General History Websites

• History Matters Produced by WGBH Interactive for Annenberg/CPB.
• National Archives The first group of digitized images of some of the National Archives and Records Adminstration's most significant documents.
• Library of Congress: American Memory Collections
• Smithsonian Institute
• Digital History

17th Century

• Colonial Williamsburg

18th Century

• Liberty!: The American Revolution Companion site to the PBS documentary Liberty!: The American Revolution.
• Benjamin Franklin

19th Century

• Documenting the American South

20th Century

• The Great War  This site from the BBC commemorates the war and offers users a number of interesting resources. Multimedia offerings include a ten-minute video collage of photos and newsreel footage produced by the Imperial War Museum and a selection of fascinating and poignant audio interviews of veterans, including one man who was just fourteen when he left to fight in France.
• Life History Manuscripts from the Folklore Project, WPA Federal Writers' Project, 1936 - 1940  From the Library of Congress, a fascinating, multi-media project, complete with interview excerpts read by modern actors.

Presidents

• Presidential Libraries
• George Washington Papers  Incoming correspondence, military reports and records, letters of reference for applicants for Federal office, military commissions and honorary degrees received by Washington, and notes he wrote on political and agricultural topics.
• The Papers of George Washington
• George Washington's Mount Vernon
• The Thomas Jefferson Papers  Approximately 27,000 items organized into nine series with a total of 83,000 images.
• Thomas Jefferson
• Monticello: The Home of Thomas Jefferson
• Abraham Lincoln Papers  Users can browse the collection chronologically or search by keyword. The site also includes two special presentations featuring original documents and images on the Emancipation Proclamation and Lincoln's assassination.
• Abraham Lincoln Historical Digitization Project  Digital versions of documents, images, and even music related to Abraham Lincoln's life in Illinois.
• Abraham Lincoln Online.Org
• The White House
• Internet Public Library Presidents of the United States

Women

• Sophia Smith Collection  Smith College has digitized some of its archival holdings relating to women's history.
• Women’s Studies

African Americans

• Teaching with Documents: The Amistad  Primary documents relating to this important case in U.S. History, from the National Archives and Records Administration.
• African American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship  From the Library of Congress's extensive holding of African-American artifacts, manuscripts, etc. This website will continue to grow over the next five years thanks to a grant from Citicorp.
• Freedom's Journal  The digitization of all 103 issues of Freedom's Journal,the first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States, published weekly in New York City from 1827 to 1829.
• African Voices  This site, from the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History, takes full advantage of the computer's capabilities. Excellent use of time-lines.
• Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent   Visitors have several options to access the collection of over 3,000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sound from 45 African nations.
• Internet African History Sourcebook  A huge and nicely organized directory of resources, from Fordham University.
• Africa Center  From University of Pennsylvania.
• Art and Life in Africa  From the University of Iowa's Obermann Center for Advanced Studies.
• We Shall Overcome: Historic Place of the Civil Rights Movement  An online itinerary maintained by the National Register of Historic Places, U.S. Department of the Interior, National Parks Service.
• Remembering Jim Crow
• The African American Mosaic Exhibition
• Africans in America

Politics,Government and Law

• The Avalon Project at Yale

Connecticut

• Connecticut History Online  The Connecticut Historical Society, Mystic Seaport, and the Thomas J. Dodd Research Center at the University of Connecticut have combined efforts to create this site, a major online archive of Connecticut historical images

Maps/Atlases

• Mapping History  From University of Oregon.

Other

• United States Holocaust Memorial Museum  From Washington, D.C.
• Puerto Rico at the Dawn of the Modern Age: Nineteenth- and Early-Twentieth-Century Perspectives  The newest addition to the Library of Congress (LOC) American Memory Collection.
• Famous Trials
• Today in History  From the Library of Congress, with hyperlinks to the LOC's vast online collections.