Finding articles on Chemistry
The following subscription databases can be searched for reputable periodical articles on chemistry. Off campus access to the databases will require you to login to my.commnet.edu and to type in your NETID and password.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- In Context: Science This link opens in a new window
From climate change to genetically modified organisms to fracking, the wealth of content in Gale In Context: Science spans the fields of biology, chemistry, physics, earth and environmental science, health and medicine, and math and technology. Go beyond research projects and choose from over 350 experiments in 200 entries to assign during everyday instruction, enabling hands-on learning anywhere students have online access.
- Interactive Chemistry This link opens in a new window
Gale Interactive Chemistry engages students and aids comprehension by pairing reference material with manipulable 3D models. This database follows 1st and 2nd-year college syllabus topics like the periodic table, molecules and compounds, reactions, and chemical processes. Dive deeply into concepts with tools to zoom, rotate, and explore interactive models. Clicking through each session displays relevant reference content related to the image, complete with cross-search capabilities to locate the right information. These powerful visual tools can be used for in-class demonstrations or to help with homework and research assignments.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE. The database includes full text for over 1,470 journals and citations for over 4,800 biomedical journals with subjects like Biomedicine, Pre-Clinical Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Bioengineering, Health Policy Development, Life Sciences, Communication Disorders, Population Biology, and Reproductive Biology.
- Science Reference Center This link opens in a new windowTopics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.