois, which keeps readers informed of the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation and the world every day. The Tribune has a reputation for investigative and public service journalism earning 24 Pulitzer Prizes since 1932. Includes complete full-text content of local and regional news, community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
- Hartford Courant (1992-current) This link opens in a new window Daily newspaper from Hartford, Connecticut. Coverage: 1992 - current. The Hartford Courant is the largest daily newspaper in Connecticut. Founded in 1764, it also is the oldest continuously published newspaper in the United States.
- Los Angeles Times (1985-present) This link opens in a new window The Los Angeles Times, abbreviated as LA Times, is a daily regional newspaper that started publishing in Los Angeles in 1881.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Provides cover-to-cover full text for 45 U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including the New Haven Register and New London Day. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
- New York Times (1985-present) This link opens in a new window New York newspaper with local, regional, national, and international news coverage. Includes backfile to the current issue.
- New York Times Online Edition This link opens in a new window Requires creation of free account using campus email address.
- ResearchIT CT Newsstream This link opens in a new window Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, regional newspapers as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It delivers full-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites. Includes preferred access to content from The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, CNN Newswires, and the Huffington Post.
- Wall Street Journal (1984-present) This link opens in a new window The Wall Street Journal is an American business and economic-focused international daily newspaper based in New York City. The Journal is published six days a week.
- Wall Street Journal Online Edition This link opens in a new window Stay ahead of the competition with the periodical that’s as ambitious as you are. Get the trusted insights and in-depth analysis you need from The Wall Street Journal, America’s most trusted newspaper—providing key decision-makers around the world with peerless reporting since 1889.Requires creation of free account using campus email address.
- Washington Post (1987-present) This link opens in a new window The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics. With 750+ searchable, full-text titles, Credo Reference places particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
- Referencia Latina This link opens in a new window A comprehensive Spanish-language database with 49,000 encyclopedia entries; 50,000 images; 2,500 health reports; a Spanish-English dictionary and full text for over 100 reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Its intuitive, theme-based Spanish-language interface is designed to make content readily accessible to non-English users with limited online research experience.
- Sage Reference This link opens in a new window Start your research with authoritative encyclopedias and handbooks in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Salem Press Reference Shelf - Gateway Campus This link opens in a new window A collection of reference text covering topics such as literature, history, science, health & careers plus a whole lot more.
What is a peer-reviewed article?
|
What is a peer-reviewed article? Peer-reviewed articles are the articles |
How to find a peer-reviewed article? Search the library databases, many of which allow you to limit the search results to peer-reviewed or scholarly articles:
|