Print Dictionaries
You can find many dictionaries in the ESL collection. Below are some of the available titles.
Longman Basic Dictionary of American EnglishCall Number: ESL PE 2835 .L666 1999
Longman Dictionary of American EnglishCall Number: ESL PE 2835 .L667 2002
Longman Advanced American DictionaryCall Number: ESL PE 2835 .L668 2001
Online Dictionaries
Longman English Dictionary Online
Longman English Dictionary is the leading dictionary for learners of English of all ages and levels who want to learn more about English.
Merriam-Webster's learners Dictionary for ESL
This dictionary of American English, which includes practice exercises, is great for ESL students.
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
This dictionary will guess at the word you need, even if you cannot spell it exactly right.
Merriam-Webster Visual Dictionary Online
This dictionary has pictures to help explain words.
Multilingual Print Dictionaries
The Library has dictionaries for the following languages: Spanish, Polish, French, German, Chinese, Urdu, Hebrew, Arabic, Korean, Farsi, Portuguese, and Albanian.
Polish-English - English-Polish Concise DictionaryCall Number: ESL PG 6640 .P544 1993
Longman Diccionario Ingles Basico, Ingles-Espanol, Espanol-InglesCall Number: ESL PC 4640 .L63
Arabic-English/English-Arabic Practical DictionaryCall Number: ESL PJ 6640 .A934 2004
Lexipedia Visual Thesaurus & Dictionary
Lexipedia is an online dictionary and thesaurus. Lexipedia presents words with their semantic relationships displayed in an animated visual word web. Lexipedia supports English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Spanish languages.