Find Articles - Manchester ENG 1030 Composition II and Non-fiction Texts - L. Muldoon - Library at Connecticut State Community College

What is a Peer-Reviewed Article?

Peer-reviewed articles have been evaluated by several researchers or subject specialist in the academic community prior to accepting it for publication. Also known as scholarly or refereed.

In most databases you may limit your search to peer-reviewed, scholarly, or refereed publications by selecting this filter.

There may be content in peer reviewed journals which is not peer reviewed. These may be book reviews, letters, or front and back matter. In most cases, though, the research articles within will be peer reviewed. Consult a librarian if you're not sure.

Tips on Searching a Database

Best Bet Databases for Scholarly Sources

Reference Sources / Research Starters

Oxford English Dictionary The Oxford English Dictionary is the world's leading authority on the history and development of the English language since 1150. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, sometimes from as far back as the 11th century, and of the language—traced through 3.5 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts, song lyrics, and social media posts. 
Credo Reference Credo Reference is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics.  With 750+ searchable, full-text titles, Credo Reference places particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
CQ Researcher CQ Researcher offers in-depth, unbiased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on a wide range of topics including: health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the U.S. economy, crime, and civil liberties.  This acclaimed and award-winning weekly publication provides a balanced view of today's most pressing social, political, and economic issues. Each weekly report covers the given topic in a non-sensationalized manner, and many reports feature a pro/con debate, highlighting both sides of the argument. Access over 700 hot topics with pros and cons for your research papers and projects.

General / Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.  Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.  View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection The JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection contains all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources content in a single collection, including Archive Journal Collections and thematic collections; specifically, it includes Arts & Sciences I – XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Life Sciences, Public Health, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability journal collections. It also contains four primary source collections, 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants. This collection contains 2,877 high quality academic journals from across a wide range of disciplines and hundreds of thousands of primary source items.

Health & Wellness

Health and Wellness This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.  Full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia; perfect for researchers at all levels with more than 1,000 medical journals, periodicals, and articles from more than 2,200 general-interest publications, medical newspapers, newsletters and news feeds and hundreds of streaming videos. 
Health Source: Nursing and Academic Edition This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It includes nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, and medical law. It also features the AHFS (American Hospital Formulary Service® Drug Information) Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.  View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video 
CINAHL with Full Text CINAHL is a database of citations and abstracts for journal articles and other materials on nursing, communication sciences and disorders, and allied health sciences. This authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health with more than 2,000,000 records dating back to 1981. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
MEDLINE with Full Text MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE. The database includes full text for over 1,470 journals and citations for over 4,800 biomedical journals with subjects like Biomedicine, Pre-Clinical Sciences, Behavioral Sciences, Bioengineering, Health Policy Development, Life Sciences, Communication Disorders, Population Biology, and Reproductive Biology. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video

Current Issues & Controversies

In Context: Opposing Viewpoints Opposing Viewpoints offers material to support differing views to help develop critical thinking skills on thousands of current social topics in the forms of primary source documents, statistics, websites and multimedia.  Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues, including racism, capital punishment, global warming, and voting rights with reference sources, newspaper and magazine articles, scholarly journals, court cases, government documents, viewpoints, maps, images, audio, video and websites. 
Issues & Controversies Featuring a dynamic design and a wealth of features, Issues & Controversies helps researchers understand today's crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Issues and Controversies provides up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on prominent and hotly debated issues. It combines objective analysis with clear explanations of opposing points of view. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events.
In Context: Global Issues Designed to support global awareness, In Context: Global Issues ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world. Explore issues within government, law, health, science and technology, society and culture; it contains 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages along with 6,000 viewpoint commentaries.

Science & Environment

Science Reference Source Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Source provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video
GreenFILE GreenFile offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. View the EBSCO Search Tutorial Video

Manchester Campus Library

Manchester ENG 1030 Composition II and Non-fiction Texts - L. Muldoon

What is a Peer-Reviewed Article?

Tips on Searching a Database

Best Bet Databases for Scholarly Sources