Stats Print Books and eBooks in the Library
Black Stats by
Black Stats—a comprehensive guide filled with contemporary facts and figures on African Americans—is an essential reference for anyone attempting to fathom the complex state of our nation. With fascinating and often surprising information on everything from incarceration rates, lending practices, and the arts to marriage, voting habits, and green jobs, the contextualized material in this book will better attune readers to telling trends while challenging commonly held, yet often misguided, perceptions.
ISBN: 9781595589194Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Latino Stats by
Respected movement builder and former leader of the Tides Foundation Idelisse Malavé and her daughter, Celeste Giordani—a communications strategist for the Social Transformation Project—distills the profusion of data, identifying the most telling and engaging facts to assemble a portrait of contemporary Latino life with glimpses of the past and future. From politics and the economy to popular culture, the arts, and ideas about race, gender, and family, Latino Stats both catalogs the inequities that plague Latino communities and documents Latinos’ growing power and influence on American life.
ISBN: 9781595589613Publication Date: 2015-01-27
The CIA World Factbook by
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
ISBN: 9781616088231Publication Date: Current
Statistical Abstract of the United States by Call Number: REFERENCE COLLECTION REF HA202 .P76ISBN: 1641432837The Statistical Abstract of the United States has provided a statistical portrait of social, political, demographic, and economic conditions of America since 1878.
Featured Book on U.S. Racial Demographics
Diversity Explosion by ISBN: 0815723989Publication Date: 2014-11-19Through a compelling narrative and eye-catching charts and maps, eminent demographer Frey interprets and expounds on the dramatic growth of minority populations in the United States. "Diversity Explosion" shares the good news about diversity in the coming decades, and the more globalized, multiracial country that the U.S. is becoming.
Featured Database
- Statista
Statista is a service that aggregates data sets from over 18,000 public and proprietary sources. The service provides tools that allow you to create beautiful charts that can be downloaded as PDF, Excel, PowerPoint, or graphics formats. Statista sources cover business and industry as well as education, politics and social issues.
Online Statistical Resources
- Global Attitudes and Trends (Pew Research Center) The Pew Research Center conducts international research on a variety of topics, including globalization, America’s image in the world, the rise of China, democracy and governance, and terrorism.
- Measure of America (Social Science Research Measure of America provides easy-to-use tools for understanding the distribution of well-being and opportunity in America. Under topics select "Thematic" and then "Discrimination in lending," "Tales of Two Americas," or "A Century Apart." Also look under "National" and then "Geographies of opportunity" or "The measure of America." See any of the subtopics under the "Youth disconnection" main topic, especially "Zeroing in on place and race."
- Pew Hispanic Center Chronicles the diverse and changing lives of the U.S. Latino population and its impact on the nation. The center publishes demographic studies on a wide range of topics relating to Hispanics/Latinos and produces an annual estimate of the number of unauthorized immigrants in the U.S. Their National Survey of Latinos analyzes Latino attitudes and opinions on a range of social matters and public policy issues. Key topics include voting, immigration, identity, changing demographics, and economic, work, and education trends.
- Pew Research Center Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. To start, under topics, select "Race and Ethnicity."
- U.S. Census Bureau The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. Click the topics tab, open the "Population" menu, and select from the various links provided.
- U.S. Census Bureau Quick Facts Provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
- Yearbook of Immigration Statistics (Department of Homeland Security) The Yearbook of Immigration Statistics is a compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence (i.e., admitted as immigrants or became legal permanent residents), were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis (e.g., tourists, students, or workers), applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including apprehensions, removals, and returns.