Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source 

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source offers a collection of more than 210 full-text journals that includes many of the top-ranked titles in the discipline, such as the Journal of Dental Research.

Subject Coverage Includes:

• Cosmetic Dentistry
• Dental Anesthesiology
• Dental Public Health
• Endodontics
• Forensic Odontology
• General Dentistry
• Geriatric Dentistry
• Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, Radiology and Surgery
• Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopaedics
• Pediatric Dentistry
• Periodontics
• Prosthodontics

More options:

Try PubMed the world's largest medical database.

Try the UConn Health Center's OneSearch database. It's actually quite easy to use. You will have to enter your UConn library barcode and last name to access the full text.

There are 2 journals specifically dedicated to dental materials.

• Dental Materials
• Dental Materials Journal

These are written at a very high level and many times the articles are not easy to understand.

Both are full text e-journals at Uconn.

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source

1. Enter your search term(s) in the search box. You can narrow your search by adding another term in the search box below.
2. Limit to Full Text.
3. Limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
4. Browse article titles to see if there is one that you want to use.
5. Read the abstract, which summarizes the article.
6. Click on the PDF full text link to view the article.
7. Make sure it's a "research" article. They have a distinct format. See below

Just enter any of these terms or a dental material of your choosing into our Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source database.

• Dental Materials
• Dental Materials + sealants
• Dental Materials + curing
• Dental Materials + hardness
• Dental Adhesives
• Dental Amalgams
• Dental Ceramics
• Dental Resins
• Composite Resins
• Glass Ionomer
• Composite Material
• Titanium
• Silver Nitrate
• Chlorhexidine
• Fluorides

Research articles have a typical format. Look for these headings in the article.

• Abstract
• Introduction
• Materials & Methods
• Results
• Discussion
• Conclusions
• References.

For more detailed information on the parts of a research article click on the following link: Elements of a Research Article from North Essex Community College