Global Climate Change Paper

Global Climate Change Paper and Video

Area 1- ALASKA

You represent members of the city council for your community.  Your community is located in a coastal location in Alaska near Point Barrow (in the northern part of Alaska).  The community depends heavily on fishing, hunting and some tourism.   The community has a population of about 1000.   There is only one minor road leading to your community, and most travel is by air.

Make sure you include an overview of your community!

Complete an assessment of impacts and describe what might happen to your community if there were a sudden increase in global temperatures (over a 25 year period). 

Include information on

• local/regional climate changes including temperature and precipitation patterns;
• impacts to the food supply, changes to crop yields;
• impacts to fresh water supply;
• regional ecological changes (plant and animal communities);
• health concerns, including insect borne diseases and other concerns;
• impacts to the local/regional economy;
• concerns with power supply;
• and any other societal concerns.

Based on this information, devise a plan for your community to adapt to these changes.

(This does not mean providing suggestions to reduce atmospheric temperatures.)

For example:  You may state: “Based on the impacts to _(describe area of concern)___ which include ___(give information on the impacts)____, we propose that our community needs to do the following: _(describe plan for adaptation in this area)__”

You must provide references in APA format for your group project and papers, in the form of a “works cited” section that includes at least 5 reliable sources, at a minimum.

Your paper covers everything above, but you must also make and upload a viewable video of you presenting to your community at a town commission meeting (real or imagined in one of the assignment areas). Give your in-depth recommendations on specific adaptations strategies, why you picked them, how they work, an assessment of their feasibility and an estimate of cost- be detailed and convincing! You want to show all the environmental science skills you have acquired and be accurate.  You want to convince the town with your expertise.   Be creative and detailed, but accurate and explain what is feasible, cost manageable and why. 

Global Climate Change Paper and Video

Area 2- Bangladesh

You represent members of the city council for your community.  Your community is located in a coastal location in Bangladesh.  The community depends on light industry as well as fishing and farming.  It is trying to support the rapidly increasing technology component of its economy.   The community has a population of about 1,000,000.

Make sure you include an overview of your community!

Complete an assessment of impacts and describe what might happen to your community if there were a sudden increase in global temperatures (over a 25 year period). 

Include information on

• local/regional climate changes including temperature and precipitation patterns;
• impacts to the food supply, changes to crop yields;
• impacts to fresh water supply;
• regional ecological changes (plant and animal communities);
• health concerns, including insect borne diseases and other concerns;
• impacts to the local/regional economy;
• concerns with power supply;
• and any other societal concerns.

Based on this information, devise a plan for your community to adapt to these changes.

(This does not mean providing suggestions to reduce atmospheric temperatures.)

For example:  You may state: “Based on the impacts to _(describe area of concern)___ which include ___(give information on the impacts)____, we propose that our community needs to do the following: _(describe plan for adaptation in this area)__”

You must provide references in APA format for your group project and papers, in the form of a “works cited” section that includes at least 5 reliable sources, at a minimum.

Your paper covers everything above, but you must also make and upload a viewable video of you presenting to your community at a town commission meeting (real or imagined in one of the assignment areas). Give your in-depth recommendations on specific adaptations strategies, why you picked them, how they work, an assessment of their feasibility and an estimate of cost- be detailed and convincing! You want to show all the environmental science skills you have acquired and be accurate.  You want to convince the town with your expertise.   Be creative and detailed, but accurate and explain what is feasible, cost manageable and why. 

Global Climate Change Paper and Video

Area 3- South Carolina

You represent members of the city council for your community.  Your community is located in a coastal location in South Carolina.  The community depends heavily on fishing and tourism.   The community has a population of about 5,000.  Located nearby (and upwind) is a large city of nearly 100,000 people.

Make sure you include an overview of your community!

Complete an assessment of impacts and describe what might happen to your community if there were a sudden increase in global temperatures (over a 25 year period). 

Include information on

• local/regional climate changes including temperature and precipitation patterns;
• impacts to the food supply, changes to crop yields;
• impacts to fresh water supply;
• regional ecological changes (plant and animal communities);
• health concerns, including insect borne diseases and other concerns;
• impacts to the local/regional economy;
• concerns with power supply;
• and any other societal concerns.

Based on this information, devise a plan for your community to adapt to these changes.

(This does not mean providing suggestions to reduce atmospheric temperatures.)

For example:  You may state: “Based on the impacts to _(describe area of concern)___ which include ___(give information on the impacts)____, we propose that our community needs to do the following: _(describe plan for adaptation in this area)__”

You must provide references in APA format for your group project and papers, in the form of a “works cited” section that includes at least 5 reliable sources, at a minimum.

Your paper covers everything above, but you must also make and upload a viewable video of you presenting to your community at a town commission meeting (real or imagined in one of the assignment areas). Give your in-depth recommendations on specific adaptations strategies, why you picked them, how they work, an assessment of their feasibility and an estimate of cost- be detailed and convincing! You want to show all the environmental science skills you have acquired and be accurate.  You want to convince the town with your expertise.   Be creative and detailed, but accurate and explain what is feasible, cost manageable and why. 

Global Climate Change Paper and Video

Area 4-Oklahoma

You represent members of the city council for your community.  Your community is located in central Oklahoma.  The community depends heavily on farming and ranching.  The community uses surface water from a local reservoir for crop irrigation and livestock watering.  The community has a population of about 2,000, and is located approximately 100 miles from an urban center of 50,000 people.

Make sure you include an overview of your community!

Complete an assessment of impacts and describe what might happen to your community if there were a sudden increase in global temperatures (over a 25 year period). 

Include information on

• local/regional climate changes including temperature and precipitation patterns;
• impacts to the food supply, changes to crop yields;
• impacts to fresh water supply;
• regional ecological changes (plant and animal communities);
• health concerns, including insect borne diseases and other concerns;
• impacts to the local/regional economy;
• concerns with power supply;
• and any other societal concerns.

Based on this information, devise a plan for your community to adapt to these changes.

(This does not mean providing suggestions to reduce atmospheric temperatures.)

For example:  You may state: “Based on the impacts to _(describe area of concern)___ which include ___(give information on the impacts)____, we propose that our community needs to do the following: _(describe plan for adaptation in this area)__”

You must provide references in APA format for your group project and papers, in the form of a “works cited” section that includes at least 5 reliable sources, at a minimum.

Your paper covers everything above, but you must also make and upload a viewable video of you presenting to your community at a town commission meeting (real or imagined in one of the assignment areas). Give your in-depth recommendations on specific adaptations strategies, why you picked them, how they work, an assessment of their feasibility and an estimate of cost- be detailed and convincing! You want to show all the environmental science skills you have acquired and be accurate.  You want to convince the town with your expertise.   Be creative and detailed, but accurate and explain what is feasible, cost manageable and why. 

Global Climate Change Paper and Video

Area 5-Maldives

You represent members of the city council for your community.  Your community is located in a coastal location in the Maldives.  The community depends heavily on fishing, and it also depends on tourism.   Many excursions are taken to sensitive and beautiful aquatic and wetland habitats for wildlife viewing and snorkeling.  The community has population of 1,000.

 Make sure you include an overview of your community!

Complete an assessment of impacts and describe what might happen to your community if there were a sudden increase in global temperatures (over a 25 year period). 

Include information on

• local/regional climate changes including temperature and precipitation patterns;
• impacts to the food supply, changes to crop yields;
• impacts to fresh water supply;
• regional ecological changes (plant and animal communities);
• health concerns, including insect borne diseases and other concerns;
• impacts to the local/regional economy;
• concerns with power supply;
• and any other societal concerns.

Based on this information, devise a plan for your community to adapt to these changes.

(This does not mean providing suggestions to reduce atmospheric temperatures.)

For example:  You may state: “Based on the impacts to _(describe area of concern)___ which include ___(give information on the impacts)____, we propose that our community needs to do the following: _(describe plan for adaptation in this area)__”

You must provide references in APA format for your group project and papers, in the form of a “works cited” section that includes at least 5 reliable sources, at a minimum.

Your paper covers everything above, but you must also make and upload a viewable video of you presenting to your community at a town commission meeting (real or imagined in one of the assignment areas). Give your in-depth recommendations on specific adaptations strategies, why you picked them, how they work, an assessment of their feasibility and an estimate of cost- be detailed and convincing! You want to show all the environmental science skills you have acquired and be accurate.  You want to convince the town with your expertise.   Be creative and detailed, but accurate and explain what is feasible, cost manageable and why. 

Global Climate Change Paper and Video

Area 6- Venice

You represent members of the city council for your community.  Your community is located in Venice, Italy.  This is a metropolitan community that also depends heavily on tourism.  The community has a population of about 270,000. Make sure you include an overview of your community!

Complete an assessment of impacts and describe what might happen to your community if there were a sudden increase in global temperatures (over a 25 year period). 

Include information on

• local/regional climate changes including temperature and precipitation patterns;
• impacts to the food supply, changes to crop yields;
• impacts to fresh water supply;
• regional ecological changes (plant and animal communities);
• health concerns, including insect borne diseases and other concerns;
• impacts to the local/regional economy;
• concerns with power supply;
• and any other societal concerns.

Based on this information, devise a plan for your community to adapt to these changes.

(This does not mean providing suggestions to reduce atmospheric temperatures.)

For example:  You may state: “Based on the impacts to _(describe area of concern)___ which include ___(give information on the impacts)____, we propose that our community needs to do the following: _(describe plan for adaptation in this area)__”

You must provide references in APA format for your group project and papers, in the form of a “works cited” section that includes at least 5 reliable sources, at a minimum.

Your paper covers everything above, but you must also make and upload a viewable video of you presenting to your community at a town commission meeting (real or imagined in one of the assignment areas). Give your in-depth recommendations on specific adaptations strategies, why you picked them, how they work, an assessment of their feasibility and an estimate of cost- be detailed and convincing! You want to show all the environmental science skills you have acquired and be accurate.  You want to convince the town with your expertise.   Be creative and detailed, but accurate and explain what is feasible, cost manageable and why. 

Global Climate Change Paper and Video

Area 7- Egypt

You represent members of the city council for your community.  Your community is located in Alexandria, Egypt.  This is a metropolitan community that depends on tourism, but is also highly agricultural, with farming on the Nile delta. 

Make sure you include an overview of your community!

Complete an assessment of impacts and describe what might happen to your community if there were a sudden increase in global temperatures (over a 25 year period). 

Include information on

• local/regional climate changes including temperature and precipitation patterns;
• impacts to the food supply, changes to crop yields;
• impacts to fresh water supply;
• regional ecological changes (plant and animal communities);
• health concerns, including insect borne diseases and other concerns;
• impacts to the local/regional economy;
• concerns with power supply;
• and any other societal concerns.

Based on this information, devise a plan for your community to adapt to these changes.

(This does not mean providing suggestions to reduce atmospheric temperatures.)

For example:  You may state: “Based on the impacts to _(describe area of concern)___ which include ___(give information on the impacts)____, we propose that our community needs to do the following: _(describe plan for adaptation in this area)__”

You must provide references in APA format for your group project and papers, in the form of a “works cited” section that includes at least 5 reliable sources, at a minimum.

Your paper covers everything above, but you must also make and upload a viewable video of you presenting to your community at a town commission meeting (real or imagined in one of the assignment areas). Give your in-depth recommendations on specific adaptations strategies, why you picked them, how they work, an assessment of their feasibility and an estimate of cost- be detailed and convincing! You want to show all the environmental science skills you have acquired and be accurate.  You want to convince the town with your expertise.   Be creative and detailed, but accurate and explain what is feasible, cost manageable and why.