Search
MCC Search provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more. Sign-in with your NetID and password to:
- Renew books and videos
- Request items owned by other CSCU libraries
- Create favorites lists
- View full search results. (Some databases only show results when you're signed in.)
Books That May Be Borrowed from MCC Library
Environmental science : a study of interrelationships by Call Number: GE105 .E54 2006 STACKSISBN: 007252829XPublication Date: 2006
Global climate change by Call Number: QC981.8.C5 G644 2006 STACKSISBN: 082421059XPublication Date: 2006
Sustainable environments by
Response to place. Site specificity ; Site conservation
Connection to habitat. Bioregionalism ; Environmental interface
Conservation of resources. Alternative energy sources ; Hyrdrological systems
Use of building materials. Elemental and experimental materials ; Salvaged and recycled materials
Directory of architects and designers.
Call Number: NA7110 .C38 2007 STACKSISBN: 1592532306Publication Date: 2007
The powers that be : global energy for the twenty-first century and beyond by
"With The Powers That Be, Scott L. Montgomery cuts through the hype, alarmism, and confusion to give us a straightforward, informed account of where we are now, and a map of where we're going. Starting with the inescapable fact of our current dependence on fossil fuels - which supply 80% of all our energy needs today - Montgomery clearly and carefully lays out the many alternative energy options available, ranging from the familiar, like water and solar, to such nascent but promising sources as hydrogen and geothermal power. What is crucial, Montgomery explains, is understanding that our future will depend not on some single, wondrous breakthrough; instead, we should focus on developing a more diverse, adaptable energy future, one that draws on a variety of sources - and is thus less vulnerable to disruption or failure."--pub. desc.-
Call Number: HD9502.A2 M656 2010 STACKSISBN: 0226535002Publication Date: 2010
Worldchanging : a user's guide for the 21st century by Call Number: HC79.E5 W676 2006 STACKSISBN: 0810930951Publication Date: 2006
Climate Change by
Taking the temperature of the planet / Peter deMenocal. Photo essay : climate change in the United States / Gary Braasch
Changes in the North / Stephanie Pfirman. Essay : reporting on climate change / Elizabeth Kolbert
Call Number: QC981.8.C5 S3556 2009ISBN: 0393331253Publication Date: 2009-04-06
Alaska's Place in the West by
"Alaska's story is usually confined to regional history books, and in many American history texts, the state simply disappears after the Klondike gold rush. Willis's book marks the first comprehensive examination of Alaskan development schemes from 1890 to the present, connecting these plans to the changing priorities of American culture and politics. She examines competing definitions of Alaska--from a "Last Frontier" meant to be exploited to a "Last Wilderness" to be protected at all costs--and explains how the contemporary Alaskan landscape is a result of this ongoing struggle to define this mythic state's place in the American West. Willis focuses on five historic battles between environmentalists and developers: the Alaska Native reindeer herding industry, the New Deal homesteader program in the Matanuska Colony, the construction of the Alaska Highway, the political dispute over the Rampart Dam, and the ongoing struggles over the Trans-Alaska Pipeline. She presents these case histories in clear language that will engage general readers while using new historical analysis that will appeal to scholars of environmental history and the American West. The result is an effective introduction to the historical origins of current political conflicts in Alaska. Transcending the typical regional histories of the state, Willis's study shows how Alaska development schemes have affected the history of American development more broadly, with conclusions that will be useful to anyone interested in environment and development issues in America or the circumpolar North--including a consideration of Alaska as the new frontier in global climate change. By showing why Alaska continues to resonate in the American imagination, Willis's book situates the forty-ninth state within the environmental movement, within the definition of the American West, and within American culture as a whole."--Jacket.
Call Number: GE155.A4 W55 2010ISBN: 0700617485Publication Date: 2010-09-16
The Weather of the Future by
From one of America's foremost experts on weather and climate change and a senior research scientist with Climate Central, comes this work, a book that predicts what different parts of the world will look like in the year 2050 if current levels of carbon emissions are maintained.
Call Number: QC903 .C85 2010ISBN: 0061726885Publication Date: 2010-08-03
Reserve Books
Essential Environment by
With this volume, we aim to meet the needs of instructors who favor a more succinct and afford-able book. We have distilled the most essential content from our full-length book, Environment: The Science behind the Stories, now in its sixth edition. We have streamlined our material, updated our coverage, and carefully crafted our writing to make Essential Environment every bit as readable, informative, and engaging as its parent volume.
Call Number: RESERVE DESK ENV 1010ISBN: 0134714881Publication Date: 2018-01-30
Topics in Environmental Studies - Ebooks
Encyclopedia of Energy by Draws together all aspects of energy, covering a wealth of areas throughout the natural, social and engineering sciences, providing easily accessible information about all aspects of energy, written by leading international authorities.
Encyclopedia of Volcanoes by A comprehensive reference work about volcanoes and volcanic processes.
Guide to Global Hazards by A guide to the many large-scale disasters that affect life on Earth.
American Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present by A collection of biographies of the men and women who have made a significant contribution to environmental issues over the last 200 years. Biographies range from scientists to advocates, businessmen to musicians, politicians to actors, along with others who have forever altered how we think about the environment.
Concise Encyclopedia of Plant PathologyAn easy-to-use reference source covering the full range of subject areas associated with plant pathology.
Guide to the Oceans by An authoritative and richly illustrated guide to the many facets of the world's oceans and seas. The first five sections describe the genesis and evolution of the oceans, the history of exploration, leisure on the oceans, sealife, and ocean resources. The Atlas section maps the ocean basins, their circulation patterns and unique features. An Encyclopedia of Marine Life catalogues the main groups of flora and fauna.
Environmental Studies - Ebooks
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology by Includes in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental protection and resource management.
Handbook of Global Environmental Politics by Consisting of original articles by leading scholars of global environmental politics, this landmark work maps the latest theoretical and empirical research in this young and growing field.
A Handbook of Globalisation and Environmental Policy by State-of-the-art examination of the critical effects of globalisation on environmental governance.
International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics by The essential reference source to enable all those with an interest in the politics of the environment to explore topics in international environmental politics.