eBook Databases
- Diversity & Ethnic Studies eBook Collection This link opens in a new window This subscription collection includes academic eBooks related to diversity, anti-racism, ethnic studies, disability studies, gerontology & age studies, migration studies, gender and sexuality studies, cultural studies, and religious studies. The collection utilizes outside resources and scholarship to ensure that the collection remains up to date and aligned with current research.
- eBook Central College Complete This link opens in a new window College Complete is a comprehensive ebook subscription that helps prepare students for academic and career success. This resource covers all academic subject areas and content for in-demand trade jobs. Gain access to content in traditional disciplines like business, management and nursing; emerging areas like artificial intelligence (AI) and criminal justice; and topics to support specific skills like advanced manufacturing, construction and healthcare.
- EBSCO eBooks Academic Subscription Collection This link opens in a new window Access a cross-searchable, multidisciplinary library of over 210,000 high-quality, unlimited-user e-books from leading university presses and academic publishers such as Cambridge University Press, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Harvard University Press, John Wiley & Sons, Oxford University Press, Sage Publications, State University of New York Press, Taylor & Francis, and University of California Press. These ebooks cover a large section of academic subjects and new titles are added the collection continuously.
- Gale eBooks - Gateway Campus This link opens in a new window Full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Free eBooks from Selected Websites
Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts - Texts of about 21,000 public domain documents from American and English literature and Western philosophy.
Digital Book Index - Contains more than 145,000 full-text digital books on many different subjects, most of which are free.
eScholarship Editions - (California Digital Library) Over 500 open access books from academic presses.
Google Book Search - Search full text of over 7 million books. Access to the full-text is limited.
Classic books - in the public domain (published before 1923) can be fully downloaded.
Humanities Text Initiative - (Univ. of Michigan) Electronic texts in the humanities, for example, English language and literature,
religious texts, American life, ethnic groups, travel.
Internet Archive: Text Archive - An open-access archive of over 300,000 digital texts in historical collections
to provide permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars. Sub-collections are Project Gutenberg, American Libraries,
Canadian Libraries, Open Source Books, and Children's Library.
The Online Books Page - (UPenn Library) The University of Pennsylvania's listing of over 35,000 free online books.
Online Library of Liberty - Classic works on art, economics, history, law, literature, music, philosophy,
political theory, religion, science, sociology, war and peace. Topics include Education and the American Revolution, etc.
Librivox - Audio versions of public domain books available for download in .mp3 or .ogg formats. Librivox's goal is to make all public domain books available as free audio books.
Manybooks.net - All of the eBooks from manybooks.net are free.Many of the etexts are from the November, 2003 Project Gutenberg DVD, which contains the entire Project Gutenberg archives except for the Human Genome Project and audio eBooks, due to size limitations, and the Project Gutenberg of Australia eBooks, due to copyright. As of July 2004 most current PG texts are available here, usually within the week of release. There are also public domain and creative commons works from many other sources.
Turning The Pages - The British Library digitized some of their most valuable works, such as the first atlas of Europe, the Diamond Sutra hailed as the “oldest printed book,” and the original Alice’s Adventures Under Ground by Lewis Carroll. A browser-based application enables the reader to leaf through the books, making the illusion of reading a book online more real.