Ebooks
Useful Subject Terms
Having trouble with your keyword search? The subject terms below are a great place to start when looking for books, videos, articles, and information on the web.
Children, Books and reading
Children, Language
Language acquisition, Children
Language arts, Early childhood
Language arts, Elementary school
Language arts, Preschool
Language education
Literacy, Children
Storytelling
Vocabulary, Study and teaching, Elementary
Vocabulary, Study and teaching, Preschool
Reference Databases
- Britannica Academic- Three Rivers Campus This link opens in a new window In addition to the complete Encyclopaedia Britannica, this database also includes Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals and vetted web sites.
- Britannica Original Sources - Three Rivers Campus This link opens in a new window A comprehensive compilation of original source documents, images, and full-length books.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics. With 750+ searchable, full-text titles, Credo Reference places particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are more than 1,100 short reference videos, more than 475,000 high-resolution art images, photographs, and maps across all subject areas.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window The Oxford English Dictionary is the world's leading authority on the history and development of the English language since 1150. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, sometimes from as far back as the 11th century, and of the language—traced through 3.5 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts, song lyrics, and social media posts.
- Peterson's Test and Career Prep This link opens in a new window Gale Presents Petersons Test and Career Prep provides you with standardized exam preparation, including practice tests, eBooks and online courses. Exams types include professional, civil service and military exams. Career prep includes professional career videos, an occupational database and career library, military crosswalks, citizenship, math, science, reading, writing skills and job search powered by Indeed.com. Access to Visual CV Resume Creator is also included.Please Note: an account is required to access this resource and save your progress in the prep material. An email address is not required, but highly recommended, to create an account.
- Referencia Latina This link opens in a new window A comprehensive Spanish-language database with 49,000 encyclopedia entries; 50,000 images; 2,500 health reports; a Spanish-English dictionary and full text for over 100 reference books and dozens of general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Its intuitive, theme-based Spanish-language interface is designed to make content readily accessible to non-English users with limited online research experience.Una base de datos completa en español con 49.000 entradas de enciclopedia; 50.000 imágenes; 2.500 informes de salud; un diccionario español-inglés y el texto completo de más de 100 libros de referencia y docenas de revistas de interés general en una amplia gama de áreas temáticas. Su intuitiva interfaz en español basada en temas está diseñada para hacer que el contenido sea fácilmente accesible para usuarios que no hablan inglés y tienen experiencia limitada en investigación en línea.
- SAGE Campus This link opens in a new window Online Learning for skills and research methods. 37 courses on topics, science, research, critical thinking. Sage Campus supports the teaching and learning of skills and research methods through 280+ hours of structured online learning. The online courses are self-paced and instructor-led, comprising an engaging mix of Sage-quality content, video, interactives, and formative assessments. The topics cover critical skills and research methods for across all stages of academic study; navigating information, data literacy, research skills, data science skills, and getting published. You must create an account to log into this resource.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window Authoritative eReference Titles in the Social Sciences. SAGE Knowledge includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, as well as business case studies, and streaming video.
- Sage Reference This link opens in a new window Start your research with authoritative encyclopedias and handbooks in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides access to hundreds of carefully selected reference titles on topics across the social sciences. Content includes handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and debates.
