Searching the Online Catalog
Books
Alternative Energy by
An exceptionally timely volume that weighs the costs and benefits of alternative energy sources and their implications for reducing energy consumption. As this book makes clear, civilization cannot long continue to ride on an oil slick. Worldwide, many people have come to see dependence on coal, and especially on oil, not only as unsustainable, but as profoundly destabilizing, both environmentally and politically. While ever-increasing demands continue to be placed on "mainstream" energy sources, recurring attempts have been made to generate power in "alternative" ways. After retracing some of these efforts, this succinct and historically informed volume explores the ongoing debate over alternative energy that gathered strength in the 20th century, showing how that debate mirrors larger attitudes toward energy and consumption. Like other volumes in this series, Alternative Energy is designed to provide material for student reports and debate arguments. It is an outstanding sourcebook for those interested in investigating the problems and prospects of alternative fuels.
Call Number: TJ163.25.U6 B58 2010 STACKSISBN: 9780313344848Publication Date: 2010-02-26
American Environmental Leaders by
A comprehensive and diverse, award-winning collection of biographies of the most important figures in American environmentalism. As our environment changes, and environmental concerns become more and more prevalent, this encyclopedia provides much-needed information on the key players in the environmental movement.
ISBN: 9781682177310Publication Date: 2018-07-30
The Climate Book by
A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER We still have time to change the world. From climate activist Greta Thunberg, comes the essential handbook for making it happen. You might think it's an impossible task: secure a safe future for life on Earth, at a scale and speed never seen, against all the odds. There is hope - but only if we listen to the science before it's too late. In The Climate Book, Greta Thunberg has gathered the wisdom of over one hundred experts - geophysicists, oceanographers and meteorologists; engineers, economists and mathematicians; historians, philosophers and indigenous leaders - to equip us all with the knowledge we need to combat climate disaster. Throughout, illuminating and often shocking grayscale charts, graphs, diagrams, photographs, and illustrations underscore their research and their arguments. Alongside them, she shares her own stories of demonstrating and uncovering greenwashing around the world, revealing how much we have been kept in the dark. This is one of our biggest challenges, she shows, but also our greatest source of hope. Once we are given the full picture, how can we not act? And if a schoolchild's strike could ignite a global protest, what could we do collectively if we tried? We are alive at the most decisive time in the history of humanity. Together, we can do the seemingly impossible. But it has to be us, and it has to be now.
Call Number: NEW BOOKSHELF QC903 .T59 2023ISBN: 9780593492307Publication Date: 2023-02-14
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes by
The changes in this timely new edition are many. This third edition now includes not only new events but also as many examples of historical earthquakes as possible for contrast or comparison. Its significantly expanded coverage in the Middle East reflects the world's focus in recent years. And because many of these disasters involve destruction by landslides and avalanches, there are now 200 new entries related to such events and processes, including tsunami research and technology. Many tables were added to place the magnitude of these recent disasters into historical context. In addition to a special essay on plate tectonics, the book's entries cover information on key environmental issues, economic dilemmas, ethical concerns, advances in research and technology, organizations, and individuals who have left their mark on the fields of volcanology and seismology.
ISBN: 9780816072705Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Environmental science : a study of interrelationships by Call Number: GE105 .E54 2006 STACKSISBN: 007252829XPublication Date: 2006
The Great Displacement by
"The Great Displacement is closely observed, compassionate, and far-sighted." --Elizabeth Kolbert, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Under a White Sky The untold story of climate migration in the United States--the personal stories of those experiencing displacement, the portraits of communities being torn apart by disaster, and the implications for all of us as we confront a changing future. Even as climate change dominates the headlines, many of us still think about it in the future tense--we imagine that as global warming gets worse over the coming decades, millions of people will scatter around the world fleeing famine and rising seas. What we often don't realize is that the consequences of climate change are already visible, right here in the United States. In communities across the country, climate disasters are pushing thousands of people away from their homes. A human-centered narrative with national scope, The Great Displacement is "a vivid tour of the new human geography just coming into view" (David Wallace-Wells, New York Times bestselling author of The Uninhabitable Earth). From half-drowned Louisiana to fire-scorched California, from the dried-up cotton fields of Arizona to the soaked watersheds of inland North Carolina, people are moving. In the last few decades, the federal government has moved tens of thousands of families away from flood zones, and tens of thousands more have moved of their own accord in the aftermath of natural disasters. Insurance and mortgage markets are already shifting to reflect mounting climate risk, pricing people out of risky areas. Over the next fifty years, millions of Americans will be caught up in this churn of displacement, forced inland and northward in what will be the largest migration in our country's history. The Great Displacement compassionately tells the stories of those who are already experiencing life on the move, while detailing just how radically climate change will transform our lives--erasing historic towns and villages, pushing people toward new areas, and reshaping the geography of the United States.
Call Number: NEW BOOKSHELF HV640 .B55 2023ISBN: 9781982178253Publication Date: 2023-02-21
Our Environmental Handprints by
"Readers should be inspired, informed, and ready to go." Booklist, Starred Review Offers 175 actions readers can take to create a more sustainable global environment. You care about the environment--the world you live in, and the world you are going to leave behind for future generations. Perhaps you already avoid wasting energy and buying more things than you need - reducing your Ecological Footprint. Yet there is a limit, given your family and circumstances. What can you do that will truly help heal our planet? Our Environmental Handprints is the first book to fully explore your "Handprint" - how you can create sustainability in your life and in the world. Your Handprint is limited only by yourimagination. The good you do can be greater than your Footprint. It is time to put more energy into your Handprint! The smart beauty of the Handprint is that it can be self-perpetuating. Take planting a tree as an example. You put a seedling into the ground, water it, and then leave it alone. That tree will then grow itself and pull carbon dioxide from the air and create oxygen for us to breathe for as long as it lives. And, seeds from that tree create more trees. Here, Jon Biemer draws our attention to proven strategies across the spectrum. We make a difference with the choices we make about the clothing we buy, the investments we make, and even the food we choose to eat. Handprint Thinking applies to shelter (eco-remodeling and LEED buildings), motion (electric cars and living without a car), and earth-friendly energy. He provides 175 proven Handprint suggestions that will help readers align their interests, lifestyle, and motivations toward a more sustainable earth.
Call Number: STACKS TD171.7 .B53 2021ISBN: 9781538140659Publication Date: 2021-05-05
The powers that be : global energy for the twenty-first century and beyond by
"With The Powers That Be, Scott L. Montgomery cuts through the hype, alarmism, and confusion to give us a straightforward, informed account of where we are now, and a map of where we're going. Starting with the inescapable fact of our current dependence on fossil fuels - which supply 80% of all our energy needs today - Montgomery clearly and carefully lays out the many alternative energy options available, ranging from the familiar, like water and solar, to such nascent but promising sources as hydrogen and geothermal power. What is crucial, Montgomery explains, is understanding that our future will depend not on some single, wondrous breakthrough; instead, we should focus on developing a more diverse, adaptable energy future, one that draws on a variety of sources - and is thus less vulnerable to disruption or failure."--pub. desc.-
Call Number: HD9502.A2 M656 2010 STACKSISBN: 0226535002Publication Date: 2010
Return to Nature by
Discover the new science and ancient wisdom on why nature makes us healthier and happier in body and soul from the co-author of The Spirit Almanac and mindbodygreen's Senior Sustainability Editor. For centuries, we have known that getting outside is good for us. Yet we have become increasingly disconnected from the earth that nourishes us, with most of us spending 87% of our days indoors. In response, writer and environmentalist Emma Loewe demonstrates the power of nature's healing properties in a guidebook organized by eight landscapes. In each chapter, you'll find research-backed ways to explore that landscape right now and protect it in the future, so that it can be healthy and nurturing for generations to come. Drawing off modern science and innate wisdom, she uncovers: Why being by the ocean makes you measurably happier How living near greenery helps you lives longer The staggering, illuminating statistic that forests can make you more relaxed within 90 seconds of walking among trees. Alongside beautiful four-color illustrations that inspire us all to get outside in big and small ways, this stunning book--more urgent than ever--will appeal to anyone looking to connect with the world around them, whether in their neighborhood park or on a backpacking getaway.
Call Number: BF 353.5 N37 L64 2022ISBN: 9780063061279Publication Date: 2022-04-12
Solar Power by
In this important new primer, Dustin Mulvaney makes a passionate case for the significance of solar power energy and offers a vision for a more sustainable and just solar industry for the future. The solar energy industry has grown immensely over the past several years and now provides up to a fifth of California's power. But despite its deservedly green reputation, solar development and deployment may have social and environmental consequences, from poor factory labor standards to landscape impacts on wildlife. Using a wide variety of case studies and examples that trace the life cycle of photovoltaics, Mulvaney expertly outlines the state of the solar industry, exploring the ongoing conflicts between ecological concerns and climate mitigation strategies, current trade disputes, and the fate of toxics in solar waste products. This exceptional overview will outline the industry's current challenges and possible futures for students in environmental studies, energy policy, environmental sociology, and other aligned fields.
ISBN: 0520963199Publication Date: 2019-04-02
Sustainable environments by
Response to place. Site specificity ; Site conservation
Connection to habitat. Bioregionalism ; Environmental interface
Conservation of resources. Alternative energy sources ; Hyrdrological systems
Use of building materials. Elemental and experimental materials ; Salvaged and recycled materials
Directory of architects and designers.
Call Number: NA7110 .C38 2007 STACKSISBN: 1592532306Publication Date: 2007
Unsettling by
The time has come to reimagine our relationship to the environment before it is too late. As wildfires char the American West, extreme weather transforms landscapes, glaciers retreat, and climate zones shift, we are undeniably experiencing the effects of the climate crisis in more and more destructive ways. Climate change is impacting every inhabited region of the world, but there is much we can still do. Unsettlingexplores human impacts on the environment through science, popular culture, personal narrative, and landscape. Using the stories of animals, landscapes, and people who have exhibited resilience in the face of persistent colonization across the North American continent, science writer Elizabeth Weinberg explores how climate change is a direct result of white supremacy, colonialism, sexism, and heteronormativity. Travel through the deep sea; along Louisiana's vanishing bayous; down the Colorado, Mississippi, and Potomac rivers; and over the Cascade Mountains, and examine how we as humans, particularly white humans, have drawn a stark line between human and animal, culture and nature, in order to exploit anything and anyone we find useful. With gorgeous and pointed prose, Weinberg weaves together science, personal essay, history, and pop culture to propose a new way of thinking about climate change--one that is rooted in queerness and antiracism.
Call Number: QC903 .W44 2022ISBN: 9781506482057Publication Date: 2022-10-18
Environmental Studies - Ebooks
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology by Includes in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental protection and resource management.
The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management, Blackwell Science by Provides a complete guide to the core definitions and issues associated with pure and applied ecology.
Handbook of Global Environmental Politics by Consisting of original articles by leading scholars of global environmental politics, this landmark work maps the latest theoretical and empirical research in this young and growing field.
A Handbook of Globalisation and Environmental Policy by State-of-the-art examination of the critical effects of globalisation on environmental governance.
International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics by The essential reference source to enable all those with an interest in the politics of the environment to explore topics in international environmental politics.
The Princeton Guide to Ecology by A concise, authoritative reference to ecology's major subjects and key concepts.