Searching the Online Catalog
Reference Books
Reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, atlases) give concise introductions to topics. Use them to:
- explore topics for research;
- get background information;
- explain unfamiliar ideas.
Reference sources are available at the MCC Library in both print and electronic formats.
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry by Call Number: REF QD4 .V36 2005ISBN: 0471615250Publication Date: 2005-02-03
Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis by Call Number: REF QD78 .B78 2003ISBN: 0849315735Publication Date: 2003-12-29
The Facts on File Chemistry Handbook by Call Number: REF QE5 .F3211 2001ISBN: 0816045852Publication Date: 2001-05-01
The World of Chemistry by
Articles on theories, discoveries, concepts, and notable people in chemistry.
Call Number: REF QD33 .W873 2000ISBN: 0787636509Publication Date: 1999-12-01
Concise Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by Call Number: REF TP9 .K54 1999ISBN: 0471296988Publication Date: 1999-03-15
The Facts on File Dictionary of Chemistry by Call Number: REF QD5 .F33 1999ISBN: 0816039097Publication Date: 1999-05-01
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary by Call Number: REF QD5 .C5 1997ISBN: 0471292052Publication Date: 1997-09-01
Dictionary of Chemical Names and Synonyms by Call Number: REF TP9 .H65 1992ISBN: 0873713966Publication Date: 1992-08-25
Books on Chemistry
Beginning Chemistry by
Basic concepts
Atoms and atomic masses
Electronic configuration of the atom
Chemical bonding
Inorganic nomenclature
Formula calculations
Chemical equations
Stoichiometry
Gases
Oxidation and reduction
Solutions
Rates and equilibrium
Acid-base theory
Organic chemistry
Periodic table.
Call Number: QD41 G648 2011ISBN: 0071745882Publication Date: 2010-09-17
College Chemistry by
Quantities and units
Moles and empirical formula
Calculations based on chemical equations
Concentration and solution stoichiometry
The ideal gas law and kinetic theory
Thermochemistry
Atomic structure
Chemical bonding and molecular structure
Solids and liquids
Oxidation-reduction
Properties of solutions
Thermodynamics and chemical equilibrium
Acids and bases
Precipitates and complex ions
Electrochemistry
Rates of reactions.
Call Number: QD41 R668 2011ISBN: 0071745874Publication Date: 2010-09-23
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by Call Number: QD65 C7 2010ISBN: 1439820775Publication Date: 2010-07-01
The Joy of Chemistry by
This book challenges the perception of chemistry as too difficult to bother with and too clinical to be any for. Cathy Cobb and Monty L Fetterolf, both professional chemists and experienced educators, introduce readers to the magic, elegance, and, yes, joy of chemistry. From the fascination of fall foliage and fireworks, to the functioning of smoke detectors and computers, to the fundamentals of digestion (as when good pizza goes bad!), the authors illustrate the concepts of chemistry in terms of everyday experience, using familiar materials. The authors begin with a bangs colourful bottle rocket assembled from common objects you find in the garage - and then present the principles of chemistry using household chemicals and friendly, non-technical language. They guide the reader through the basics of atomic structure, the nature of molecular bonds, and the vibrant universe of chemical reactions. Using analogy and example to illuminate essential concepts such as thermodynamics, photochemistry, electrochemistry, and chemical equilibrium, they explain the whys and wherefores of chemical reactions. Hands-on demonstrations, selected for their ease of execution and relevance, illustrate basic principles, and lively commentaries emphasise the fun and fascination of learning about chemistry. This delightful and richly informative book amply proves that chemistry can appeal to our intuition, logic, and - if we are willing to get down and dirty - our sense of enjoyment too --- Product Description.
Call Number: QD35 C56 2010ISBN: 1591027713Publication Date: 2009-10-01
More Chemistry Basics by
Déjà review
Dynamic atoms
The name's Bond ... pi bond
Special reactions
Electro-luminescence
Half a life is better than none
A little organic.
Call Number: QD37 R534 2010ISBN: 1933531479Publication Date: 2010-03-01
General, Organic, and Biochemistry for Nursing and Allied Health by Call Number: QD41 O26 2009ISBN: 0071611657Publication Date: 2009-07-24
Cathedrals of Science by
The ionists: Arrhenius and Nernst
Physical chemistry in America: Lewis and Langmuir
The third law and nitrogen: Haber and Nernst
Chemists at war: Haber, Nernst, Langmuir, and Harkins
Science and the Nazis: Nernst and Haber
Nobel prizes: Lewis and Langmuir
Nuclear chemistry: Lewis, Urey, and Seaborg
Secret of life: Pauling, Wrinch, and Langmuir
Pathological science: Langmuir
Lewis's last days.
Call Number: Q180.55 D57 C64 2008ISBN: 0195321340Publication Date: 2008-08-29
Chemistry by
Prologue
1. Measurements
2. Energy and matter
3. Atoms and elements
4. Compounds and their bonds
5. Chemical quantities and reactions
6. Gases
7. Solutions
8. Acids and bases
9. Nuclear radiation
10. Introduction to organic chemistry : alkanes
11. Unsaturated hydrocarbons
12. Organic compounds with oxygen and sulfur
13. Carboxylic acids, esters, amines, and amides
14. Carbohydrates
15. Lipids
16. Amino acids, proteins, and enzymes
17. Nucleic acids and protein synthesis
18. Metabolic pathways and energy production.
Call Number: QD31.3 T55 2009ISBN: 0136019706Publication Date: 2008-02-08
Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry by
"Fully revised and updated, the sixth edition of this popular dictionary covers all aspects of chemistry from physical chemistry to biochemisty, and boasts broader coverage in forensics, metallurgy, and geology. It is the ideal reference resource for students of chemistry and related subjects at school or university." "Features: over 4,700 entries - including feature entries on important topics such as polymers and crystal defects, and biographies of key figures; chronologies charting the main discoveries in such fields as atomic theory, biochemistry, explosives, and physics; and recommended web links for over 200 entries updated on the Dictionary of Chemistry website."--BOOK JACKET
Call Number: QD5 D4985 2008ISBN: 0199204632Publication Date: 2008-04-15
An Introduction to Chemistry for Biology Students by Call Number: QD33.2 S33 2008ISBN: 0805395717Publication Date: 2007-03-16
Physical Chemistry for the Life Sciences by Call Number: QP517 P49 E54 2008ISBN: 0805382771Publication Date: 2007-07-12
Chemical Calculations by Call Number: QD39.3 M3 Y38 2007ISBN: 0849391644Publication Date: 2007-02-27
Chemistry Basics by
Simple models
Better models
Periodicity
Let's get together : yeah, yeah, yeah
Balancing act
Organic, dude
Call Number: QD37 R53 2007ISBN: 0873552393Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Basic Concepts of Chemistry by Call Number: QD31.3 .M344 2004ISBN: 0471215228Publication Date: 2003-03-07
The Art of Chemistry by
The Art of chemistry employs 187 figures to illuminate 72 essays on the mythical origins, experiments, and adventurous explorers in the annals of chemistry. Each of the eight sections tracks chemistry's incremental progress from myth to modern science, featuring the figures and diagrams that early chemists used to explain their craft. Readers will meet the deadly basilisk and the fabulous phoenix that populated the lore of pre-modern chemistry, learn the contributions to chemistry of Benjamin Franklin, and encounter Antoine Lavoisier, the father of modern chemistry. Greenberg also examines our fundamental connections with science through two personal essays, one on an adolescent friend who became a world-renowned entomology professor and the other on his quest to discover his own chemical heritage.
Call Number: QD11 .G735 2003ISBN: 0471071803Publication Date: 2002-12-09
Chemistry Connections by
One of the greatest challenges facing chemists and chemical educators today is conveying the central importance and relevance of chemistry to students and society at large. Chemistry Connections: The Chemical Basis of Everyday Phenomena highlights the fundamental role of chemical principles in governing our everyday experiences and observations through a collection of provocative, topical questions. It explains the fundamental role of chemical principles in governing our everyday experiences and observations. Introductory chemistry students and educators as well as lay persons with an inquisitiveness about the world around them will find the book an informative introduction to the context of chemistry in their lives. Chemistry Connections is written in a question-and-answer format with presentations in both lay and technical terms.
Call Number: QD37 .K34 2003ISBN: 0124001513Publication Date: 2003-03-27
Fundamentals of General, Organic and Biological Chemistry by Call Number: QD31.3 .M33 2003ISBN: 0130418420Publication Date: 2002-06-27
The Last Sorcerers by
1. The four elements
2. Prelude to the birth of chemistry
3. The sceptical chymist
4. The discovery of the elements
5. A nail for the coffin
6. "Only an instant to cut off that head"
7. The atom
8. Problems with atoms
9. The periodic law
10. Deciphering the atom
Call Number: QD11 .M86 2003ISBN: 0309089050Publication Date: 2004-03-01
Magick, Mayhem, and Mavericks by Call Number: QD452 .C63 2002ISBN: 157392976XPublication Date: 2002-06-01
Mendeleyev's Dream by
In the beginning
Practice of alchemy
Genius and gibberish
Paracelsus
Trial and error
Elements of science
Born-again science
Things never seen before
Great phlogiston mystery
Mystery solved
Formula for chemistry
Search for a hidden structure
Mendeleyev
Periodic table.
Call Number: QD22.M43 S87 2002ISBN: 0425184676Publication Date: 2002-06-04
Radar, Hula Hoops, and Playful Pigs by Call Number: QD37 .S38 2002ISBN: 0805074074Publication Date: 2001-08-30
Stories of the Invisible by Call Number: QD461 .B228 2001ISBN: 0192802143Publication Date: 2001-10-25
Bringing Chemistry to Life by Call Number: QD33 .W718 1999ISBN: 0198505469Publication Date: 2000-02-24
The Norton History of Chemistry by Call Number: QD11 .B76 1993ISBN: 0393035360Publication Date: 1993-09-01
CREDOreference
CREDOreference is a database of over 500 reference e-books.
Click here to get the topic page for Chemistry.
Chemists
Antoine Lavoisier by
Part I Ambition, Knowledge, and Public Service: 1743 to 1775
Part II Consolidation and Contestation: 1775 to 1789
Part III Revolutionary Politics: 1789 to 1794.
Notes:Includes bibliographical references (p. 327-338) and index.
Call Number: QD22.L4 D58 1996ISBN: 052156672XPublication Date: 1996-04-11
The Atmosphere of Heaven by
Contents:Prologue: Bastille Day 1791
1. Freedom's Garland
2. The Lunar Son
3. The Projector
4. The Watchmen
5. The Extraordinary Person from Penzance
6. Wild Gas
7. New Worlds
8. A Victim to Experiments
Epilogue: The Last Days of a Philosopher.
Call Number: R489.B4 J39 2009ISBN: 0300124392Publication Date: 2009-05-26- Cathedrals of Science by
The ionists: Arrhenius and Nernst
Physical chemistry in America: Lewis and Langmuir
The third law and nitrogen: Haber and Nernst
Chemists at war: Haber, Nernst, Langmuir, and Harkins
Science and the Nazis: Nernst and Haber
Nobel prizes: Lewis and Langmuir
Nuclear chemistry: Lewis, Urey, and Seaborg
Secret of life: Pauling, Wrinch, and Langmuir
Pathological science: Langmuir
Lewis's last days.
Call Number: Q180.55.D57 C64 2008ISBN: 0195321340Publication Date: 2008-08-29
The Curies by
Pierre Curie
Marie Salomea Sklodowska
Pierre and Marie in Love
Mutual Adoration
Spirits, Radioactivity and the Price of Fame
Psychic Researchers
Pierre Curie's Last Day
Rescuing Langevin From His Wife
Battered by the Press
Surgery and Suffragettes
- "Little Curies" and World War I
A Gift of Radium From the United States
Radium: Miracle Cure or Menace?
A Great Discovery - At Last
Marie Curie's Last Year
Nobel Prizes, Spanish Civil War and Fission
France Defeated
Joliot Keeps the Gestapo Guessing - Eve Curie Tours the Battlefronts
Joliot Become a Communist - Eve Curie Interviews Nehru, Gandhi and Jinnah
The Battle for Paris
Joliot's Fight for Peace and Communism
Joliot launches Peace Offensive and Charges U.S. With Using Germ Warfare in Korea
The Curie Legacy.
Notes:Includes bibliographical references (p. 424-426) and index.
Call Number: QD22.C79 B75 2005ISBN: 0471273910Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Good Chemistry by
Pt. I. The biography of Leo Henryk Sternbach
A cure for troubled souls
Pearl of the Adriatic
First blossoming
A chemist of world renown
Upholding success
Pt. II. The drug that changed the world
The benzodiazepine story
The crippling cost of anxiety and the benzodiazepine revolution
A social history: putting benzodiazepine into perspective
The scientific impact of the benzodiazepines
The present and the future.
Call Number: RM666.B42 G66 2004ISBN: 0071426175Publication Date: 2003-10-15
The Last Sorcerers by
Preface
1. The four elements
2. Prelude to the birth of chemistry
3. The sceptical chymist
4. The discovery of the elements
5. A nail for the coffin
6. "Only an instant to cut off that head"
7. The atom
8. Problems with atoms
9. The periodic law
10. Deciphering the atom
Epilogue : the continuing search
appendix. A catalog of the elements
Call Number: QD11 .M86 2003ISBN: 0309089050Publication Date: 2004-03-01
Marie Curie by
Early life and education
Preparing for the future
Paris and the Sorbonne
Pierre and Marie
The discovery of radium: a scientific breakthrough
A year of contrasts: good news, bad news
"Pierre is dead? dead? absolutely dead?"
Scandal!
The second Nobel prize, its aftermath, and War
Marie and the United States of America
Last years.
Notes:Includes bibliographical references and index.
Call Number: QD22.C8 O35 2010ISBN: 1616142162Publication Date: 2010-10-01
Marie Curie and Her Daughters by
An Absolutely Miserable Year
Moving On
Meeting Missy
Finally, America
The White House
New and Improved
Another Dynamic Duo
Turning to America
Again
Into the Spotlight
The End Of A Quest
Tributes and New Causes
All About Eve
The Ravages Of Another World War
Rough Waters
The Legacy.
Notes:"Marie Curie was the first person to be honored by two Nobel Prizes and she pioneered the use of radiation therapy for cancer patients. But she was also a mother, widowed young, who raised two extraordinary daughters alone: Irene, a Nobel Prize winning chemist in her own right, who played an important role in the development of the atomic bomb, and Eve, a highly regarded humanitarian and journalist, who fought alongside the French Resistance during WWII. As a woman fighting to succeed in a male dominated profession and a Polish immigrant caught in a xenophobic society, she had to find ways to support her research. Drawing on personal interviews with Curie's descendents, as well as revelatory new archives, this is a wholly new story about Marie Curie--and a family of women inextricably connected to the dawn of nuclear physics"--
Call Number: QD22.C8 E46 2012ISBN: 0230115713Publication Date: 2012-08-21- Mendeleyev's Dream by
In the beginning
Practice of alchemy
Genius and gibberish
Paracelsus
Trial and error
Elements of science
Born-again science
Things never seen before
Great phlogiston mystery
Mystery solved
Formula for chemistry
Search for a hidden structure
Mendeleyev
Call Number: QD22.M43 S87 2002ISBN: 0425184676Publication Date: 2002-06-04
Obsessive Genius by
Early influences
"I came through it all honestly"
Paris
Pierre
Remarkable accidents
"The question was entirely new"
"The best sprinters"
"A beautiful color"
"What is the source of the energy?"
"I will make him an help meet for him"
"The disaster of our lives"
"We were happy"
The metamorphosis
"My children...cannot awaken life in me"
"The chemistry of the invisible"
Honor and dishonor
"She is very obstinate"
"All my strength"
The making of a myth
To pass the torch
Marie's legacy.
Call Number: QD22.C8 G56 2005ISBN: 0393051374Publication Date: 2004-11-01
Organic Chemistry
- Fundamentals of General, Organic and Biological Chemistry by Call Number: QD31.3 .M33 2003ISBN: 0130418420Publication Date: 2002-06-27
