Search Gateway Library Catalog
Select Titles
Give Me Liberty!: an American History 5e Seagull Volume 1 with Ebook and IQ by
Give Me Liberty! is the #1 book in the U.S. history survey course because it works in the classroom. A single-author text by a leader in the field, Give Me Liberty! delivers an authoritative, accessible, concise, and integrated American history.
Call Number: Reserves - ask at Service Desk
America by
Lively yet concise, The Essential Learning Edition of America blends Shi and Tindall's unrivalled narrative style with innovative pedagogy to help students understand major historical developments and strengthen critical interpretive skills.
Call Number: Reserves - ask at Service Desk
U. S. History by
U.S. History covers the breadth of the chronological history of the United States and also provides the necessary depth to ensure the course is manageable for instructors and students alike. U.S. History is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of most courses. The authors introduce key forces and major developments that together form the American experience, with particular attention paid to considering issues of race, class, and gender. The text provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience).
Call Number: Reserves - ask at Service Desk
Colonial America by
Colonial America: A History to 1763, 4th Edition provides updated and revised coverage of the background, founding, and development of the thirteen English North American colonies. Fully revised and expanded fourth edition, with updated bibliography Includes new coverage of the simultaneous development of French, Spanish, and Dutch colonies in North America, and extensively re-written and updated chapters on families and women Features enhanced coverage of the English colony of Barbados and trans-Atlantic influences on colonial development Provides a greater focus on the perspectives of Native Americans and their influences in shaping the development of the colonies
Call Number: E188 .M52 2011
Becoming America by
Multinational, profit-driven, materialistic, politically self-conscious, power-hungry, religiously plural: America three hundred years ago - and today. Here are Britain's mainland American colonies after 1680, in the process of becoming the first modern society - a society the earliest colonists never imagined, a new order of the ages that anticipated the American revolution, Jon Butler's panoramic view of the colonies in this epoch transforms our customary picture of pre-Revolutionary America. it reveals a strikingly modern character that belies the 18th century quaintness fixed in history.
Call Number: E188 .B97 2000
Colonial America by
Colonial America deals with the development of the American colonies from the first permanent settlement at Jamestown to the independence of the thirteen which became the USA. Instead of anticipating the birth of a nation, as is too often the case, Mary K. Geiter and W.A. Speck treat the history of the colonies as part of the wider history of the British Empire. They also include in their discussion those colonies which did not rebel against British rule, such as the islands in the West Indies. Using this valuable and informative approach to the study of the American colonies, Geiter and Speck demonstrate how Britain and America shared a common history for nearly two hundred years.
Call Number: E188 .G375 2002
American Spring by
A vibrant look at the American Revolution's first months, from the author of the bestseller The Admirals. When we reflect on our nation's history, the American Revolution can feel almost like a foregone conclusion. In reality, the first weeks and months of 1775 were very tenuous, and a fractured and ragtag group of colonial militias had to coalesce rapidly to have even the slimmest chance of toppling the mighty British Army. American Spring follows a fledgling nation from Paul Revere's little-known ride of December 1774 and the first shots fired on Lexington Green through the catastrophic Battle of Bunker Hill, culminating with a Virginian named George Washington taking command of colonial forces on July 3, 1775. Focusing on the colorful heroes John Hancock, Samuel Adams, Mercy Otis Warren, Benjamin Franklin, and Patrick Henry, and the ordinary Americans caught up in the revolution, Walter R. Borneman uses newly available sources and research to tell the story of how a decade of discontent erupted into an armed rebellion that forged our nation.
Call Number: E231 .B67 2014
Defiance of the Patriots by
An evocative and enthralling account of a defining event in American history This thrilling book tells the full story of the an iconic episode in American history, the Boston Tea Party--exploding myths, exploring the unique city life of eighteenth-century Boston, and setting this audacious prelude to the American Revolution in a global context for the first time. Bringing vividly to life the diverse array of people and places that the Tea Party brought together--from Chinese tea-pickers to English businessmen, Native American tribes, sugar plantation slaves, and Boston's ladies of leisure--Benjamin L. Carp illuminates how a determined group of New Englanders shook the foundations of the British Empire, and what this has meant for Americans since. As he reveals many little-known historical facts and considers the Tea Party's uncertain legacy, he presents a compelling and expansive history of an iconic event in America's tempestuous past.
Call Number: E215.7 .C37 2010
Slavery in America by
The history of the enslavement of African Americans in North America stretches from the beginning of European colonization and lasted until the end of the Civil War.
Call Number: E441 .S36 2000
The Causes of the American Revolution by
Wahlke is a comprehensive study of the events and factors that led to the American Revolution. The book analyzes the political, economic, and social conditions in the colonies that contributed to the colonists' desire for independence from British rule. It examines the various acts and policies imposed by the British government, such as the Stamp Act and the Tea Act, which sparked protests and resistance from the colonists. The book also delves into the role of influential figures, such as Samuel Adams and Thomas Paine, in shaping the revolutionary movement.
Call Number: E210.W3 1962
As If an Enemy's Country by
In the dramatic few years when colonial Americans were galvanized to resist British rule, perhaps nothing did more to foment anti-British sentiment than the armed occupation of Boston. As If an Enemy's Country is Richard Archer's gripping narrative of those critical months between October 1, 1768 and the winter of 1770 when Boston was an occupied town. When the British government decided to garrison Boston with troops, it posed a shocking challenge to the people of Massachusetts. The city was flooded with troops; almost immediately, tempers flared and violent conflicts broke out. Archer's vivid tale culminates in the swirling tragedy of the Boston Massacre and its aftermath, including the trial and exoneration of the British troops involved. A thrilling and original work of history, As If an Enemy's Country tells the riveting story of what made the Boston townspeople, and with them other colonists, turn toward revolution.
Call Number: E210 .A73 2010
Strange New Land by
Engaging and accessibly written, Strange New Land explores the history of slavery and the struggle for freedom before the United States became a nation. Beginning with the colonization of North America, Peter Wood documents the transformation of slavery from a brutal form of indentured servitude to a full-blown system of racial domination. Strange New Land focuses on how Africans survived this brutal process--and ultimately shaped the contours of American racial slavery through numerous means, including: Mastering English and making it their own Converting to Christianity and transforming the religion Holding fast to Islam or combining their spiritual beliefs with the faith of their masters Recalling skills and beliefs, dances and stories from the Old World, which provided a key element in their triumphant story of survival Listening to talk of liberty and freedom, of the rights of man and embracing it as a fundamental right--even petitioning colonial administrators and insisting on that right. Against the troubling backdrop of American slavery, Strange New Land surveys black social and cultural life, superbly illustrating how such a diverse group of people from the shores of West and Central Africa became a community in North America.
Call Number: E185.18 .W66 2003
Land of Promise by
From the eighteenth to the twenty-first centuries, the American economy has been transformed by wave after wave of emerging technology: the steam engine, electricity, the internal combustion engine, computer technology. Yet technology-driven change leads to growing misalignment between an innovative economy and anachronistic legal and political structures until the gap is closed by the modernization of America's institutions--often amid upheavals such as the Civil War and Reconstruction and the Great Depression and World War II.
Call Number: HC103 .L438 2012
The Classical Foundations of the American Constitution by
The framers of the American Constitution were substantially influenced by ancient history and classical political theory, as exemplified by their education, the availability of classical readings, and their inculcation in classical republican values.
Call Number: JK116 .B43 2008
Empire of Liberty by
Gordon S. Wood, offers a brilliant account of the early American Republic, ranging from 1789 and the beginning of the national government to the end of the War of 1812.
Call Number: E164 .W63 2009
Industrial Revolution in World History by
Peter Stearns offers a genuinely world-historical approach, looking at the international factors that touched off the industrial revolution and at its global spread and impact. Stearns begins with an examination of industrialization in the West, but he also treats later cases in other societies--including Japan and the United States, as well as newly revised sections on Russia, Asia, and Latin America--providing the comparative analysis usually lacking in single-nation treatments. Although Stearns defines the essence of industrialization in terms of technology and economic organization, he pays substantial attention to larger social results, especially changes in the experience of work and shifts in family functions and gender roles.
A Companion to Colonial America by
A Companion to Colonial America consists of twenty-three original essays by expert historians on the key issues and topics in American colonial history. Coverage includes politics, religion, migration, gender, ecology, and many others.
American Colonial History by
Interweaving primary documents and new scholarship with a vivid narrative reconstructing the lives of European colonists, Africans, and Native Americans and their encounters in colonial North America, Kidd offers fresh perspectives on these events and the period as a whole. This compelling volume is organized around themes of religion and conflict, and distinguished by its incorporation of an expanded geographic frame.
The Ideological Origins of the American Revolution by
In this 25th anniversary edition, Bailyn has added a substantial essay, Fulfillment, as a Postscript to the original text. In it he discusses the intense, nation-wide debate on the ratification of the constitution, stressing the continuities between that struggle over the foundations of the national government and the original principles of the Revolution. This study of the persistence of the nation's ideological origins adds a new dimension to the book and projects its meaning forward into vital present concerns.
A Short History of the American Revolutionary War by
The American war against British imperial rule (1775-1783) was the world's first great popular revolution. Ideologically defined by the colonists' formal Declaration of Independence in 1776, the struggle has taken on something of a mythic character. From the Boston Tea Party to Paul Revere's ride to raise the countryside of New England against the march of the Redcoats; and from the American travails of Bunker Hill (1775) to the final humiliation of the British at Yorktown (1781), the entire contest is now emblematic of American national identity.
ISBN: 0857733540
