Credo Reference search box
Search
Can't find it in the MCC Library or CSCU Consortium Library (e.g., CCSU, NVCC)? Want us to get it for you? Use this service Interlibrary Loan.
Topics in Environmental Studies - Ebooks
Encyclopedia of Energy by Draws together all aspects of energy, covering a wealth of areas throughout the natural, social and engineering sciences, providing easily accessible information about all aspects of energy, written by leading international authorities.
Encyclopedia of Volcanoes by A comprehensive reference work about volcanoes and volcanic processes.
Guide to Global Hazards by A guide to the many large-scale disasters that affect life on Earth.
American Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present by A collection of biographies of the men and women who have made a significant contribution to environmental issues over the last 200 years. Biographies range from scientists to advocates, businessmen to musicians, politicians to actors, along with others who have forever altered how we think about the environment.
Concise Encyclopedia of Plant PathologyAn easy-to-use reference source covering the full range of subject areas associated with plant pathology.
Guide to the Oceans by An authoritative and richly illustrated guide to the many facets of the world's oceans and seas. The first five sections describe the genesis and evolution of the oceans, the history of exploration, leisure on the oceans, sealife, and ocean resources. The Atlas section maps the ocean basins, their circulation patterns and unique features. An Encyclopedia of Marine Life catalogues the main groups of flora and fauna.
Books of Interest
Environmental science : a study of interrelationships by Call Number: GE105 .E54 2006 STACKSISBN: 007252829XPublication Date: 2006
Global climate change by
Heat: how we got here / Ian Sample
Proof is in the science / Roger Di Silvestro
Strange science / Thomas Sieger Derr
Jounalistic balance as global warming bias / Jules Boykoff, Maxwell Boykoff
New extreme sport / William Burroughs
Climate change: errors in temperature data mask evidence of warming
studies
As the Arctic melts, an ancient culture faces ruin / Charles Wohlforth
Bit of icy Antarctica is sliding toward the sea / Richard A. Kerr
Big thaw / Daniel Glick
Human prints on warming / Bryn Nelson
One expedition's story
Global warming: the culprit? / Jeffrey Kluger
Season a tad off color, and here's why / Avi Salzman
Arid Arizona points to global warming as culprit / Juliet Eilperin
Climate change means big changes in Puget Sound / Craig Welch
Darkening sky / Charles W. Petit
Abrupt climate change / Richard B. Alley
Crossing the threshold / Peter Bunyard
Dire warming warning for Earth's species / Jane Kay
Northeast seen getting balmier / Michael Powell
Risk to state dire in climate study / Miguel Bustillo
Continental divide: why Africa's climate change burden is greater / Scott Fields
Kyoto update / Lynn Elsey
It's the emissions, stupid / Paul Tolmé
Oil project goes underground for cleaner air / Gary Polakovic
Carbon emissions trading is new weapon to battle global warming / Brad Foss
Global warming and nuclear power / Richard A. Meserve
Is hydrogen the solution? Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC)
Warming is global but the legislating, in the U.S., is all local / Jennifer 8. Lee.
Call Number: QC981.8.C5 G644 2006 STACKSISBN: 082421059XPublication Date: 2006
Sustainable environments by Call Number: NA7110 .C38 2007 STACKSISBN: 1592532306Publication Date: 2007
The powers that be : global energy for the twenty-first century and beyond by
"With The Powers That Be, Scott L. Montgomery cuts through the hype, alarmism, and confusion to give us a straightforward, informed account of where we are now, and a map of where we're going. Starting with the inescapable fact of our current dependence on fossil fuels - which supply 80% of all our energy needs today - Montgomery clearly and carefully lays out the many alternative energy options available, ranging from the familiar, like water and solar, to such nascent but promising sources as hydrogen and geothermal power. What is crucial, Montgomery explains, is understanding that our future will depend not on some single, wondrous breakthrough; instead, we should focus on developing a more diverse, adaptable energy future, one that draws on a variety of sources - and is thus less vulnerable to disruption or failure."--pub. desc.-
Call Number: HD9502.A2 M656 2010 STACKSISBN: 0226535002Publication Date: 2010
Worldchanging : a user's guide for the 21st century by Call Number: HC79.E5 W676 2006 STACKSISBN: 0810930951Publication Date: 2006
Sustainable Nuclear Power by
Sustainable Nuclear Power provides non-nuclear engineers, scientists and energy planners with the necessary information to understand and utilize the major advances in the field. The book demonstrates that nuclear fission technology has the abundance and attainability to provide centuries of safe power with minimal greenhouse gas generation.
Call Number: TK9145 .S94 2007 STACKSISBN: 0123706025Publication Date: 2006-12-08
Carbon-Free and Nuclear-Free by
This breakthrough joint study by the Institute for Energy and Environmental Research and the Nuclear Policy Research Institute shows how our energy needs can be met by alternative sources, as wind, solar, hydrogen, biomass, microalgae, geothermal and wave power are all part of the solution.
Call Number: HD9502.U52 M346 2007 STACKSISBN: 157143173XPublication Date: 2007-01-01
Environmental Studies - Ebooks
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology by Includes in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental protection and resource management.
Handbook of Global Environmental Politics by Consisting of original articles by leading scholars of global environmental politics, this landmark work maps the latest theoretical and empirical research in this young and growing field.
A Handbook of Globalisation and Environmental Policy by State-of-the-art examination of the critical effects of globalisation on environmental governance.
International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics by The essential reference source to enable all those with an interest in the politics of the environment to explore topics in international environmental politics.