Using Primary Sources
- Using Primary Sources Valentine, Rebecca. "Using Primary Sources." American Decades Primary Sources, edited by Lawrence W. Baker, vol. 11: 2000-2009, Gale, 2013, pp. xxv-xxvi. Gale In Context: U.S. History, https://link-gale-com.txcc.idm.oclc.org/apps/doc/CX2737000010/GPS?u=22517&sid=GPS&xid=75f295ba. Accessed 25 Feb. 2020.
Recommended Databases
- In Context: US History This link opens in a new window Gale in Context: U.S. History is an online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. Content includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers.
- History Reference Center This link opens in a new window Full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. Covering both U.S. and world history topics, History Reference Center is a full-text database featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Books
Treacherous TextsISBN: 9780813549590Treacherous Texts samples a rich, decades-long tradition of suffrage literature created by writers from diverse racial, class, and regional backgrounds.
Hartford Courant
- Search the Historical Hartford Courant (1764-1922)This Tunxis database is designed for easy reading with special research tools.
- Search other Historical Connecticut NewspapersBasic search by date and keyword of scanned newspapers. Option to search newspapers from other states.
New York Times Articles from Special Suffrage Issue, March 7, 1915
New York Times Free Subscription
|
|
While on campus or connected to your school network, visit AccessNYT.com Create a complimentary account for Tunxis users with your student email address. With the pass, you can log into the NYTimes mobile app and view articles from the New York Times Archives, from 1851 to present.
|
Suffrage Newspapers
Votes for Women and The New Citizen (Several digitized papers from a Washington State suffrage publication)
Connecticut State Library Archives
Take a peek at how archives arrange original items--records, letters, buttons, banners, etc.--with this Finding Aid for the Connecticut Women's Suffrage Association.
Unlike libraries, where individual items are identified, archives group items by category. Most of the material must be seen in person at the Connecticut State Library in Hartford. However, the Finding Aid links to some digitized records in its Container List.