Finding Scholarly Articles
Before typing search terms and keywords into your database, remember to check off the option for Full-text articles and for Scholarly, Peer Reviewed or Refereed Journals. These options appear in all our subscription databases. When you check these options off you will recieve the entire article as well as articles that contain original research.
Research Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics. With 750+ searchable, full-text titles, Credo Reference places particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
- Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
A streaming video service that provides access to over 38,000 instructional and documentary videos from producers such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, HBO, CNBC News, ABC News, PBS, BBC, Cengage Learning, Meridian, and others.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFile offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- In Context: Science This link opens in a new windowFrom climate change to genetically modified organisms to fracking, the wealth of content in Gale In Context: Science spans the fields of biology, chemistry, physics, earth and environmental science, health and medicine, and math and technology. Go beyond research projects and choose from over 350 experiments in 200 entries to assign during everyday instruction, enabling hands-on learning anywhere students have online access.
- JSTOR Archival Journal & Primary Source Collection This link opens in a new windowThe JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection contains all licensed JSTOR archival journals and primary sources content in a single collection, including Archive Journal Collections and thematic collections; specifically, it includes Arts & Sciences I – XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Life Sciences, Public Health, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability journal collections. It also contains four primary source collections, 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants. This collection contains 2,877 high quality academic journals from across a wide range of disciplines and hundreds of thousands of primary source items.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowMasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents and an Image Collection with photos, maps & flags.
- Science Reference Center This link opens in a new windowTopics covered include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.
- Scientific American Plus - Manchester Campus This link opens in a new windowIncludes full access to Scientific American, SA Mind, SA Health & Medicine, SA Space & Physics, and Special Issues from 2012 through the current issue. Special issues are also available as ebooks that can be downloaded to an e-reader.
Google Scholar
Interlibrary Loan
Looking for an article or a book that the MCC Library does not have? We can obtain materials for you from other libraries through our Interlibrary Loan Service.
If you would like us to get you an article from a journal or magazine, please fill-in this form: http://www.mcc.commnet.edu/students/library/servicesInterPeriodical.php
If you are looking for a book that our library does not own, please fill-in this form: http://www.mcc.commnet.edu/students/library/servicesInterBooks.php